7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243+5.5 65 PMPS 120 +2 118

Status
Not open for further replies.

myla

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Morning LL!

I am really sleepy this AM, but wanted to post this before I go btb for a bit.
Yesterday's numbers:
187 AMPS
133 +3
96 +6
187 +10
147 PMPS
46 +3
<------- snk MC
62 +3.25
61 +3.75
57 +4.5
<--------snk bit LC
60 +5
56 +5.5
< ------- snk bit LC
65 +6.5
87 +8.5
243 AMPS (BOING!) Looks like we got a little bounce

It was a long but green night.

I was re-reading the dosing protocol yesterday trying to prepare for someday if we get to do a dosecrease down. My understanding is when kitty goes below 50 and the entire cycle stays below 200. How many cycles does this have to happen before kitty earns a dosecrease down?

I believe that Purr has until the end of July for that 50 then after July he would have to go below 40?

So I guess two questions actually.
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 but oh what a night! Dose?

For me, a +3 46 equals a 0.25u dose reduction. That 46 was early in the cycle. Your numbers are running good, meaning I don't think you'll lose these good numbers by taking a reduction. Some kitties don't hold reductions as well as others.

Others may feel differently so hold on for them.
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 but oh what a night! Dose?

Nice night for Purrcie! WOW - and way to go! I hope you survived ok... :-D

Can't really advise on the dose, someone will be along shortly I'm sure....
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 but oh what a night! Dose?

Hey D!
Thank you for the quick reply.

Due to the 243 I did shoot the 1.5 this AM and am here ready with HC, MC, LC, strips and maybe one or two fingernails left.

I'm curious how this cycle will go and can maybe try the reduction tonight! (Paws and chewed off fingers crossed)
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 but oh what a night! Dose?

Congrats on the dosecrease! Those are some exciting numbers for that handsome Purr-man of yours!

I'm also curious about that 40/50 for a dosecrease - I think Sienne told me that newly-diagnosed meant 1 year... How long has he been on Lantus?
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 but oh what a night! Dose?

Congrats on your dosecrease Purrcie you are doing great :mrgreen: Hope you are able to get some rest today Myla (((HUGS))))
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 but oh what a night! Dose?

That is what I would have done too. We often shoot regular dose through the bounce (one cycle) and then take the reduction on the following cycle. Testing is a good idea because you never know how long the bounce will be.

You should also wait to see if others agree on taking the reduction tonight.
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 but oh what a night! Dose?

The entire cycle does not need to be below 200 - you just need a drop below 50. In many cases, just like Purrcie, the bounce starts during the same cycle.

I agree with D - I'd monitor carefully unless you're seeing that numbers are still heading up. I generally don't shoot the same dose unless I have a pink PS, but that's Gabby and Purrcie may be different.
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 but oh what a night! Dose?

Just tested at +2 and he is at 152, so headed back down. I'll be checking on him and plan to go back to 1.25U tonight.

Paws, fingers and eyes crossed that it holds. Ony one way to know!
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 but oh what a night! Dose?

I think that 152 looks like a good omen to me..

No cliff-diving there, Purrcie! Nice and steady - try some surfing!
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 but oh what a night! Dose?

Congratulations on the dosecrease. I agree with the others who said <50 is a dosecrease for Purrcie.
What you did this morning is referred to as "shooting thru the rebound" - so you can call it something if you'd like.

Goooooo Purrcie!
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 +4 54 +5.5 65

We're holding steady in Greenland.

He's had small snacks after each test.

152 +2
76 +3
54 +4
75 +4.5
65 +5.5

Do these kitties ever gain their weight back? He lost alot of weight when he crashed on Humulin in May. He weighed almost 12 pounds then and is around 9 now and is pretty thin. He lost most of the weight in may and early June before Lantus. Is there a way to get weight on him and not interrupt the good healing and steady surfs going on otherwise?
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 +4 54 +5.5 65

Beautiful numbers! Perfect setup for the reduction tonight.

Yes, he'll get that weight back.
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 +4 54 +5.5 65

myla said:
Do these kitties ever gain their weight back? He lost alot of weight when he crashed on Humulin in May. He weighed almost 12 pounds then and is around 9 now and is pretty thin.
As Diahann said, yes, the weight will be gained back as time goes on. My kitty went from 22 lbs. a year before diabetes, to 15 lbs. at diagnosis and his hips and backbone were extremely prominent. (Very scary.) He now is a healthy 18 lb. large breed kitty so this is just right for him. The heavier weight was too much and the dramatic weight loss was frightening but as he healed he gradually gained back what he needed and no more. I credit this to the more appropriate diet of low carb/ high protein wet food.

I would expect that Purrcie will gain his weight back gradually too.

Awesome numbers today! Congratulations on the dose decrease.
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 +4 54 +5.5 65

Tess hasn't gained weight back,in fact she has even lost a little more. However, she was overweight at 11 pounds and even with the additional weight loss she looks good. Study the charts for ideal weight in cats. You should see a definite waist and be able to feel the rib cage, but the back bone and ribs should not be visibly prominent. http://www.placervillevet.com/feline body condition.htm

I had a hard time being objective about it. Next time Purrcie is at the vet ask them. They are used to the feel test and can advise you on what he should weigh. A lot of people think their cats are too skinny when they are actually just right.
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 +4 54 +5.5 65

He's really thin based on that. His backbone, ribs and even his butt bones are easily seen and felt, and he's a long hair. He looked really healthy before his crash, so it is scary seeing him like this. :sad: So I keep hoping that as he becomes mroe stable his food will go on his body instead of straight through it.

I just wondered if he was getting enough to eat with the mini meals.
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 +4 54 +5.5 65 PMPS 120

PMPS of 120. whheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!! I'm glad I snuck in a two hour nap just after supper and before PMPS!
Looks like I'll be checking him alot again tonight.

We did the reduced dose of 1.25U. Paws and fingers crossed it sticks!
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 +4 54 +5.5 65 PMPS 120

I have a good feeling about your new dose... :smile:

Kasha had gotten as high as 15 lbs in her heyday. She dropped to around 7 when she was diagnosed hyperthyroid (I thought our diet was finally working - then I couldn't get her to stop losing weight!)... then she gradually gained back till she was around 14 again... She started losing weight again and I took her in and that's when she was dx'd with FD. She's been sticking around 10 lbs since then and it looks great on her. Years ago, my vet said 10 would be an ideal weight for her, but I'd probably never be able to get her to maintain it. Thank you low carb! Especially now that she's been shaved, she looks soooo tiny - just a wisp of the cat she once was (she used to look like you could saddle her up!). But I think she's been maintaining well on her LC diet. She eats very little compared to your guy - so I'm guessing once he's regulated, he'll gradually build himself back up.
 
Re: 7/12/10 Purrcie AMPS 243 +4 54 +5.5 65 PMPS 120

WHOO HOOOOOO Purrcie did really good today!!--Nice Job Myla! You are really going places!
Moonie is one of those cats who doesnt hold a dose crease for very long, especially if a drop is added or removed, even for a day--
Oh well, she's not purrfect, but I love her!--Have a great green night--
Moonie looks like a tuxedo football & was pretty skinny before..Patience it will all come grasshopper.. :mrgreen:
 
+2 118.

Thanks for the advice about his weight. Having CRF isn't helping him either. I don't think he is unhealthy, but he doesn't have that "thriving" look like he used to. He's been through so much this last two months though. I think he will do alot better with his FD stabilized as it appears to be right now!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top