7/10 Monty / AMPS 137 / +5 115 / PMPS 155 / Vomit and soft poop

Tom & Monty

Member Since 2020
A little past midnight and Monty has vomited, some hair in the vomit so I'm hoping just a hairball. However, it's a combination of things I'm concerned about:

1. Low appetite for PM yesterday
2. Soft poop
3. Vomit
4. Low PM BG, skipped shot

Two other factors:

1. These are the same symptoms he first presented with his last pancreatitis episode
2. I keep chicken in the fridge to reward testing, yesterday evening I noticed it smelled a bit rancid so I threw it out but he did eat some earlier yesterday so possible food poisoning?

He doesn't appear in distress and was laying on his back purring earlier in the day and had an excellent appetite in the AM.

I'll see how his appetite is tomorrow morning but if he struggles to eat then I'll boil a fresh chicken breast and collect anti nausia from my vet.
 
AMPS came in 137 following a skip last night. Even given he didn't eat much that's still low!

Plan of action today - since he was vomiting, token dose IF he eats at least half his food.
 
Last edited:
Appetite seems to be back this AM, perhaps my theory about food poisoning was right. Delaying injection by 30 minutes to see if he vomits before I shoot a token dose.

Also he was very affectionate in the night around 3am and woke me up purring and wanting some love.
 
Last edited:
No vomit yet, I called the the vet and based on this info her best guess at the moment is mild food poisoning. She told me to monitor and call again if he vomits.

He seems happy at the moment, sleeping on my bed.
 
Getting myself prepared in case it turns out to be a pancreatitis flare.

3 weeks ago my vet gave me 6 syringes of vetergesic (buprenorphine), pre-portioned and ready to squirt onto his gums. They have been in a drawer for 3 weeks as I didn't need to use them, are they still able to be used - does vetergesic "expire"?
 
It's been almost 3 hours since he first ate and no vomit yet, he's also now asking me for more food (I only gav him half a portion) so I can think and hope it was just a blip and were ok.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200710_094844.jpg
    IMG_20200710_094844.jpg
    71.1 KB · Views: 79
I would have kept them in the fridge I think. However I have only used bupe once on Sheba so I am not really experienced with it.
I hope it’s not a pancreatic flare. If he’s eating again that’s good.
 
I’m glad Mindy seems to be feeling better. I have a black who sleeps on her back the same way - her favorite position.

I’ve never been told to refrigerate buprenorphine. I usually get dark opaque syringes that come in a paper bag. My vet always said to just keep it in a dark place. Mine stay in the paper bag, in a drawer or closed cabinet. I believe it has a pretty long shelf life if stored correctly. Check with your vet to be sure.
 
Wooo +5 115 on pet meter, that's in the healthy range an hour before nadir on a token dose!
 
Last edited:
Back
Top