7/11 Gobnait AMPS 121 +5 86 PMPS 107 -please advise newbie!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJ and Gobnait

Member Since 2011
This is day two for me on this forum and I've just recreated a spreadsheet from the bits of recording i did her first weekend and today. Unfortunately, I am using my work PC and it won't allow me to access google docs. I'll get my personal PC fixed (just for kitty) and post her sheet but in the meantime, I have created one and am inserting what I have here.

I just gave her something between the 2.5 the vet recommended last week and 2.0. I'm calling it 2.25. Her numbers are dropping which is great but 2.5 seems so high for her numbers compared to what everyone else is doing. Any guidance would be great!

She's just eaten Purina DM diatetic management today and a few slices of turkey.

She's getting 3 mg Zobaline morning and evening for neuropathy - which looks pretty good today.

6/30/2011 Units Evening 3 OR 6! NOTES: 1st day home from vet. I wasn't educated yet on testing and wasn't able to get blood. The first evening, first time using insulin needles I couldn’t tell if I got her or not so gave her another shot. I know this is the wrong move now. Seemed like the right thing to do at the time.

7/1/2011 Units: 3 no test AM. +3 106, +6 128, +9 183, PMPS 224 NOTES: Feeding only diabetic food but still also dry diabetic food

7/2/2011 Units: 3. 8:30 AMPS 229, +2 213, +8 178, PMPS 220 U 2.5 NOTES: Spoke with Vet on phone. He suggesting lowering to 2.5 from 3.

7/3/2011 Units 2.5. 8:30 AMPS, +3 139, +8 180, PMPS 223 U2.5 NOTES: now eating only wet food per reco from zobaline people

7/4 to 7/11: During this week I did test her occasionally but didn’t record. She was always around 120-180. She began to drop on 7/9/2011. On 7/10/2011 I joined the forum

7/11/2011 Units 2.5 7:30 AMPS 121, +5 86, PMPS 107 U 2.25. NOTES: 1st week as board member. Starting spreadsheet. Feeding only wet and meat (some sliced turkey today at breakfast)
 
Re: 7/11 Gobnait AMPS 121 +5 86 PMPS 107 (reposting data)

Given that this is a low shot, please get a +1 and a +2 and post those numbers.

It will be easier to read if you set this up vertically:

7/1/2011 Shot 3.0u NOTES: Feeding only diabetic food but still also dry diabetic food
  • no AMPS
  • +3 106
  • +6 128
  • +9 183
  • PMPS 224
7/2/2011 Shot 3.0u NOTES: Spoke with Vet on phone. He suggesting lowering to 2.5 from 3.
  • AMPS 22
  • +2 213
  • +8 178
  • PMPS 220 Shot 2.5u
7/3/2011 Shot 2.5u NOTES: now eating only wet food per reco from zobaline people
  • AMPS
  • +3 139
  • +8 180
  • PMPS 223 Shot 2.5 u
7/4 to 7/11: During this week I did test her occasionally but didn’t record. She was always around 120-180. She began to drop on 7/9/2011. On 7/10/2011 I joined the forum
7/11/2011 Shot 2.5u NOTES: 1st week as board member. Starting spreadsheet. Feeding only wet and meat (some sliced turkey today at breakfast)
  • AMPS 121
  • +5 86
  • PMPS 107 Shot 2.25u.

If you take a look at Mannie's condo (it's what we call our threads), Michelle gives a recap of her tests from the previous day.

I would not change your dose. Gobnait has not earned a dose reduction. Her numbers will need to drop below 50 in order for her to earn a reduction. Don't compare your dose with other cats. Each cat needs what s/he needs. You've seen some kitties on small doses but I bet you've not seen the cats who are on 4.0u or 11.0u. The key to using Lantus is following the protocol if your goal is tight regulation or remission and consistency. That means holding the dose unless a reduction or increase is warranted and shooting as close to every 12 hours as possible.

I would suggest you make sure you have a supply of high carb food and a stockpile of strips. You'll be surprised at how fast you go through the strips.

I'm honestly surprised that Gobnait will eat DM. Most of our cats are not pleased with it. If you take a look at the ingredients, you'll understand why. It's mostly animal by-products. There's very little muscle meat. Frankly, you will get better quality food at lower carbs for a fraction of the cost if you feed Fancy Feast. You'll actually find that the premium, human grade cat foods are less expensive and lower in carbs than DM.
 
Re: 7/11 Gobnait AMPS 121 +5 86 PMPS 107 -please advise newb

Wow. Thanks SO much for putting the formatting in for me!!

I'll stick to the 2.5. I was compromising with myself on the 2.25! I will not be able to get +1s and +2s tomorrow as I can't work from home. Wednesday and Friday I'll get the whole day.

And you're right. she does NOT love the DM and my other cat (not diabetic but now relegated to eating the same food) hates it. hence the turkey slices this morning. I did pick up a can of low carb at the pet store and they both seemed very happy with it. I'll go back to that and keep an eye out for others.

"did not earn a reduction" sounds so harsh! she deserves the best. it's her stupid diabetes didn't earn it.

Am also looking forward to the return of my regular vet from vacation. This one had me pretty scared about any numbers under 100!

MJ, with Gobnait at my side snoring....
 
Re: 7/11 Gobnait AMPS 121 +5 86 PMPS 107 -please advise newb

Many of us use Fancy feast Classic flavors ONLY(low carb) Wellness, Evo, and many other choices you can choose from our food lists--Dry food has carbs, could be that Gobnait could do so well without it, but do it gradually, so as not to let his numbers drop too quickly!! Gotta watch that when changing foods from carb to low carb--Go slow, none of our cats got better in few weeks, it takes time--You are doing just fine.

food lists- http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html
 
Re: 7/11 Gobnait AMPS 121 +5 86 PMPS 107 -please advise newb

Great photo!!

Most vets DO get nervous with the numbers that we routinely see. They have good reason to be nervous -- most of their patients' beans don't home test (and they don't encourage them to). Because the potential for hypoglycemia is a risk to their malpractice insurance, they will advice people to not give insulin if numbers are under 200. If you look at the subject lines on the Board, you'll see that people here routinely shoot lower numbers. You shot a lower number than that today. Home testing and knowing (or learning) how to steer your cat's numbers with food is the most effective way to keep your cat safe and to achieve tight regulation.

As for Gobnait's diabetes not earning the reduction... We'll compromise. Her pancreas didn't earn it!!

Print out Janet & Binky's food charts for your cat food foray. Some of the info is dated (e.g., the Fancy Feast low carb are called "Classic.") Do not rely on the people at the store to know what the carb counts are and the manufacturers don't include it on the can. All of the EVO 95% line, Blue Wilderness, and Merrick Before the Grain are low carb.
 
Re: 7/11 Gobnait AMPS 121 +5 86 PMPS 107 -please advise newb

Thanks all! shot at 108 this morning and have to work in my office today so can't test until before dinner :(

She was good and annoyed about the testing this morning. I hate to think she'll start running from me.


prick ear
stab neck
cram pill down throat

not a fun routine.

I will research food and do a little taste testing at home. Gobnait's a bit of a pig which will make the feeding part easier. And Gobnait's a she!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gobnait
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top