7/11 Ann & Maggie +6 112; PMPS 135 OK - Starting Trial

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Well, Maggie's still messing with our heads I can tell!!! After +7 bg of 112 she had a teeny amount of Turkey with Turkey Broth bb as a treat for the ear prick. I gave her a snack of Sophisticat Seafood Dinner which she didn't eat much of it but sucked the juice! She has developed a scab on her one good pricking ear, so I'm having a hard time getting a drop. She was doing so good. The Sophisticat Seafood Dinner (4 carbs on Binky's list) is relatively new food added, so I'm thinking I will just stick to Sophisticat Chopped Grill. I don't think it is the Pure Bites freeze dried chicken adding to the spike. So I guess we give a shot, right! :(

Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19406
 
Re: 7/11 Ann & Maggie +7 112; AMPS 140

I think it's your call. If it were me, I'd figure Maggie was telling you something and I'd wait.
 
Re: 7/11 Ann & Maggie +7 112; AMPS 140

Morning Ann & Maggie! I don't think the chicken would add anything to the numbers. I vaguely remember someone else saying that they used the Sophistacat seafood....uh..maybe it was Brain & Podo...and he noticed higher BGs afterward.
Can you get a +4 to see how much lower she goes with the full 4 hours after eating?

When Raja began her first trial, her numbers were creeping up into the blues so on the 13th day, we talked about aborting the trail and giving her the little help with the .10u or something. After a couple of weeks, she began her successful trial.
What I did at that time was to be sure to feed her 4 hours before the AMBG and PMBG time. Her pancreas had brought her numbers down into the green range then. Try using the lower carb foods with her and see what she does after a couple of hours.

Any luck with the pictures? Maggie is doing very well...I am sure in a short time she will be able to begin her trial and all will be just fine! Does she know you are leaving yet? maybe it's time to have a nice hert-to-heart with her. Tell her what the plan is....LOL. It works with my two.

See you later at Spot's luau, right? It's gonna be a wild party!! W00-W00!!!
 
Re: 7/11 Ann & Maggie +7 112; AMPS 140

Sienne and Gabby said:
I think it's your call. If it were me, I'd figure Maggie was telling you something and I'd wait.

Oh! Do you think she's telling me to stop pricking her ear and let's try the trial? confused_cat

Or

Stop giving me that yucky Sophisticat Seafood dinner; I want my meaty Chopped Grill? Inquiring minds want to know? :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 7/11 Ann & Maggie +7 112; AMPS 140

Morning Ann & Maggie! I don't think the chicken would add anything to the numbers. I vaguely remember someone else saying that they used the Sophistacat seafood....uh..maybe it was Brain & Podo...and he noticed higher BGs afterward.
Can you get a +4 to see how much lower she goes with the full 4 hours after eating?

Oh, maybe it's the Seafood Dinner. I just noticed on the can it said ""New Taste", so possibly they changed something, like they did with the FF Classic foods. Uh, her shot is due in about 25 minutes. I got her down to 7:30 am Pacific time to coincide with ps's schedule, so I can get another prick in, but I just did the 140 AMPS 45 minutes ago. she did eat something though - Chopped Grill Sophisticat.
 
Re: 7/11 Ann & Maggie +7 112; AMPS 140

I'm going to buy a one time use digital camera today and start taking pictures. Yesterday was laundry and organizing for the ps.

On another note I'm thinking I could try no shot this morning...but I don't want to mess things up for her!
 
Re: 7/11 Ann & Maggie +7 112; AMPS 140

if you start today, you will need a spotcheck around +3 or +4 to see if the numbers came down after food
 
Re: 7/11 Ann & Maggie +7 112; AMPS 140

Ronnie & Luna said:
if you start today, you will need a spotcheck around +3 or +4 to see if the numbers came down after food


Well, I guess not for the trial and yes for the shot! Not sure what's going on, but I just did another prick and got a bg of 160. This is after eating a snack of Chopped Grill sophisticat. Maybe she's still spiking from the Seafood Dinner. So I will give a .01 shot. Maybe she feels the stress from me of leaving and so many last minute details!
 
Re: 7/11 Ann & Maggie +7 112; AMPS 140; 160 bg

.

I'm adding Libby's instructions for easy reference:


Here's the plan:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If she is <130 (AlphaTrak) at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If she is higher, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then her pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give hier the support she needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.




remember food can spike the BG around +1 and +2 with or without shot....try her around +3 or +4 ok?
 
Re: 7/11 Ann & Maggie +7 112; AMPS 140; 160 bg

Oh geesh! Maybe I jumped the gun and should have waited...but just wasn't sure. I do have to run out but would not be that long, maybe two hours. A bg of 140 is not bad on the Alpha Trak. I think it was the Sophisticat Seafood Dinner spiking her bg. They put a new label "New Taste" and you know they had to add something.
 
Re: 7/11 Ann & Maggie +7 112; AMPS 140; 160 bg

Maggie is doing so well! Don't worry, I probably would have shot that number too. You have more chances to start again on your trial before you leave on Jul 15.

This reminds me a little of what I had to do for my kitty. I had to go out of town right after we started the OTJ trial and it was great for my petsitter (since she wouldn't shoot insulin.) And I wasn't even home when BigMac was official... I saw the party from my parent's house. Sometimes you gotta' do what you gotta' do!

Glad you are getting a little digital camera for some photos. Otherwise, Diahann and I will have to use crayons to draw pictures of Maggie ... and maybe that's not such a good idea. Hahahaha! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 7/11 Ann & Maggie +7 112; AMPS 140; 160 bg

CD and BigMac said:
Maggie is doing so well! Don't worry, I probably would have shot that number too. You have more chances to start again on your trial before you leave on Jul 15.

This reminds me a little of what I had to do for my kitty. I had to go out of town right after we started the OTJ trial and it was great for my petsitter (since she wouldn't shoot insulin.) And I wasn't even home when BigMac was official... I saw the party from my parent's house. Sometimes you gotta' do what you gotta' do!

Glad you are getting a little digital camera for some photos. Otherwise, Diahann and I will have to use crayons to draw pictures of Maggie ... and maybe that's not such a good idea. Hahahaha! ohmygod_smile

Thanks CD and BigMac, lol, she is a gray, black Tabby with orange like mixed colored fur on her fat tummy, just a stubble of a tail as she a Manx mix. But 'll get some pics. You want them before I leave or when I return the 20th of July, well really the 21st as it's an all day travel on 20 Jul.
 
Re: 7/11 Ann & Maggie +7 112; AMPS 140; +3.5 103

Hi,
I'm back after some errands and picking up an egg, spinach and mushroom bagel sandwich at the Einstein's Bagels - best bagels and other food, too. Well, I think she's back on track with a bg of 103 at 3.5, and I am feeding only Chopped Grill. She was waiting by the door asking for food, so I tested her other ear wout the pen, just the Lancet. The pen was hurting her; maybe I have it set too deep. I picked up a Kodak digital one-time use camera for $14.99 and includes a CD and print in the price. Hope they turn out okay.
 
Okay, I am starting the trial tonight. I just tested her PMPS at 135, so I fed and she's getting ready for Spot's party. I forgot that I kept delaying the shot to meet my ps's schedule, but I'm not shooting anyway. So I did this PMPS early before you all went to bed.

Sorry I panicked/wasn't thinking straight and shot this morning. I have your instructions, Libby, printed out. I had them earlier, too. Thanks Ronnie for reminding me and posting again.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
come on, Maggie, stay low....

small meals, ok? We want to make this as easy on Maggie's pancreas as possible.

Oh one thing I forgot. I have an early morning doctor appointment that I need to keep and will be leaving about 7:00 am Pacific time, so I won't be here to monitor for a few hours in the am. I wonder if we will be okay. I was hoping her PMPS would have been lower. She's been a little picky with he food.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
of course she'll be ok if you leave for a little while. goooooo Maggie!!! Good luck with the trial.

Okay thanks Libby. I guess I thought I was supposed to be there staring at her for what reason...I don't know. :roll: Thanks for all your help. We shall see what tomorrow brings! I used up all the 27 pictures in the one-time use digital camera and hope they come out okay. Most were of her sleeping, well, not all.
 
Good luck Ann and Maggie! So excited for you!

I'll be watching for your posts to see how she's doing!
 
kryskat said:
Good luck Ann and Maggie! So excited for you!

I'll be watching for your posts to see how she's doing!

Thanks so much Krys. I don't think it will be long for Kasha as I watch her SS. Have a good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top