7/10 Mac AMPS 459 +7 96 +11 128 PMPS 154 +1 315 +2 404 +3 455 + 4.5 423

jillnc1

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...251-pmps-323-3-386-4-338.291975/#post-3192320

Dose increase started last night to 1.75 U

BLUE and now GREEN. Giving Karo Syrup to try to surf better. Trying to avoid a super spike from too much. Will give more if not down at +7.75. His normal Nadir is +5/+6


If Mac does in fact need a dental done, can he be regulated with the ongoing inflammation?

I am going to check with my vet to see at what BG levels is she comfortable doing the dental? He is 16 so I am nervous with him being put under. Having said that he has had post nasal drip in one nostril and some sneezing for awhile which could support the theory that he has a dental issue on that side. He had slight elevated monocytes and basophils which indicated inflammation somewhere.
 
Last edited:
Many use dentists rather than their own vet for dentals as they are willing and have experience with diabetics. There’s info on it. Let me find the link.
 
We see a lot of people with vets not comfortable giving dentals to unregulated cats. The sad truth is that cats whose mouth is in bad shape are very hard to regulate. It's a chicken and egg situation. A dental vet specialist is used to working with more complicated animals. Ask your vet to give you a referral to a dental specialist if he/she won't do it. Has your vet said Mac needs a dental?
 
We see a lot of people with vets not comfortable giving dentals to unregulated cats. The sad truth is that cats whose mouth is in bad shape are very hard to regulate. It's a chicken and egg situation. A dental vet specialist is used to working with more complicated animals. Ask your vet to give you a referral to a dental specialist if he/she won't do it. Has your vet said Mac needs a dental?
At his recent bi-annual exam on visual exam he did not have any teeth resorptions. He does have tartar but no gingivitis. I have been the one to hesitate getting a dental, but the vet believes dentals are good for pet health.
 
Dental xrays may identify what can't be seen by eye. Neko's dental vet specialist always does a visual inspection first, and he found things on the xray (needed tooth removal) that he couldn't otherwise see.
BLUE and now GREEN. Giving Karo Syrup to try to surf better. Trying to avoid a super spike from too much.
Put away the karo unless he gets much lower. When they first hit green, give a couple tsps of his regular LC to try to get him to surf. Especially later in the cycle, when the insulin effect is starting to wear off, you don't need a lot of carbs to bring him up. Pill pockets are also high carb.

Nice to see that green though.:)
 
Dental xrays may identify what can't be seen by eye. Neko's dental vet specialist always does a visual inspection first, and he found things on the xray (needed tooth removal) that he couldn't otherwise see.

Put away the karo unless he gets much lower. When they first hit green, give a couple tsps of his regular LC to try to get him to surf. Especially later in the cycle, when the insulin effect is starting to wear off, you don't need a lot of carbs to bring him up. Pill pockets are also high carb.

Nice to see that green though.:)
I had given him LC food for a couple of hours after he started dropping fairly fast. When he hit 87 in +7.5 well past his normal nadir I wanted him to surf a bit so I gave him a bit of the Karo. he seems to be surfing in the low-mid 100's for last few hours. I also wanted to be able to shoot tonight. Speaking of which I would expect to shoot if he is over 150. If he is less than 150 what do you recommend?
 
When following TR, people will shoot if over 50. This Sticky Note lists the options:
Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers See the section on handling lower preshots. What's best will depend on where he is at PMPS, and your ability to monitor tonight. Looks like he's breaking a bounce so could be active tonight too.
So Mac went up a bit from + 11 to PMPS of 138.

I waited 15 minutes and retested. He was on his way up to 154 so I shot 1.5 U. And will monitor tonight. Fingers-crossed
 
Last edited:
We don't usually both stall and reduce the dose, do one or the other. I'm not particularly fond of the reduced dose method, as the depot of the previous dose will heavily influence the first part of the cycle - so it might play out like you shot the full dose anyway. However, looks like a big time bounce! :rolleyes: Not surprising since he's not used to green. Think of tonight as data gathering when you shoot lower numbers.
 
We don't usually both stall and reduce the dose, do one or the other. I'm not particularly fond of the reduced dose method, as the depot of the previous dose will heavily influence the first part of the cycle - so it might play out like you shot the full dose anyway. However, looks like a big time bounce! :rolleyes: Not surprising since he's not used to green. Think of tonight as data gathering when you shoot lower numbers.
yes and reinforce my confidence in shooting after a low cycle.
 
Back
Top