7/10 Merlin PMPS 337

Im wondering if we should just feed 5 and under for main meals and snacks… This is so strange. Why does he go down sometimes?
 
He could be bouncing for a cycle from the blues in the pm cycle the last couple of days. Sheba used to do that. One cycle would be good and the next higher. He has to get used to the blue BGs again.
What is your feeding schedule now?
 
He could be bouncing for a cycle from the blues in the pm cycle the last couple of days. Sheba used to do that. One cycle would be good and the next higher. He has to get used to the blue BGs again.
What is your feeding schedule now?
Feeding schedule?… +1.5 or +2, or +3 or +4, and sometimes +5, depending on the numbers. We try to feed when the drop is over 50-60 in the hour, but we dont feed if he’s still too high, even if he drops a lot, and it’s different carbs according to the occasion. This is what makes the whole thing unimaginable as a regular daily occurrence with a schedule in the future allowing us to have lives. It’s been over 50 days of near-constant vigilance, without a good night’s sleep, and it is driving us mad. We try to make sure he gets enough calories, if the feeding fits in with the cycle and wont keep him from dropping when he needs to drop, from getting too high when he’s already in yellows or reds, or from being hungry before a new cycle begins. He is still losing weight, and that is concerning. He hasn’t been in blue or green enough for the insulin to help. I feel like the last 50 days has been a process of recovering from the overdose of the ignorant and careless vet, and now we start where we are supposed to start, but we are already worn out. Sorry for the venting. It’s just so disheartening.
 
Feeding schedule?… +1.5 or +2, or +3 or +4, and sometimes +5, depending on the numbers. We try to feed when the drop is over 50-60 in the hour, but we dont feed if he’s still too high, even if he drops a lot, and it’s different carbs according to the occasion. This is what makes the whole thing unimaginable as a regular daily occurrence with a schedule in the future allowing us to have lives. It’s been over 50 days of near-constant vigilance, without a good night’s sleep, and it is driving us mad. We try to make sure he gets enough calories, if the feeding fits in with the cycle and wont keep him from dropping when he needs to drop, from getting too high when he’s already in yellows or reds, or from being hungry before a new cycle begins. He is still losing weight, and that is concerning. He hasn’t been in blue or green enough for the insulin to help. I feel like the last 50 days has been a process of recovering from the overdose of the ignorant and careless vet, and now we start where we are supposed to start, but we are already worn out. Sorry for the venting. It’s just so disheartening.
I do know how frustrating it is. :bighug:When Sheba fell out of remission after more than 2 1/2 years, I thought she would go back into remission easily, but she never did and I battled high BGs for a long time.
At the moment until Merlin gets down into better numbers he won’t put on weight.
But I can promise you, he will get into better numbers when we find the best dose for him. At the moment he is still only getting a small dose of insulin. We don’t know what his best dose is, so all we can do is follow TR until we start seeing green BGs …and that will happen!
Until that happens, to try and take some of the pressure off, instead of trying all different carbs and times why don’t you just stick to a carb around 4% for during the cycles unless he has a big drop and then go to a higher low carb and feed at set times. That might take some of the pressure off. If that doesn’t work out, you can easily go back to what you were doing.
What do you think of that @Suzanne & Darcy?
 
I do know how frustrating it is. :bighug:When Sheba fell out of remission after more than 2 1/2 years, I thought she would go back into remission easily, but she never did and I battled high BGs for a long time.
At the moment until Merlin gets down into better numbers he won’t put on weight.
But I can promise you, he will get into better numbers when we find the best dose for him. At the moment he is still only getting a small dose of insulin. We don’t know what his best dose is, so all we can do is follow TR until we start seeing green BGs …and that will happen!
Until that happens, to try and take some of the pressure off, instead of trying all different carbs and times why don’t you just stick to a carb around 4% for during the cycles unless he has a big drop and then go to a higher low carb and feed at set times. That might take some of the pressure off. If that doesn’t work out, you can easily go back to what you were doing.
What do you think of that @Suzanne & Darcy?
My thoughts on this are that... maybe we've been overthinking this whole carb thing. I am not 100% convinced that we know (or can predict) his response to different carbs (that are under 10%) I think that we have seen a difference between something like a 1.4 and a 9.8, yes. But maybe we have stressed too much over small differences in carbs. When he's in pinks and yellows and seems to be stuck there then, yes, maybe just go for the lowest carbs that you have available for snacks. It's been a sort of a guessing game to kind of figure out which carbs to feed and, as I said, I'm not sure we're always making much of a difference. I know this has been tough for you. You haven't been able to settle down into a more regular pattern yet. The last few days though, when he hasn't been doing much, would have been good chances to decompress. I don't mean this in a bad way, because this is very personal and real and DAILY for you, but just know you are not alone in being sleep deprived and often bewildered. There are so many people on this Board who are in a similar boat. It's often the first several months that are so trying for people. Having said that, it really is okay to vent! We really care here! I think most people on this forum can totally relate. If they don't vent, they would probably like to! The problem is, I would like to "fix" this for you, but I can't :-( Things are very different since Merlin's diagnosis, there's no denying that. I do think that you were set back by the whole overdose situation. But what can we do about that now? You have been moving forward though!
 
Back
Top