7-11 Gizmo AMPS=339; +5=335; +8=306; PMPS=354; +2=351

Status
Not open for further replies.
Glad to hear you are getting the 2 tests, how much is the vet charging you?
I don't know. My vet is usually pretty reasonable with costs ... so fingers crossed it won't be that much. I just made the appointment and figured I would go from there. The lady I talked to seemed more interested in making an appointment to check his BG. I told her I wanted all his bloodwork checked again so we shall see. I am hoping the vet isn't to upset that Gizmo is now getting 6.5 units of insulin. (He told me to increase to 5 units and I started TR and have just kept going.). Needless to say, I'm a little nervous about this appointment, but I have to do what I believe is best for Gizmo.
 
I don't know. My vet is usually pretty reasonable with costs ... so fingers crossed it won't be that much. I just made the appointment and figured I would go from there. The lady I talked to seemed more interested in making an appointment to check his BG. I told her I wanted all his bloodwork checked again so we shall see. I am hoping the vet isn't to upset that Gizmo is now getting 6.5 units of insulin. (He told me to increase to 5 units and I started TR and have just kept going.). Needless to say, I'm a little nervous about this appointment, but I have to do what I believe is best for Gizmo.
Sometimes it is best to tell the vet your are following their orders and don't mention you are using other sources for dosing guidance. My 1st vet got real annoyed when I told her I was on this board and saying things like "they think...."
 
Sometimes it is best to tell the vet your are following their orders and don't mention you are using other sources for dosing guidance. My 1st vet got real annoyed when I told her I was on this board and saying things like "they think...."
He was impressed with the spreadsheets that I have shared in the past. It was just one I made in excel. So I plan on emailing this spreadsheet before Gizmo's appointment and hope all goes well. I'm not comfortable with giving Gizmo 6.5 units and him only thinking he is getting 5 units. I feel that could led to more problems down the road. I have to be honest with what I am doing and hope for the best.
 
I actually made 2 spreadsheets, one real one and one for the vet not showing her the 6 cycle increases I was really doing. When I mentioned TR, she asked where did I get that info and after I told her, she just rolled her eyes. After she gave up at what she thought was 3u (Bronx was at around 6u at that time), she referred me to an internal medicine vet who was familiar with TR and also familiar with high-dose kitties and he was all about 6 cycle increases and was also the one who took the blood for the 2 tests.
 
Gizmo's vet actually has a special interest in internal medicine. :) Hopefully I'm worried about nothing. Bottom line is Gizmo's numbers are better than ever before and that should be all that matters!
 
Please keep your observations about constipation on the list for discussion with the vet. I'm worried about the description yesterday of small / hard stool. One thing to think about is pumpkin is more of a maintenance or preventative. With small / hard stool, he may need something more like Miralax to soften the stool. My vet taught me to feel the abdomen of my cat and differentiate normal from "rock hard" nuggets that were very difficult for her to pass. You might be on top of this, but in my case, I really wish I would have learned this sooner! I was too focused on her BG spreadsheet and the fact there was at least one bowel movement each day. Several days in the hospital were required to clear up what felt like a basket of rocks. If you haven't already seen this reference, it would also be helpful to review in advance and discuss any questions with your vet.

Wishing the best for you and Gizmo! :cat:
 
Please keep your observations about constipation on the list for discussion with the vet. I'm worried about the description yesterday of small / hard stool. One thing to think about is pumpkin is more of a maintenance or preventative. With small / hard stool, he may need something more like Miralax to soften the stool. My vet taught me to feel the abdomen of my cat and differentiate normal from "rock hard" nuggets that were very difficult for her to pass. You might be on top of this, but in my case, I really wish I would have learned this sooner! I was too focused on her BG spreadsheet and the fact there was at least one bowel movement each day. Several days in the hospital were required to clear up what felt like a basket of rocks. If you haven't already seen this reference, it would also be helpful to review in advance and discuss any questions with your vet.

Wishing the best for you and Gizmo! :cat:
Thanks for the info. I glanced at that website yesterday. Will look closer. Gizmo has always been like this. It's nothing new, but I will defiantly talk with his vet about it. I never knew it was a problem until now. :banghead: I really hate to use miralax because I feel it is addictive. My daughter has been on it since she was a baby and despite her eating a very healthy diet (full of fiber), I am unable to remove her daily miralax without issues. :(
 
+5 = 335

I know this is NDW, but I get so frustrated when I increase the dose and he goes back to flat pinks. :arghh:
 
Does your vet know you are following the TR protocol? If not, you could print of the paper called Management of Diabetic Cats that is in the protocol sticky, and give it to him. That way he can see you are following a scientific approach, and not just some random thoughts from a bunch of people on the internet. ;) I would venture to say the collective wisdom here on high dose cats is more than what the vet has too. Neko's clinic owner conceded that to me that I knew more than him about acromegaly. If Gizmo has acromegaly, then bowel issues are not uncommon. Carol's suggestion to discuss with the vet is a good one.

Hang in there - use NDW or bounce days to get out and do something for you. There WILL be times in the future when you'll be tied at home because of low numbers. Make use of the opportunity while you can.
 
Does your vet know you are following the TR protocol? If not, you could print of the paper called Management of Diabetic Cats that is in the protocol sticky, and give it to him. That way he can see you are following a scientific approach, and not just some random thoughts from a bunch of people on the internet. ;) I would venture to say the collective wisdom here on high dose cats is more than what the vet has too. Neko's clinic owner conceded that to me that I knew more than him about acromegaly. If Gizmo has acromegaly, then bowel issues are not uncommon. Carol's suggestion to discuss with the vet is a good one.
No, vet doesn't know yet. I have saved the file on my phone for reference if needed.
Hang in there - use NDW or bounce days to get out and do something for you. There WILL be times in the future when you'll be tied at home because of low numbers. Make use of the opportunity while you can.

Can't wait for that day to come! Although I get like that now when he got into yellows. Lol
 
PMPS = 354

Gizmo only ate 1/4 tsp of pumpkin this morning, but he ate the other 1/4 tsp mixed with his snack at +6. Tomorrow I will mix the 1/2 tsp with breakfast. So at least I can get it into him. Time shall tell if it will help any.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top