7/10 - Shakespeare - PMPS 195 ADVICE PLEASE

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
ok so is this what you all were talking about?
so here is yeterday
AMPS 429
PMPS - 359
+4 - 329
TODAYS AMPS 85

ok so we know I am not going to shoot an 85
I have meetings all morning and there is no way I am going to make it home
I will wait a half hour and see what his number is then....

To Be Continued!.......

Ok not rising so I changed my course
I am feeding a low carb, I hate to skip a shot but if he is not rising....maybe shoot taoken dose


not sure yet
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - yikes

Wow Denise! :shock:
Shakes wants to keep you on your toes!
Good luck today. Hope there’s not gonna be too much boing boing boing.....
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - yikes

12.75 - 96
ok so he is rising but not that much'
so far our experience is that when he has a low preshot (he has only been in the 200's and 100's once)
that he will continue to rise all day
I am going to wait until 6:15 which is 13.25
and take his blood, I will feed a higher carb maybe 8% today
and not sure what to shoot yet....TBC>>>
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

Gosh, it's your first green in a long time. I would hate to have you skip the shot.
We don't normally recommend both stalling and BCSing together.
What do you think?
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

I hate that he is not rising......I hate to skip so I am thinking shoot ing maybe one unit
I had to feed....what do you think
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

Onset of Levemir isn't until around +4, so he can have 4 hours of eating before this next dose takes affect.
You can give him some MC and leave out some MC, if you choose to shoot.

If you don't feel comfortable shooting, then we all understand. It's your first green preshot.
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

Jack & Jane said:
Dyana, help me out. BCSing...means? Ugh, it;a been too long. I want to help, but I need glossary assitance :-)
Big Chicken Sh*t shot.
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

I need to jump in the shower real quick. Jane, thanks for being here.
I'll be back in a few.
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

ok, 10 minutes after he ate he is 115
does not make me feel better
I think he will continue to rise
I will shoot 2 unitsand feed higher carb...
waht do you think
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

Given his history of rising throughout the day that you describe, and the fact that you can't watch him so very closely, I think your plan sounds fine. Hope other will chime in too. He did rise for you, and seems to be following his trend.

Whatever you do, don't beat yourself up. We're all trying the best we can here. We all know you're trying. OK?
Jane
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

Deep breathe.....exhale....
ok so I shot 2 units and fed 8% carb which he is going to town over..
I am ok with shooting the 2 units because of his history so far....
I will be on pins and needles all day but glad I reduced

Thank you so much Dyana and Jane for being here for me!
off to work as I am late!!

wishing everyone a great day!
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

Good job shooting, Denise.

Deep Breath.

Jane, thank you.
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

Good job, keeping on breathing! Everyone know you're doing the best you can, including your kitty!

We'll be here to keep a look-out. Try not to be stressed all day - chances are, you'll bring that home with you, and even that hooman-stress can affect our darling kitties! Breathe, k?
Jane
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

So..of course I get pulled over this morning and get a ticket!!!! :twisted:
what a freaking day so far!
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

Nice shooting!!

I hope you left extra food out so if the 8% wears off, Shakes will have something to munch on.
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Some people make frozen feeds that they can leave out if they're not going to be home and want to make sure kitty has something to munch on. Vyktor is free fed so I'm not quite sure how they do (maybe just freeze it as is?) it but I'm sure someone will be along to advise.
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

Hi guys .. nice numbers, nice shooting! To bad on the ticket though :evil: Hope it's not to bad .. have a great day!
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

dmartini4 said:
So..of course I get pulled over this morning and get a ticket!!!! :twisted:
what a freaking day so far!
Bright side, Denise.. I'm thinking your day has to get better.:-)
I would have just given you a warning if that helps!
Carl
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

(((denise))) hopefully the rest of your day has gone better!

the timed-feeders are a life-saver for when you have to leave. if you don't have one, i'd encourage you to get one. i use the Petsafe 5 Meal Timed Feeder even when i'm home sometimes. the complaints you will see about this one are that it might not open all the way as it rotates - you just have to make sure and get it seated back on the rotation center correctly. other than that, i think it's pretty perfect.

you can set the times to open whenever you want and 4 compartments are closed. if a cat gets low numbers needing attention, the "recipe" is feed them a little food, wait 30 minutes and test again. repeat until they are up. so if i'm worried about punkin, i'll set it to open at +3, his usual feeding time with his usual second breakfast, then set it for +4, +4.5, and +5, and put food in all of them, which gives him extra volumes of food that he doesn't normally have, reassuring me that he has food available and didn't eat it all at once. he's normally a scarf-er, so i can't just let him free-feed. this lets me not worry about him. we got ours at PetCo cuz it's in town, but they are also available online.
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - not rising

Thanks for all the encouragement!!
well I got to work and I decided to take a half day personal
Got a ticket for overdue registration and I was lucky he did not tow it
so I had a good excuse to tell the boss ohmygod_smile :roll: ;-)
REgistration taken care of and I am home for his +7 which is 193 :mrgreen:
wow and that is only on 2 units and higher carb food...hmmmm
so what does this mean?
reduce?
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - +7-193

WOW, Denise - What an exciting day you've had!!! Way to go on shooting that green! "You're a better man than I am, Gunga Din!"

Sorry about the ticket. Some cops will let you off with a warning, especially for those things that don't generate money for their area. I got a ticket for expired tags, which meant I had to appear on court date just to show I had gotten it taken care of. The jerk lied and said his supervisor had seen my tags and said he had to write the ticket. Truly, I was born at night, but not LAST night. Our city only has about 3 on duty at any given time, including the dispatcher, and 2 are usually at the station. He could've written me a warning and let me get it taken care of it, either way, it didn't go against my license. SOME people!

Hoping this is the start of lots of awesome numbers for Shakes!!!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - +7-193

when you have a chance, your ss needs some updating.

we usually wouldn't reduce a dose unless you see less than 50. having shot a lower-than-usual dose this morning could mess things up for a while. today's numbers are still going to be affected by the previous 3unit dose shed. it can last for a while. with a BCS shot this morning, you would just return tonight to the normal dose and take it from there.

you'll want 6 consecutive shots (starting tonight) of the same dose before you re-evaluate the dose again - unless you see that magic 49 or lower number! looks like this might be a break-through dose for shakes, though. of course, any of us are looking at that 85 and wondering how low he got last night. he may very well bounce from it, because he hasn't seen any green numbers recently!
 
Re: 7/10 - Shakespeare - AMPS 85 - 13.25 - 96 - +7-193

Wow Denise, what a day for you! ohmygod_smile
But at the least Shakes is giving you some great numbers (touch wood, anti jinx).
Hang in there momma!
 
His PMPS is 195
his +7 was 193
so he has not risen at all this afternoon
Honestly I am afraid to shoot 3 units into this preshot
should I shoot 3 units or shoot the 2 units that I shot this moring??
 
I know you are supposed to hold steady but with him not rising today
I did the chicken thing and shot 2.5 units
nailbite_smile @-)
 
I'm sorry, I had company over, and was not logged on. I would have encouraged you to shoot his regular dose.
Too bad that 85 preshot didn't happen over the weekend.
Shakes will be fine. I would start tonight's testing with a +2.
 
We need to get out your big girl overalls!! These are the kinds of numbers you want to see. Compare these blues and greens with the reds and pinks. Show of hands.... Who votes for blues and greens?

All kidding aside, the downside of reducing the dose is that you lose momentum. Lev doses are cumulative -- each dose builds on the previous dose. When you hit a good dose, you begin to see things snap into place. In addition, every time you change the dose, it has an effect on the insulin depot. So, basically what I'm encouraging you to do is to take a deep breath and re-read Libby's note on handling low pre-shots.
 
I kinda know you are right I was just so scared because he didnt bounce
and stayed low all day...
I will try to put my big girl overalls on and shoot 3 units tomorrow nailbite_smile
his +1.5 - 255
 
WOO HOO!!! That's all I can say! Go Shakes!!! :mrgreen: WOO HOO!!!

You KNOW how much we've always envied good numbers. Looks like you might have hit a breakthrough!!!

As hard as it is to shoot into lower-than-you're-accustomed-to numbers, it seems that those experienced voices here KNOW what they're talking about. You should see the IAA cats shooting BIG doses on 150s and even lower. Still scares me - but even when I shot a 273 he did good!!! We gotta listen - it's a WHOLE DIFFERENT band playing at this dance!!!
 
More terminology important when shooting low numbers.

You are doing great Denise, keep on keeping on and yes, definitely breathing!
 

Attachments

  • Balls of Steel 2.png
    Balls of Steel 2.png
    67.8 KB · Views: 650
BUT here is where I am nervous
+1.5 - 255
It is +4(almost) and he is 181
so he is heading down already
hopefully I can get up to get his +7 or 8
 
This is still okay, Denise. You saw a rise from feeding at +1.5, and then the onset of the insulin by +4. According to one of the stickies, this is what you should be seeing:
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

A typical Levemir curve will have an onset at approximately +4 and a nadir around +8 - +10.
Video: Levemir: Mode of Action
However, please keep in mind every cat is different (ECID). Data collection will offer you a better picture of YOUR cat's response to either of these insulins.
The top part applies more to Lantus, but the bottom explains what "typical" for Lev kitties is. If you get that +7 or 8, you should catch him at nadir time. When in doubt, and you need some sleep, leave some food out for Shakes.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top