Amy & Papaya (GA)
Member Since 2012
Yesterday
Phew, no time to post at work today. Property management - you never know what's going to happen, but it always seems to happen at once :shock:
The increase started to kick in last night (second cycle). I tested at +2 and it DID NOT indicate an active cycle. That's why I don't usually do +2s, for Papaya it is not a very reliable indication of what the cycle holds; +3 gives me a better idea. +4 had dropped a lot, though, so I kept monitoring and feeding as needed. It was indeed an active cycle last night, down to 59 before heading up again.
Not surprisingly she bounced to a HI for AMPS. I tested at +3, saw the drop, and added just about 1/2 tsp of high carb (18%) to the scheduled meal of 7% carbs. I know there are Friskies flavours that are more about 9% carbs but I haven't seen much of a selection around here, so 7% is what I've got to work with and can add higher carb Fancy Feast to bring it up a bit.
This held things steady for the +4 test, at which point I had to go to work. I left 7% out but she didn't touch it. Happily the PMPS today is down to mid-pink so maybe that was the right amount of carbs at the right time; if I see a similar drop by +3 I am going to try it again. I have to balance making sure she has enough insulin to do the job with trying to flatten the curve, and I am trying to keep in mind this advice that Marje passed on from Libby (thank you both!) basically to dose to the nadir you want:
Thanks for stopping by and have a great evening.
Phew, no time to post at work today. Property management - you never know what's going to happen, but it always seems to happen at once :shock:
The increase started to kick in last night (second cycle). I tested at +2 and it DID NOT indicate an active cycle. That's why I don't usually do +2s, for Papaya it is not a very reliable indication of what the cycle holds; +3 gives me a better idea. +4 had dropped a lot, though, so I kept monitoring and feeding as needed. It was indeed an active cycle last night, down to 59 before heading up again.
Not surprisingly she bounced to a HI for AMPS. I tested at +3, saw the drop, and added just about 1/2 tsp of high carb (18%) to the scheduled meal of 7% carbs. I know there are Friskies flavours that are more about 9% carbs but I haven't seen much of a selection around here, so 7% is what I've got to work with and can add higher carb Fancy Feast to bring it up a bit.
This held things steady for the +4 test, at which point I had to go to work. I left 7% out but she didn't touch it. Happily the PMPS today is down to mid-pink so maybe that was the right amount of carbs at the right time; if I see a similar drop by +3 I am going to try it again. I have to balance making sure she has enough insulin to do the job with trying to flatten the curve, and I am trying to keep in mind this advice that Marje passed on from Libby (thank you both!) basically to dose to the nadir you want:
Marje and Gracie said:Libby gave me some great advice which I will pass onto you. It actually is one of the things that I really concentrated on and I believe it has helped me with Gracie's regulation:
isn't it Suze/Pumbaa who is constantly repeating "they bounce until they don't?" It's true, there's no secret, they stop when they're ready to stop. I remember being frustrated that Lucy was pink at AMPS almost every single day, even though she went green at night. Jojo told me not to worry about the pink, she was spending more and more time in green so the little bit of pink didn't matter. She finally got to the point where she was pink for just a few hours every morning. One day she just completely stopped bouncing. I didn't do anything to make that happen, it just happened. Then what you're calling "dives," Jojo would say "look, she is racing as fast as she can to get back to those green numbers that she loves." Perspective.
So yes, I would dose to the nadir you want and wait for the numbers to fall into place. If you want nadirs in the 60s (which seems like a good goal), then adjust the dose until the nadirs fall into the 60s. Then STOP. She will eventually start to flatten out. That might take a long time. Once she flattens out, it might be higher than 60s, so you would adjust the dose again to put her back where you want her. If she drops lower than 60s, reduce the dose again to keep her nadirs in that range.
Thanks for stopping by and have a great evening.