7/10 Payapa AMPS=HI +9=214 PMPS=401 +2=380 +4=157

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Papaya (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Black and yellow may be good colours for a bumblebee, but I'd prefer Papaya not be in those shades. The slightly reduced meals yesterday didn't have any noticeable effect on her blood sugar, so I won't worry about continuing those meal sizes at an increased dose - although she did decide to eat while I was out, which she almost never does and is a very good thing as far as keeping her blood sugar more stable, so maybe she just needed to be a bit hungrier!

Also I made sure to get a late test in last night to make sure that all these high preshots aren't because she's diving very low late in the cycle when I don't catch it. Nope, she just hit yellow and turned around to go up again. I haven't seen nadirs I like at this dose since the shed drained, especially since starting to feed the slightly higher carb low carb food, so I am going to try going back to the last dose (increase from 2 to 2.25) and continue the higher-carb-low carb as I've been doing. Hopefully it will allow me to see the numbers lower overall without diving low enough to have to decrease again for now. We will see how it goes!
 
Re: 7/10 Payapa AMPS=HI Increase time

Amy --

This is a bounce. For example, the 300 point drop from PMPS to +5.5 is a BIG drop and no doubt, triggered a bounce. Bounces don't occur only when a cat is in low numbers. They can occur with fast drops like the one you saw last night. You can see the same pattern on the other days when Papaya has started out in black numbers -- she drops roughly 300 points by nadir.
 
Re: 7/10 Payapa AMPS=HI +9=214 PMPS=401

Thanks Sienne, I'm familiar with how Papaya drops, she's done it a couple of times ;-) but the thing with her bounces is that they clear, and there is more variety in between. They do not just go down to yellow and back up to black for the next five cycles. EVER.

Marje suggested (as to knowing when a reduction has failed):

"On the reductions, I think the best advice I can give you is to not get attached to a dose. Stay on top of your reductions and If you reduce and she stays in yellows or higher, take her back up. If she comes back down into blue, maybe give her just s little of time and see how she does.....you should be able to tell in four or so cycles."

Also, I see Papaya's eyes are looking pink, which they do when she spends too long in high numbers. Finally, at the previous "good" dose of 2.25 which ended up dropping to numbers that require a reduction, I was feeding 4% carb. I am now feeding 7% carb. While I admit to not being omniscient, I feel there is a good basis for going back up to the last dose that had her spending time in any good numbers, and seeing how the slightly higher carb food works to level out the cycles. If she hits 40, I'll reduce. Thanks for following Papaya's condo; let's see what happens over the next few days with the higher dose combined with the 7% carbs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top