aochoa
Member Since 2014
Saturday is curve day. We kind of started good with a quite low (compared to his usual numbers), testing every 3 hours after that: +3=157 (he ate after AMPS), +6=176, already going up. But at =9 he got 338.
This has been a constant problem with him. Since the beginning the vet said he could not be on the tight protocol, I remember because she said Lantus on him lasted 14-16 hours instead of 12. I know understand the overlap and depot terms that maybe the vet, and I, didn't take into consideration before. In any case, for this or other reasons we just cannot get to have stable numbers. He keeps high numbers, and we are just getting them lower he bounce again.
Someone told me that maybe he needed a reduction on his dose, since his pancreas panics when getting low numbers and starts producing more and more insulin. We reduce the dose, and this is how the bouncing kind of stop, but he has very high numbers. I increase the dose, and again after 5 days and we got what you see.
I must say he has also Renal Failure, but he's on stage 1. So we are not giving any other medications or taking other measures than diet, but the food he is eating is ok for diabetics (high protein, low carbs) and low in phosphorous for the renal problem.
And last week he had diahrrea so I took him to the vet and apparently he has worms, so took a pill to deworm last Tuesday and will need another one next Thursday.
We also add Zobaline to his early meals since Wednesday.
Any suggestions?
This has been a constant problem with him. Since the beginning the vet said he could not be on the tight protocol, I remember because she said Lantus on him lasted 14-16 hours instead of 12. I know understand the overlap and depot terms that maybe the vet, and I, didn't take into consideration before. In any case, for this or other reasons we just cannot get to have stable numbers. He keeps high numbers, and we are just getting them lower he bounce again.
Someone told me that maybe he needed a reduction on his dose, since his pancreas panics when getting low numbers and starts producing more and more insulin. We reduce the dose, and this is how the bouncing kind of stop, but he has very high numbers. I increase the dose, and again after 5 days and we got what you see.
I must say he has also Renal Failure, but he's on stage 1. So we are not giving any other medications or taking other measures than diet, but the food he is eating is ok for diabetics (high protein, low carbs) and low in phosphorous for the renal problem.
And last week he had diahrrea so I took him to the vet and apparently he has worms, so took a pill to deworm last Tuesday and will need another one next Thursday.
We also add Zobaline to his early meals since Wednesday.
Any suggestions?