? 7/11 Ivy AMPS 335, +6 335 Feeding Raw Diet Question

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-pmps-dose-advice-needed.279294/#post-3086243
Hi all, we went to see a new holistic vet yesterday who strongly advocated for feeding a RAW diet. Ivy has CKD, IBD also... (I currently home make her lamb sweet potato cooked diet, 12.5% carb, giving for about 2 weeks now, prior recipe was 6% lamb/sweet potato recipe, used since diagnosed last Fall)
In the past I made a salmon and also a chicken recipe but we went to a novel protein diet in late 2021 (began using lamb).

As some of you know, Ivy is still not regulated with glucose since diagnosis 9/2022, Ivy has extreme highs and lows very often. She bounces constantly, however I think she is recovering a bit more quickly lately from the bounces (but then she bounces yet again).

She's currently on 2.75 U Lantus, (since decrease 7/7/23, dropped under 90 bg, follow SLGS).

She wears a FreeStyle Libre 3 sensor CGM (I do check her low Libre numbers with a Contour Next meter). She does go down to "LO" reading on Libre, (which is in the 40's on Libre)- equates to usually under or around 90 on Contour Next meter).

New Vet feels a "higher protein" Rabbit diet - basically no carbs (or Turkey or Duck but thought Rabbit best) to try. I have no experience with Raw diet and such a low carb load.

She has not done great on a 6% lamb & sweet potato recipe I had been feeding since last September until about 2 weeks ago, when recipe was reformulated to a medium carb lamb/sweet potato 12.5% recipe.

This new vet suggested looking at brands including: Small Batch, Bravo, Answers or Primal Raw brands.
Anyone have experience with these brands and/or feeding diabetic & CKD cats RAW food?
Plus, how to try them out to see if cat will accept the diet?

I'd rather try a raw commercial diet first to see if she even likes it before delving into the whole grinding of meats and bones thing if she won't even like and eat it. (Plus I do hate the thought of changing course, but need to try to find a solution in diet perhaps for better glucose management). I'm willing to explore the idea of raw....but need more info from those who know about feeding raw.

Does anyone have any experience or ideas which may help guide me? Might this be a better diet for Ivy given her current unregulated glucose situation?

(THANK YOU!)
 
Back
Top