7/10/Ravan/amps370/+5 280/pmps235/+5 401/

Status
Not open for further replies.
I found this info on My Vets web site. Good to Know! "Caution should be used when initially changing from dry to canned foods as insulin requirements may decrease dramatically; a reduction in insulin dosage may be required."
 
Last edited:
never blindly trust a veterinarian.

Toonces died on June 22, 2006, at home in my arms, after 2 years of living with the devastating brain damage from which he had suffered since his weekend at Kindness Animal Hospital. What happened to Toonces was just the beginning of an eye-opening experience the led to the start of this site. As I connected with bereaved guardians all over the country, my eyes were opened about the real problem of negligent, incompetent, dishonest, and yes -- even abusive -- vets. For individuals who believe their pets have become victims of veterinary malfeasance, malpractice, negligence, or abuse . . .

http://www.thetooncesproject.com/
 
I was studying Ravan's SS. T. I've been told before to increase the dose if I don't see green in a few days.

The previou 2 times he was on this dose, 1.25, His BG dropped Low after 13-14 days . I wonder why it took that long both times?
 
Just got back from the Vet. Ravan has stage 3 Kidney Failure & Pancreatitis I did not expect that. I am so upset

What can I do to help him?
 
Last edited:
Oh JoyBee I'm sorry the news from the vet wasn't better. I don't know anything about pancreatitis. Our civvie, Allen, has stage 2 CKD (amount other problems)

It is recommended to give sub q fluids to a cat with CKD.

There may be meds that your vet recommends. Did the bloodwork include a test for phosphorous level? If not, your vet (or the lab) may still have the blood and may still be able to run the test.
 
Sorry about the diagnosis. HERES a great resources for the kidney issues. You may want to stop the Fancy Feast as it’s too high in phosphorus. Pancreatitis is suspected in one of my civies. HERES some info on that.
Sorry I haven’t been around, I just lost my Colin and have my sick civie, Jack, keeping me busy.
 
I am sorry about the news, :bighug:

Sharon posted some great rsources for you. You might want to get a copy of his Labs and post it. There are people here who can read them. I personally would not give fluids to a CKD cat until the vet says it's OK to do so. Fluids pushed my Neko into heart failure.:(
 
I agree with Wendy about getting a copy of your labs and posting them here.

Do you know what they were basing the diagnoses on? Did they run an SDMA (kidney test) and an fPLI (pancreatitis test)?

Some values on bloodwork can be elevated with a raw diet.
 
@Wendy&Neko

My vet said because Ravan is drinking a lot of water he doesn't need Sub Q.He's been eating good since yesterday & is not vomiting
I scanned his blood work should I just add it to a post? How will anyone know i want them to view it?
 
There is a tab on the spreadsheet where you can enter the lab values. Once you've done that, you can put something like "help with Labs" on your subject line.
 
My heart is just broken for you and Ravan
My kitty baby who has passed had pancreatitis but that is NOT what he passed from, I was so upset I can’t even remember what they did, they did get rid of it though
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top