7/12 Boots pmps 52... +15min 57... +30min 53... +1 63

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, taking a deep breath.

We are going to not shoot, not feed, and test again in 15. Is that the right thing to do?

He's been surprisingly low the past day, considering we decreased him because of a fasting vet appointment Monday. (Vet said no shot the morning of drop off, and that night and Tuesday we reduced it a bit because he didn't eat a ton after coming off sedation Monday night). Our dose had been 1.5, but yesterday we did .75 am and 1.0 pm, and this morning we brought it back up to 1.25. I had figured by tonight we could return to 1.5 (he ate well yesterday and today). Now I'm not sure what to do!
 
I'm sorry I'm still too new to Lantus. Do you have extra test strips and MC/HC foods if you decide to give a dose? My first worry on shooting a blue last night is nothing compared to this, I feel so silly now! :rolleyes:
 
Yup :) lots of both. I think I'm just extra paranoid because we've already reduced him this week because of the vet visit, so I'm surprised he's this low.
 
I am too new, but with the sedation and fasting, maybe the depo is working overtime. You may want to NS. With TR not sure how a NS affects the method. I assume it resets the day count.
 
Ok, from 52 to 57 in 15 minutes. We are going to shoot a reduced dose I think. I don't want to not give anything but am to scared to do a full dose.
 
Yes you can stall and retest only for so long or if shot schedule can be adjusted accordingly because you don't have the same flexibility with cycle lengths with Lantus. You've shot a 61 before so see what he comes up to and then decide if you want to skip of give a token dose. With the recent sedation, I'd be a bit leary of whether his reaction would be the same as his past cycles when you shot low numbers.

ETA - Just seeing your recent retest. I'd only give a token dose if you can monitor tonight.
 
If you shoot, make sure you grab a +1 and +2 test. Those will be important.

You can also feed him a MC or HC food for his meal.

ETA: You've shot close to this before, so odds are you know the drill.... i am here if you need guidance at the +1. Im sure others will be around too.

Alright Boots! Just be a good little surfer!
 
Last year you shot full dose on a 57 and a 58. Today's numbers were pretty much within meter variance of those numbers. Sorry I wasn't on earlier. I would have shot full dose after you saw him coming up to 57 after that 15 minutes wait. Next time, if you can monitor, try doing the same.
 
Our plan now is to recheck in about 20-30 minutes, which will be around true PM+1 (and about 30-40 minutes after his dose tonight, which was stalled). We'll definitely be able to get a +2 and +3 before our) bedtime, so we'll see how he's doing by then, and we can set an alarm if he needs more checks, of course (naturally, he does this on a night I am exhausted and have a splitting headache... <sigh>). If he is still pretty low at the +1, we might feed some MC food so maybe he'll surf at least a smidge higher.

I did look over our numbers, and we definitely have shot low before (a couple 61s recently, and I spotted a 55 (!) in June of 2016 (where we didn't do a +1 apparently?? Or at least forgot to record it - crazy!)

I think what's throwing me for a loop is the unknown variable of this week's vet stress, sedation, and fasting period. His last meal was Sunday night at around 11pm, vet drop-off for testing (ultrasound, x-ray, urinalysis) at 8am, pickup 5pm, and he was groggy and not interested in eating until about 8pm Monday evening. So he went close to 24 hours with no food on Monday. He did eat pretty well Tues and today though. Combine those unknowns with the reduced couple of recent doses already, and that's why we were extra confused how to handle tonight's low preshot number.

Thanks for the support, everyone. This is the best community ever.

And on a side note: five, count 'em FIVE kittens wandered into our backyard tonight. I think there was a litter possibly in the yard next door (vacant house currently). We've got our hands full with 3 already (though part of me wants to scoop them all up and love on them ALL), so we'll probably try to trap them and get them to a vet to at least get fixed, and hopefully find homes. Cute as can be, the little things. :cat:
 
Last edited:
I slept terribly last night (musing over the results of his vet testing, which will be shared in another post to seek guidance) and it was hot as blazes so just hard to get comfortable. The headache today is just compounding my tiredness, and now Boots has helped throw in some good old fashioned stress-induced exhaustion just to keep things interesting! :blackeye:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top