7/12 Bob AMPS=327

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
HAPPY FRIDAY LL!!! dancing_cat

yesterday's condo

Bob's good other than a still little heavy on the pee. Poor Bob, I had an incident with his allergy pill this am. Last night it went right down his throat and he was fine. Today it got caught in his mouth and he started frothing like Cujo and running around all upset. :o I HATE when he gets all stressed out like that. Anyway, the coconut oil is going pretty smoothly and so I hope that helps him get the hairball moving. Going to try the pill again tonight but if that doesn't work, I'm giving up and he'll just have allergies! I can't upset him that bad again. Maybe I could get the pill and smoosh coconut oil all around it....

I am going to increase him tonight to 4.25 so I can keep an eye on him tonight and tomorrow. Keep your fingers crossed - need to see some blues. I would be so excited!

I hope everyone has a great weekend. Bob and I are praying for all the kitties (actually all furry critters, including rats and snakes who are not so furry) who need it!

Trying to remember every day to be GRATEFUL!!

"Sometimes life knocks you on your ass...get up, get up, get up!!! happiness is not the absence of problems, it's the ability to deal with them"
Steve Maraboli, Life, the Truth, and Being Free :thumbup
 
hi you two

I am sorry Bob had such a hard time with his pill! pills are the worst......I think the 4 times A VET has had to pill Tom...one made it down/stayed down. The cujo came out with him too! They can really foam it up! poor fellows.

I am anxious to see if the coconut oil is helpful for bob's hairballs. yesterday I found some at the store and wasn't sure it was right as it was "solid". when I got home I searched online and sure enough....not liquid. okay, now I know. Does he just lick it up by itself?

I know you are happy happy happy to increase that non-working frustrating dose tonight!!! I am always excited when I finally give in to a much needed increase too!

you wrote in another post about your vet not being supportive of home testing. What is he reasoning? Do you adjust Bob's dose without your vet's knowledge? Does your vet know about the protocol? Well, my vet doesn't mind my home-testing....but he is not one for the protocol/not one for Lantus (I had to insist after 6 wasted weeks on humulin N). when I called in Tom's numbers the other day...he totally freaked over a 119 value!! that got me worried. He said to hold Tom's dose (4units) for 2 more weeks.....I thought...gee, two more weeks of STRAIGHT PINKS? ......I increased anyway...but I am in a funk over the two conflicting minds. An educated Vet vs. me? what to do? obviously I am choosing my own sense...but still wrestling with it.

I will be watching to see Bob in the blues!! it has been awhile......like you don't know that!!!

good luck

~kelly
 
tomtom13 said:
I am anxious to see if the coconut oil is helpful for bob's hairballs. yesterday I found some at the store and wasn't sure it was right as it was "solid". when I got home I searched online and sure enough....not liquid. okay, now I know. Does he just lick it up by itself?

Hi Kelly -

Marje is the one who gave me the scoop on the coconut oil. She uses an open syringe to pull in .25 ml to give to her kitties and then gradually increases every 3 days by .25 ml until she's at 1 and then maintains them with that. her kitties lick it off a plate. I knew I would have to sit on mine and force it on them. None of them were willing to lick it up as I suspected! I just squirt it into their mouths and they swallow it. BJM on the health board said it's good for humans with IBD and that may be one of Bob's issues, so I hope it helps with that (if he has it). I had to get a little spoonful of it and stir it up a bit until it was a little softer and then was able to pull it up into the syringe. I tried to stick it right in the jar at first, but that didn't work because it's too hard. Let me know how it goes with Tom!

tomtom13 said:
you wrote in another post about your vet not being supportive of home testing. What is he reasoning? Do you adjust Bob's dose without your vet's knowledge? Does your vet know about the protocol? Well, my vet doesn't mind my home-testing....but he is not one for the protocol/not one for Lantus (I had to insist after 6 wasted weeks on humulin N). when I called in Tom's numbers the other day...he totally freaked over a 119 value!! that got me worried. He said to hold Tom's dose (4units) for 2 more weeks.....I thought...gee, two more weeks of STRAIGHT PINKS? ......I increased anyway...but I am in a funk over the two conflicting minds. An educated Vet vs. me? what to do? obviously I am choosing my own sense...but still wrestling with it.

I think vets are scared of people getting their cats too low. If they saw some of the numbers on this board, they would probably crap their pants! :shock: I don't think they think people can do it at home on their own - or maybe they have enought clients that would not do it at home - I know of people who decide not to treat their animal with diabetes or euthanize them :sad: . I've tried to both vets about the info on this board, but If you mention a discussion board on the internet, they look at you like you are just grabbing info off the web willy nilly! I took Bob to a specialist, spent $1,500 bucks and she told me he's regulated (have you seen his spreadsheet?????). They actually don't think a number in the 300's is that bad. She wanted me to hold his dose for weeks too. They say cats can deal with hyperglycemia better than humans or other animals and it's better to have hyperglycemia than hypoglycemia where they may die. I don't know...I sent my vet the TR protocol along with the Lantus dosing and told them "this is what I'm doing - just wanted you to be aware". I do take him in for check-ups and fructosemine tests just to keep him in their sight regularly. I want to make sure they know him well in case anything every pops up where I need them! And they are the animal experts, I just think they really need to do a little reading on kitty diabetes and more current treatments.

So, I know exactly how you feel. I want the support of my vet, but I've read and researched enough to know that maybe they are correct in their belief that numbers in the 300's "aren't that bad", but I want better for my cat. I don't want him dying before his time because of kidney problems or whatever else high blood sugar might cause him.

I wish you luck with Tom and your vet!! I'll be watching for some blues from Bob too (the only ones we've had were by accident!). :-D

Take Care!
Dara
 
Maybe try coating the pills in butter or a bit of that cocoanut oil to help them slip down Bob's throat better.
 
Hi Deb! I'm going to try coating the pill with the coconut oil next time. He doesn't seem to mind the oil...
 
Hi Dara,

Have to tell you that all your kitties are beautiful, but that Hector....his eyes are just so special!! I love looking at them :-D

I know how hard it is to walk that line with our vets. I like my vet alot!! She is very open to my suggestions, but I too see that look in her eyes sometimes. She said to me, "You test Cleo 7 x a day?" I said, yes, sometimes less, sometimes more. She felt it was not necessary. By the end of that visit, after I explained alot, I think she got it to some degree. I listen to her advice, but for FD, I take the advice of this board.

Good luck with Bob's dosecrease - It's always less worrying when you are home to test. I hope this is his breakthough dose, that brings surfin' the in the blues and greens. ;-)
 
Thanks Jane! I appreciate the encouragement! We are going to start the food transition again, so I really hope to see some blues (and dare I say, green?).

And thank you for the kitty compliment! Cleo is beautiful as well. Hector is definitely a character - so glad he found me!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top