7.10 Trouble AMPS 78 PMPS 81, +3 53

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carrie & Trouble

Member Since 2010
Trouble is back on his green schedule which is nice. I am going to have to limit his traveling I see-though his carrier had all the amenities of home. My husband and I just finished adding rock around our shed (Trouble's favorite place to hang out and roll in the dirt and slip under the fence). Trouble came out to inspect our work and walked over the gravel like he was going to tip over. He then proceeded to run back to the house (I'm pretty sure he was shaking his head in disgust). He will have to find a new dirt patch to claim as his own. I'm sure I will be paying for this with many glares and evil meows for the next few days!
 
Re: 7.10 Trouble AMPS 78, +3 68

What great numbers!!

Tight Regulation Protocol said:
Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose.

It looks like Trouble has earned a dose reduction!! Congrats. You new dose is 1.25u.

Please keep posting on a daily basis. We want to be sure that Trouble is able to maintain these great numbers. If the reduction doesn't hold, we'll want to bring the dose back up asap so Trouble doesn't lose momentum.

Are you providing a snack around +8 or +9? Often giving a snack several hours before shot time will cause the pancreas to kick in, produce insulin, and bring numbers down.
 
Re: 7.10 Trouble AMPS 78, +3 68

Yes he gets a snack, Trouble's schedule looks like this:

AMPS 1/2 can LC FF
+3 freeze dried chicken or turkey baby food snack
+6 1/2 can LC FF
+9 freeze dried chicken or turkey baby food snack
PMPS 1/2 can LC FF
+3 freeze dried chicken or turkey baby food snack
+6 1/2 can LC FF
+9 1/5 can LC FF in auto timer

I wasn't sure if he earned a reduction because of the 125 PS a few days ago. Thanks for the heads up!
 
Re: 7.10 Trouble AMPS 78, +3 68

Keep an eye on Trouble's numbers in relation to the baby food. I was feeding Gabby baby food when her tummy was (shall we say....) unhappy. I don't know if it was her not feeling well or due to the baby food, but her numbers jumped up. One of the three ingredients in baby food, besides the protein source and broth, is cornstarch. The latter is high carb. I'm figuring the carb content is around 7% but if Trouble is eating LC, that could easily be double the % carbs that he's now used to.

You might consider a different way of configuring food. Rather than feeding 1/2 can at AMPS and 1/2 can at +6, you might want to distribute most of the food before +6. Right now, you're feeding 1/2 can at around the time that Lantus is peaking so there is less insulin available to bring numbers down during the latter part of the cycle. I would probably feed about 7/8 of the can before +6 and divide that over 3 or 4 mini-meals. The last bit would be a snack at +8 or +9. (Or you could feed the whole can in 3 or 4 mini-meals before +6 and then give a snack like you're already doing at +8 or so.) Feeding more frequently in smaller amounts puts less 'pressure' on the pancreas. The mini-meals will stimulate the pancreas to produce endogenous insulin to aid in digestion/metabolism rather than overwhelm it with a large meal.
 
Re: 7.10 Trouble AMPS 78, +3 68

OK, I can try feeding the whole can before +6. This works great now as I am a teacher and off for the summer, but what happens when I am gone all day? Do I just leave the whole can out and hope he grazes? My guess is he will eat about 1/2 a can before walking away anyway because he is a bit of a piggy, but would probably be back around +3 or +4 to finish it off. My auto timer only has 2 compartments and I have 2 cats which makes spreading out meals a bit of a challenge when away. Any suggestions?
 
Re: 7.10 Trouble AMPS 78, +3 68

Well....school doesn't start til Spetember right? A lot can happen between now and then... :mrgreen: thatz all I'm sayin'!
You could also try out the 5 meal feeder from PetSafe (? I think it's PetSafe)
 
Re: 7.10 Trouble AMPS 78, +3 68

Trouble got a dosecrease! Nice!!
The Petsafe 5 meal automat works nicely. I got the two meal feeder for Spot since I only have to suppliment with two mini meals during the day...he eats at 6 am, mini meal at 9, mini meal at 12, mini meal at 3 and dinner at 6 p.m. Since I'm always home or mom is always home around 3, I only need to do the two meals. works well.
 
Trouble is doing well tonight and is back outside exploring. We had to leave after the pmps, so the new feeding schedule will start tomorrow morning. I'm going to get a +4 on him to make sure he doesn't go too low, but he is generally really consistent after three hours. Thanks to everyone for their advice. I will invest in the auto feeder as soon as the budget allows. Have to take one of my rats, Maggie, in for tumor surgery next week (second surgery in 2 weeks) which was a bit unexpected. Oh well!
 
The timing of meals is very much trial and error. Since you do have more flexibility over the summer, I'd experiment. Take a week and try feeding a different way. If you see a change in numbers, great!

Just as an FYI, I have a PetSafe with 5 compartments. The first one didn't work at all. The 2nd one died after about a month.
 
Congratulations with the dose crease. Trouble is doing so well. You should be so pleased. I had to laugh when he saw your landscaping project. There is nothing cuter then a quietly annoyed cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top