7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252 +4~44, +7~191 +10~495 Not good :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meadow

Member Since 2010
Good Morning LL!

Looks like a semi-comfortable day today. The rains last night seem to have leveled off the humdity a bit. Let's see how long that lasts though. I am so glad that Meadow hasn't needed any extra pred for her asthma, but we've been keeping the a/c on 24/7 for the past week or so. She was in excellent spirits this morning. Woke me with her sweet little meow and then cuddled and purred for a bit in bed. When I got up, she ran into the kitchen and jumped up on the table knowing her test and breffis was on the way. Today we're doing a curve to see how numbers are throughout the day and evening. So we're starting off at 7am with a AMPS of 252. Hoping for a nice blue surf today (maybe a green) with no bounces this time! :smile:
BTW, if you get a chance, can you read my last post on yesterday's condo and give me some advice on the night time food question. Thanks!
Have a great day everyone!

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19452
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252..doing a curve today

Good luck with the curve! Seems like a good start to the day for meadow. I love it when they wake us up with purrs and bed cuddles.

Good luck with the food issue at night. I have the same problem in that I really can't leave food out for Mannie either as the others will eat it before he does. I finally got a timed feeder, have it in a spot that is "his", and have had success with those odd feed times. He knows what it is for, is right there when it opens, so that has worked for us.
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252..doing a curve today

Michelle and Mannie said:
I finally got a timed feeder, have it in a spot that is "his", and have had success with those odd feed times. He knows what it is for, is right there when it opens, so that has worked for us.


Wish that worked for me. Between Riley and Harley, they always get the food first. She doesn't even go near the feeder. Need anothe rgame plan. ;-)
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252..doing a curve today

Some of the folks here separate their kitties at night -- for example, keep the diabetic cat in the bedroom where there's food or a feeder.
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252..doing a curve today

Sienne and Gabby said:
Some of the folks here separate their kitties at night -- for example, keep the diabetic cat in the bedroom where there's food or a feeder.

That's impossible here, Sienne. I like to sleep at night! :lol: Closed doors are a big no-no in this house. Ihave several who scratch and scream all night long if they can't get to me. My house is small and the a/c unit cools the whole house, so we need the doors open for the a/c anyway or else I would have wilted cats in the morning from the heat.
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252..doing a curve today

Maybe another day like yesterday eh? that is great that you will be doing the curve today. We LUVS to have more DATA!!! :lol:
Sounds as if you have a major problem with the food at night. This sounds silly but the first thing I thought of since you cannot close any doors and separate them at night was to feed the others till they cannot eat another bit of food before you go to bed...put them in a separate room then if you can and feed them till they are full.
Then maybe put Meadow's food in an unusual place and show her where it is...and don't let the others see where it is...lol...don't know if anyone can outsmart kitties, but maybe if you put her food next to your bed at night and show her where it is, she will be the one to find it....
Let us know if you figure something that works...it is a big problem for sure.
Some people have one kitty who can jump up to eat so that's where they safely put the food...but if that isn't the case, you have an issue that is not easily solved. (short of getting up yourself and monitoring the night time feedings....)
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252 +4 = 44..doing a curve today

LOL Pat! Riley and Harley would never stop eating! Riley is a bottomless pit. Harley eats until he vomits and then goes right back to eating again. Both are overweight and can't afford to gain any more weight. Hiding food in a speical place just for Meadow hsn't worked in the past....can't get anything past these feline noses. It's looking more and more like I may have to set the alarm (and hope I hear it!) to get up and feed her at least once during the night.
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252 +4 = 44...doing a curve today

:RAHCAT You caught the 44 today, that earns the reduction. Congratulations! :RAHCAT Tess and Meadow can celebrate together at the party.
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252 +4 = 44...doing a curve today

So you think I should reduce it from a f1u down to 1u with tonight's dose?

Ann & Tess said:
:RAHCAT You caught the 44 today, that earns the reduction. Congratulations! :RAHCAT Tess and Meadow can celebrate together at the party.
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252 +4 = 44...doing a curve today

yes, I would take the reduction to 1 unit. We knew she was looking for a reduction, now she has proven it. :smile:
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252 +4 = 44...doing a curve today

Closing things off wouldn't work for me either, but I thought I'd put it out there. Sometimes, I miss the most obvious solutions.

Congrats on the dose reduction.
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252 +4~44, +7~191 Bouncing?

Recapping our curve today:
7am AMPS = 252 (ate 3/4 can FF for breffis)
+ 2 = 130 (ate 1/2 can FF for breffis part 2)
+4 = 44 (fed small amount of Friskies gravy food)
+4hr 45min = 69 (got 2 small pieces freeze dried chicken for reward)
+5h 45mins = 131 (got 2 small pieces freeze dried beef as reward)
+7hr 15mins = 191 (got tiny amount of no carb chicken jerky as reward)

Is this heading towards a bounce or just the normal rise for the day? She gets tested again at 4pm and will get a small amount of FF to tide her over until dinner at 7pm. Am I feeding her ok?
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252 +4~44, +7~191 Bouncing?

Libby wrote
I would have reduced the dose after the 38, but since you didn't and the numbers went back up, I would not reduce until you get something below 50. But... there is a good chance you missed catching a below 50 number yesterday, and again today. It's sort of cheating to reduce based on a number you think was there, you really need to try to catch the number so you know for sure she earned the reduction. Will you be home tomorrow to test? If the bounce clears by morning, she might have the same kind of cycle again, and give you a chance to catch the below 50 number.

I was remembering this from yesterday when I congratulated on the decrease. I've always been told you can shoot through the bounce and then take the reduction. This looks like a bounce to me. See if Libby comes back, for confirmation.

Where are you? You wrote 4:00pm, for the next test, what time zone? You are getting big drops, you might want to discuss mini meals w/ Libby too, they are working for Tess pretty well.
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252 +4~44, +7~191 Bouncing?

Ann & Tess said:
Where are you? You wrote 4:00pm, for the next test, what time zone? You are getting big drops, you might want to discuss mini meals w/ Libby too, they are working for Tess pretty well.

I'm in NY, Long Island to be exact. Huge drops, yes...but the bounces are even worse. We're at 495 +10hr 30mins. :(
 
Re: 7/11 Meadow's AMPS 252 +4~44, +7~191 Bouncing?

Recapping our curve today:
7am AMPS = 252 (ate 3/4 can FF for breffis)
+ 2 = 130 (ate 1/2 can FF for breffis part 2)
+4 = 44 (fed small amount of Friskies gravy food)
+4hr 45min = 69 (got 2 small pieces freeze dried chicken for reward)
+5h 45mins = 131 (got 2 small pieces freeze dried beef as reward)
+7hr 15mins = 191 (got tiny amount of no carb chicken jerky as reward)
+9 = 365 (this was at 4pm and she begged for food. Knowing she would get her PMPS test in 3 more hours, she got some of the unseasoned london broil I cooked for them on the bar-b-q)
+10hrs 30mins = 495

Once again she feels hot to the touch and is walking around back and forth to the water bowl. 495 is the highest she has ever been. I know the steak she had might be contributory, but this bouncing stuff is killing me. :sad:
 
that's quite a bounce. You can shoot the old dose one more time tonight if you want, to help with the rebound. Then reduce tomorrow morning. Tis ok, bouncing is normal, and one day she'll stop doing it.
 
Congratulations on the reduction to a new dose! Sorry about the bounce though. It happens... I bet tomorrow will be a great day for Meadow.
 
Take a look at Gabby's SS -- not so much in the last 2 weeks but say, in November. Gabby can/could go from a pre-shot in the 400s to a nadir in the 40s and back to a pre-shot in the 400s. Her SS may make you feel better!
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Take a look at Gabby's SS -- not so much in the last 2 weeks but say, in November. Gabby can/could go from a pre-shot in the 400s to a nadir in the 40s and back to a pre-shot in the 400s. Her SS may make you feel better!
Thanks Sienne. Did make me feel a LITTLE better to see that Gabby went from those nasty bounces to some pretty nice colors in recent months. Meadow was already starting to come down from the bounce at her PMPS of 466. But I guess patience is not one of my virtues. I want her regulated NOW. :? :lol:


Michelle and Mannie said:
I concur with Ann - we do mini meals, and it has helped Mannie alot. Good luck!
When you say mini meals, Michelle and Ann, how much and how often do you feed? I thought I was doing okay giving her a normal breffis (usually 1 can of FF) and then maybe 1/4 can every 2 hours or so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top