7/12 charlie pmps 58 +2 126 +3 110 +4 146 +5 147 +6 248

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +3 101

Hi Darin! You might want to update your original post in the subject line with the current #s in case kitty goes low and you need advice. So far, lookin good, but I would at least test every hour while hes below 100! Oh and Charlie gets a mr. greenie smile on your post too :mrgreen: Paws crossed this is the right dose for you :smile:

Edit: nevermind! I cant see!! you did update!
 
Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +4 87

i am testing every hour, hypo kit is on the testing table, i am armed and ready if need be. Yeah I hope this is the dose, so far so good.
 
Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +4 87

Sounds good! I only asked because I saw the +4, but the +1 was gone. We usually just add all the +test #s to the original post, so others can see the progression from amps/pmps thru the day/night. Ive noticed that the board is very quite on weekends, and just thought these tips might help the ones who are looking at the post today. Keep up the good work :-D
 
Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72

Looks good! congrats on your first blue# amps today, I was looking at his ss. I remember shooting my first blue..and green..I was so nervous nailbite_smile . Looks like Charlie likes this dose so far!!
 
Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56

That 56 is new territory for him on Lantus. He is right around the usual nadir,and you might check at +6.5 just to see if he is gonna go below 50. Sometimes I give a teaspoon or 2 of regular low carb food to stay above 50, and test again in 30 min. Im not advising you follow my suggestions, just my 2 cents worth..
 
Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

Very Nice day there Charlie! nice gentle slide down..and hopefully gently up to pmps! Hopefully he settles into this dose for you Darin and you see more days like this one.
 
Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

woot.gif
Charlie got to green! Perfect!

laura had a great suggestion - when a cat gets into green numbers sometimes it helps them stay green if you give 2 teaspoons of low carb regular food. just 2 tsps.

wonderful cycle for Charlie today. Don't be shocked if he bounces from it, but enjoy it for the moment. it's great to see him visiting mr greenie. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

+9 75
At this rate I may have to skip his pm shot. Seems to want to stay in the greens.
 
Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

So now that he has been in those good greens do I hold the dose for 8-10 cycles?
 
Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

yes, you'd hold this dose for 10 cycles from now and see if he continues hitting greens. as i said, he may bounce, but when he comes down from the bounce you want to see greens again. giving it 10 cycles will help you know if he's going to be ok with this dose or need more.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

if he goes below 50, you reduce by 0.25u.

as far as tonight goes, as long as he's above 56 (his nadir for this cycle), i'd shoot it his same dose as this morning. assuming you're able to monitor tonight and have supplies.

i just now posted on Mom-Mom's condo about shooting low. It applies to charlie too:

julie & punkin (ga) said:
everybody is scared about it in the beginning. the thing i learned is that it's like an entirely different game when you shoot low. completely different than shooting a high number. It's like the difference between baseball and croquet - both involve a ball and a stick that hits the ball, but other than that, there's nothing the same at all.

after you've shot low a couple of times and see how the cat won't plummet down, but instead has this really great, flat cycle, it becomes really attractive, and then you WANT the low numbers to shoot.

in a lot of ways, shooting high numbers has more "risk" to it than shooting low. the cat can get a lot of speed going down from a high number, but shooting low there isn't very far to "fall." and typically, they don't.

the lower the number is that you shoot (above 50ish), the less the cat's BGs are likely to move. if you shoot a 75, she might only move 15 points or 20 points in the whole day. When you shoot 500, she might move 300 or 400 points.

maybe if you think of it that way, it will give you courage. She's going to continue giving you the opportunity, so just think about it, and like dyana said, if you post here asking for someone to stay with you when you shoot low, we will. whoever helps you make the decision to shoot will either stay with you or will find someone else who is experienced to keep checking on you.

you won't have to do it alone.

shooting low is a fantastic opportunity to flatten out the cycle and make a huge leap in progress in getting Charlie tightly regulated. I think of it as a little gift, darin - but if you're too unnerved by it tonight, think on it and get prepared for a next time.

All those cats that have just gone OTJ have gone through this - this is the path for most. Here are a few spreadsheets for you to look at. What you are looking for is the preshot that is green, then look at the rest of the cycle that follows it. When the cat first is getting shot in green numbers, there may still be some high numbers in the day. But as the person continues to shoot green, notice how the nadirs begin to have long stretches of green, then most of the time the pmps goes to green next, and last is the amps. that's a generalization - some cats don't read the manual, but here are a few spreadsheets of recent OTJ kitties for you to look at.

scan down the amps column and look for the green ones. Then look across that cycle to see how the blood sugar responded when the cat was shot with that green amps.
Davison Peyton Zack - OTJ today

8/26/13 edited to add a little more explaining about shooting the regular dose into normal blood sugar numbers (50-120). And to be clear, this is only for people following Tight Regulation, who test adequately, who've gotten data to understand their cat's response to insulin, and who have worked up to the appropriate dose by following the TR protocol guidelines.

experienced members following TR will shoot everything over 50. we encourage new members to ask for guidance for anything under 150 - but the sooner you get enough data that you can shoot lower numbers, the greater the possibility of remission for your cat. Shooting lower numbers (50-120) is the path to going off of insulin - honestly, i haven't seen it happen any other way. If it does, it's unusual and it would only be in a very newly diagnosed cat. Here's one recent discussion about shooting normal numbers. I think you said earlier that remission is your goal, so i'd read that post, and this post on Shooting & Handling Low Numbers to try to understand how to get to that point. Of particular interest to you in this situation, in the last link, is the section on "Becoming Data Ready." Ask lots of questions and we'll try to help you understand.

Often, shooting even one blue or green preshot number can entirely change the game - it can reduce the entire range of numbers. Once you've had a lower preshot like today happen, chances are very good that you'll get a lower preshot again. I'd use this opportunity to get some of those oddly timed tests and a night cycle test every night (ie, become data ready) so that the next time he gives you this chance you can take it!

The difference between shooting a high number and shooting a low number is like the diference between mini golf and regular golf. The only thing they have in common is both have a club and a ball. Shooting low is like mini-golf. the ball doesn't move much and it stays flat. Shooting high numbers, like playing regular golf, actually has the potential for huge drops and then huge bounces from it - it goes far, it's harder to know where it's going to land, too. I think shooting higher numbers is actually riskier than shooting low. Lantus works best on shooting low numbers - it has great ability to hold the blood sugar down when you've shot low.

that said, of course you can't shoot low without monitoring or having supplies to bring up numbers.

i do want to encourage you - there's no way to understand the intricacies of this Sugar Dance if people don't explain it. Others certainly explained it to me until I got it, too. When you understand how things work, it's easier to step forward into unknown territory.
 
Re: 7/12 charlie amps 193 +2 132 +3 101 +4 87 +5 72 +6 56 +7

Charlie must have read your post while I was taking a nap.
Pmps 58/3.75 u
Testing every hour
 
Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 went for it

Well. I give you credit for shooting that 58! I know I have chickened out on shooting below 75 recently, and then wished I had've later! I stalled too long and the #s jumped within 15-30 min. Julie knows what shes doing by giving that advice to you..I have stalled mainly because I wouldnt be home to monitor, even tho my mom was, I didnt want her to manage a dive alone. Youre a good daddy bean and he is in great hands! :-D I will be watching for awhile to see how you're doing.
 
Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 +1 121

Yeah I figure I better take the opportunity since I will be able to test. Honestly, I hesitated for about 5-10 min after I read her post. The thought of doing it had me shaking, I reread her post, and it made sense why you should shoot low to stay low.
 
Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 +1 121

way to go darin! that +1 makes me wonder if he's going to head off into a bounce.

good job getting the +1, get a +2 so we can see what he's doing. I'm around tonight and will keep checking in with you.

some cats on Lantus do what's called a "double dip" at the end of the 12 hr cycle. They drop down, but as long as it doesn't go below the nadir that he had earlier, it's ok to go ahead.

how many minutes after the hour are you testing? Looks like you might be shooting/testing today at :15 after the hour? So I'm thinking you might be at +2 now. I'll look back in a minute.
 
Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 +1 121

It makes perfect sense! yes, and I just shot an 82 and now at +2.5 shes 86! You will hopefully start to see his #s staying lower and steadier, but theres no guarantee there wont be a bounce, but your chances are better that you wont when you do shoot low. I just have to remember that myself next time and go for it without stalling or reducing when I do shoot. Kudos to you again!
 
Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 +1 121

Tomorrow I will be making my first 25# batch of raw cat food. I ran a few tests this week. First I tested with only small diced raw thigh. Charlie and my youngest took right to the pieces, my other 2 needed it mixed with can. By day 3, my 2 that really did not care for the raw pieces, were now picking the raw pieces out and eating them. The 25# will last about 3 wks.
 
Re: 7/12 charlie pmps 58 +1 121 +2 126

+2 looks good. :-D

see you in a bit. i have to run out but will be back before you have any excitement. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top