7/11 Kasha AMPS 81 PMPS 105 Dosecrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
[*]She's still feeling queasy, I can tell... I got up to give her a +9.4 snack. She had a little. I tested this morning, waited around 15 min, tested again and she seemed to be surfing, so I shot about 10 min late. Not too bad. She didn't really want to eat much, but with chicken dust and a lot of attention, she ate most of her 2 Tbsp of FF breakfast.

I've been giving her nose drops about 3 times a day - last night it was saline and colloidal silver solution that I mixed up in my neti pot - so we both had a sinus rinse ;-) The vet had told me that if I really didn't want to use the antibiotics, I could just try the nose drops - so, until we try another dose of the A/B tonight, at least I have a treatment option. I can at least feel like I'm doing something for her.

Today is my horse, Tigger's, 29th birthday. Which means it's the 28th anniversary of the day we met... and while I was pretty young then, it also means I'm still a bit older than 28!!!

Also in today's news - a friend of mine from work has a Thai cat (old-style Siamese) that had her second litter of kittens this morning between 2 and 3 am. 5 kittens! She said she'd send pics when she was more awake...

Edit: my friend emailed an hour later (4:18 am) to say that there was a correction - it was 7 kittens, not 5!!!!

Speaking of which, I'm feeling queasy and tired myself, so I'm going btb for a bit.

Yesterday
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81

Happy Birthday to Tigger! What does he get for a prezzy? Carrots and apples and a nice ride where he gets to lead the way for once? This is an exciting day for you with the new baby kittens and all.

That's a nice AMPS Kasha.

Enjoy your btb.
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81

Beautiful AMPS for Kasha today despite the fact that she may feel well. Hope the nose drops help her.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY Tigger! I hope you get as many carrots and apples and mints that your tummy can handle!

And speaking about tummy's...I hope yours feels better after your btb'ing.,

Hope Kasha is able to attend the Pool Party today! I'll make sure that she doesn't go into the pool so that she doesn't get any sicker if you want!
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81

Happy Birthday Tigger! What kind of treat does Tigger get today? Feel better to Kasha. It sounds like she's doing a little better today hopefully. Catch up later.
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81, 52 @ +2!

Argh... she's 52 @ +2... I'm sooo tired.

Just gave some LC. I'm going to check again in 20 min to see if she drops more.
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81, 47 @ +2.4 Dosecrease?

Ok -she dropped into the 40s, so early in the cycle. I mixed some of the "9%" FF medleys with some LC... she also licked some of the gravy as well.

If this qualifies us for a dosecrease, I have to say that the .25 unit I'm currently measuring is on the skinny side already, I think. I don't have a lot of room to go before I'll be touching the 0 line... If I skinny it up any more, it sounds like the way Ann describes measuring .1... just a tiny bit of light before the 0 line.
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81, 47 @ +2.4 Dosecrease?

Happy Birthday to Tigger :mrgreen: and Kasha lets try not to go any lower for you Mama Bean OK?
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81, 47 @ +2.4 Dosecrease?

Well, she was 55 at her +3... I'm going to check in a half hour since it's still early enough in the cycle that I want to keep a close watch and make sure she doesn't drop again after the food spike.

Tig will probably get some carrots and maybe peppermints. He's been very, very sore lately and yesterday it was hard for him to walk on the concrete outside of his stall... but when he got to the soft dirt of the arena or outside where I stood (and sweated) while he grazed, he moved much better.

It was cute - when I got there, he was out in his paddock grazing on the tiny bits of grass that he hasn't eaten yet. He didn't notice me right away, but suddenly I heard him make this sound between a whicker and a squeal and he came running in to see me! It's very sweet...
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81, 47 @ +2.4 Dosecrease?

HI Kasha, just stopped in to day hope the icky tummy feeling goes away soon. No fun having a queasy tummy!
Happy Birthday to Tigger too. :smile:
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81, 47 @ +2.4, 57 @ +5 Dosecrease?

Hey - maybe I finally gave her just the right amount to keep her from dropping but not bounce her up high! Not that I'm taking all the credit, she's doing a great job surfing the greens today...

And not too many sneezes... She's been dozing all morning and I can't really tell how she's feeling. I think she still may be queasy, but there have been fewer respiratory symptoms - a couple sneezes, but so far none of the violent sneezing fits...

I put drops in her nose this morning - I hope that's helping.
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81, 47 @ +2.4, 57 @ +5 Dosecrease?

Well, my BF basically is breaking up with me, so I'm in a pretty bad mood. Apparently he couldn't understand why I would be upset that he never spends time with me, now that I'm not free to drive to his house to stay there all the time. He even had the nerve to say that hey, I don't spend time with him either. He basically drives past my house twice a day to come/go from work and he can't stop by... This is another lesson I get to learn from the past few months with the cats. I bet on some level, he's never accepted that when things started to go wrong with the cats, I chose them over him - they needed me more. Looks like that was the right choice, but it still really, really sucks.

He lives 15 minutes away from me, in the opposite direction from work. He's never even seen Blue since he got out of the cage.

Very, very sad and angry today.
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81, 47 @ +2.4 Dosecrease?!

Well, no one had responded to my dosecrease ? so i'm going to go ahead on my own and say, sure Krys - how about .1 since I'm already giving just a little more than that. We'll see. I can always increase if that doesn't work.

I realize I don't understand "squeezing out a drop" - I was playing with the syringe measuring and sometimes a full unit will be one large drop. If I hold the syringe needle up, I can squeeze 3 or 4 little drops out of a unit, but the last drop is on practically the zero line (not .25 like I would expect). So - I'll continue using my calculation based on daylight over the 0 line...
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81, 47 @ +2.4 Dosecrease?!

Hi Krys,
It's hard at first for the .01 - it's just a very small amount of daylight before that first line, but it's never perfect. When I practiced, I squeezed out a very small drop, so I may have even been shooting less than .01 if that makes sense. I think Sunday is just a slow day is why no one has yet responded. Hold on as I'm sure some will be along. Sorry about your bf. Well, if someone doesn't care enough to look in on your pets when they're ill, then that's a bad sign. Maybe he will come around...
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81, 47 @ +2.4 Dosecrease?!

Wish I could offer you some advice on the dosing, but I'm still having difficulties with that myself. It's so hard to get these measurements correct with such small doses. Sorry about your BF. That really sucks.

kryskat said:
Well, no one had responded to my dosecrease ? so i'm going to go ahead on my own and say, sure Krys - how about .1 since I'm already giving just a little more than that. We'll see. I can always increase if that doesn't work.

I realize I don't understand "squeezing out a drop" - I was playing with the syringe measuring and sometimes a full unit will be one large drop. If I hold the syringe needle up, I can squeeze 3 or 4 little drops out of a unit, but the last drop is on practically the zero line (not .25 like I would expect). So - I'll continue using my calculation based on daylight over the 0 line...
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81, 47 @ +2.4 Dosecrease?!

sure, go for the reduction. If it doesn't work, you can always go back up.

Is there any chance you can start trying a mini meal at +8 or +9 each cycle? Kasha's preshots are still high, and that might help bring them down if her pancreas is sputtering.
 
Re: 7/11 Kasha AMPS 81, 47 @ +2.4 Dosecrease?!

I measured so I could see just a tiny line of light above the 0 line. When I turn the syringe sideways, the 1/2 unit mark is sitting slightly below the plunger line, if that makes any sense. Before, I was measuring with the 1/2 unit line at the bottom of the plunger line... so this is skinnying the dose... But the next step would be to measure to the 0 line... I can't see how there would be anything in between.

I'm going to call this .1 unit... For lack of any better name - it does look pretty much like the pics of the .1 unit dose that I was staring at today:

2783154839_8ee2f98609.jpg


So... here goes nothing.

I can do the +9 mini-meal in the AM only - I've been getting up midway thru my sleep to do that the last several nights. It is impossible during the day, though - since I'll be at work. I can put a spoonful in the autofeeder and set it for that time, but I'll have no way to know who ate it or when it was eaten. If I'm home during the day, of course, I'll do so. But I have training/meetings scheduled thru the entire next week, maybe 2 weeks. I'm on shaky ground at work with all the time I've been calling off.

As for him, I'm sure I should take the high road but all I can think is, there's 3 years of my life wasted foolishly on someone who didn't care enough to help me through a tough time because he feels that tough times are when we learn to deal... so I suppose he felt he was doing me a favor by not helping me out. It was his way of caring. But why would I want that? And why did I put up with it for so long? This last 4 mos has been the longest of my life and I got through them mostly on my own (+ the help of one friend and my parents - thank god for them. And FDMB LL of course). Does that make me feel stronger? No - it makes me feel really, really tired. The only reason I don't curl up and check out of my life for a while is because who would take care of Kasha if I did?
 
Hi Krys. Congratulations on the reduction. I hope it works for you guys. You're getting really close now aren't you? Sorry about your boyfriend, Sometimes people just don't get it. I hope he has enough sense to see what he will be missing and gets his act together.
 
Kasha is doing so good! Jumps up and down for her.
Happy Birthday Tigger!!!

Hugs you hard! Sorry about the BF but if that's his attitude, then pooh on him. Hugs you again, its hard to lose someone.
 
Krys, congratulations on the decrease for Kasha. She is doing really well! And however you measure this dose and whatever you call it... just be consistent as you can. It is YOUR version of 0.1 unit and that's your story and stick to it. :lol: :lol: I think everyone tries to find the smallest dose they are able to measure and that becomes the 0.1 unit.

Although there are some people that shoot fat zero and stuff like that... I never could do that from what I had measured. My last measurable dose was 0.1u.

It sounds like you have it figured out.

Loved the story of Tigger and the little squeal-whicker when he saw you. Happy Birthday Tigger!
And I'm very sorry about your exBF. That hurts when they don't 'get it.' You are obviously a loving and caring person and I wish he had seen that with more clarity.
 
Thanks everyone. I reduced the dose just a tiny bit - but I can't imagine how I would decrease again without hitting the 0 line. And I'm more than willing to try that, if it comes to it... but for now - we'll try this and I won't have to really worry about her going too low when I'm not home all day during the week.

I just gave her 3rd dose of the Cefa drops at PM +1.5. Now I'm waiting to see if she vomits. At least her dinner has had time to settle in a bit this time - I want food in her before the insulin kicks in. Even with the reduced dose, there's still the shed to contend with.
 
Sorry more of us weren't around earlier. Now you have everyone jumping in and telling you that you did good! I agree completely with CD -- consistency with the dose outweighs what you call it.

And I'm sorry it's been a lousy day. You deserve better than someone who couldn't be there to support you through what has undoubtedly been a really rough time. There are always people who don't understand how we can invest so much emotionally into our cats or, in your case, cats and horse. Those 4-legged companions are a huge part of our lives and give back to us unconditionally. There are lots of people who just do not understand. At least for me, it does make me value the people who do understand all the more.
 
Hey Krys!
I just had to come over and wish Tigger a Happy Birthday! Are you going to let him watch reruns of Mr. Ed all day today? He's old enough to remember Mr. Ed! I hope he got a good withers scratch and some yummy grazing! 29 is an amazing age for your guy!

I'm bummed for you about your BF. That sucks. I have no words of wisdom because, like you, I love with my heart on my sleeve and am always shocked when it isn't returned. 3 years is a long time, but try to just remember the things that attracted you to him and take strength in knowing that there is a good person in him, obviously since he loves you. Some folks don't understand our love for our animals and can't share that with us sadly. But please remember that when one door closes many others open, we just have to stop looking at the closed one to see them. So this is a stepping stone on your journey. If we never feel sadness, then how will we recognize joy if we have nothing to compare it to?

Amazing numbers for you today with Kasha!

Big fuzzy hugs from me and Purrcie.
 
myla said:
I'm bummed for you about your BF. That sucks. I have no words of wisdom because, like you, I love with my heart on my sleeve and am always shocked when it isn't returned. 3 years is a long time, but try to just remember the things that attracted you to him and take strength in knowing that there is a good person in him, obviously since he loves you. Some folks don't understand our love for our animals and can't share that with us sadly. But please remember that when one door closes many others open, we just have to stop looking at the closed one to see them. So this is a stepping stone on your journey. If we never feel sadness, then how will we recognize joy if we have nothing to compare it to?

Then I should be able to recognize a lot of joy.

I don't know that he loved me ever. Maybe in the cosmic sense that he feels he loves all people. All I know is I got much harsher treatment than his friends. I'm sure he resents me choosing the cats over him the last 4 mos. But he could have been involved and supportive and he chose, for the most part, not to be. I was practically living at his house and a lot of my stuff is still there. He wouldn't let me keep my bike at his house so we could ride together when I was spending so much time there - because it took up too much room. He had 2 bikes and 3 cars. And my one bike was the problem. And he sees nothing wrong with any of that. Hmmm...

Why is it that it takes so much energy out of me to have humans in my life and loving the animals is effortless?

Nearly 2 hours since the drops and looks like she hasn't vomited yet. Maybe giving them 1 1/2 hrs after eating is the answer?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top