7/12 Disco AMPS 251/+1.5 255/+2.25 230/+6.5 293. Increase question

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Member Since 2019
Thursday 7/9: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-254-2-25-253-4-232-dose-increase-due.232161/

I missed a couple of days of posting, although Disco's SS is up-to-date, so you can see what he's been up to. I thought it was time for a dose increase but yesterday he gave me a day of variety from the beach to the lagoon and then a little close to the bitey sharks teeth, so as @Wendy&Neko said, Disco must have read my mind and so we're staying at 3.25u for now.

I am still not clear/confident/sure of when I do increase a dose. The Sticky info I have says "adjustments are based on nadirs with only some consideration to pre-shot numbers and when nadirs are under 100, hold dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing". I know I say this a lot, but I still am having difficulty telling from day-to-day, if his lows are nadirs, sigh...

For example, on 7/10, Disco had a nice day of blues and greens mostly, so do I restart counting cycles again from yesterday or still count from the day of the last dose change, a reducie from 3.5 to 3.25.

I really need to take some new pix of Disco, as I think I may have posted all that I have on my phone!
 
Last edited:
Here is a post on Counting Cycles. By my count, this is Disco's 13th cycle on this dose. However, since he went under 50 yesterday, he didn't give you a lot of room to increase.
I learn something new every day on this board.....Now I know when "the cycle starts over" :) But, ....in the case of a 50 in a bunch of over 100/200...would that mean you wait as well? (since it doesn't give much room for an increase?
 
Here is a post on Counting Cycles. By my count, this is Disco's 13th cycle on this dose. However, since he went under 50 yesterday, he didn't give you a lot of room to increase.
Thanks for coming to my mental rescue! What if I’m fortunate and I guide him every time with food and he doesn’t go under 50, then I would always increase after 5-10 cycles? I’ve only tried the fat/skinny dosing a couple of time with results that didn't seem to improve results if I recall. And if his numbers improved with food steering, it seems like that wouldn’t necessarily mean it was a good dose for him?
 
I learn something new every day on this board.....Now I know when "the cycle starts over" :) But, ....in the case of a 50 in a bunch of over 100/200...would that mean you wait as well? (since it doesn't give much room for an increase?
It still confuses me. I feel that when I guide him with food and his numbers rise, does that mean he’s on the wrong dose because I had to guide him? What if I hadn’t tested him at just that time and he continued to drop so I’d be doing a reducie instead of an increase. A few days ago he gave me a 30 after a couple of 200’s. I do realize some of it’s my inexperience and not realizing when he has a drop of 100 and a couple of hours that I need to be testing them more frequently to try and catch him before he drops too low but I just keep thinking what if I wasn’t retired and able to test him as often as I do although lately I’ve been getting distracted by yardwork and not testing as frequently as I probably should…
 
What if I’m fortunate and I guide him every time with food and he doesn’t go under 50, then I would always increase after 5-10 cycles?
Depends whether the food you are using is LC or HC. If you have to keep giving HC to prop him up, that's not so good. You want to maximize the time he safely spends at a dose where he sees lots of green. Without going too heavy on the carbs.
 
Depends whether the food you are using is LC or HC. If you have to keep giving HC to prop him up, that's not so good. You want to maximize the time he safely spends at a dose where he sees lots of green. Without going too heavy on the carbs.
That's every interesting! Up until a couple of weeks ago, I was noting under remarks that I was feeding HC when guiding him, and oftentimes, it took multiple tsps to get him rising. Turns out, the FF Gravy Lover's and Sheba Perfect Portions I was feeding to guide weren't HC after all, but 13-15%. With some suggestions from members and reviewing Dr Pierson's food chart, I purchased some HC foods in the 16-23% range.

If I only have to intervene occasionally to prop him up, I feel ok with that. The Darwin's Raw and FF Classics he eats are less than 3% carbs, but I know he is eating more calories than he's burning off as he has put on 2.5# since January and I need to go back to my routine of feeding my 3 cats separately and taking up their food after 20 minutes, as I know he is eating the other cats leftovers. With his bad arthritis, it's too important to be complacent about his increasing weight.

I still dream of days in the lagoon for Disco, so plugging along and so appreciative of the FDMB's mentoring!
 
Back
Top