7/10 Latte AMPS-536 - A/C summary (long)

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19311&p=191428#p191428

Well those amps tell a lot...lots of treats, ice cream, reduced shot, extra steroid (more than I meant to give), and pain.

latte and I had the best evening as possible. I sat with her and read every single post from yesterday. I gave her a few temptation treats, which she was able to pick up, after every 5-10 posts and some skritches. I then showed her some OTJ videos and a few Utube music videos from my phone (she actually watches...or pretends). She got some vanilla Hagan Daaz Ice cream, which she has not been allowed since her FD diagnosis. Before that, I would only ever get ice cream with vanilla in it, because she loved it so much. She liked to share. At one point she was meowing excessively. After trying numerous things (water, various foods), she settled with a piece of chicken the size of my thumb. She accumulated hours of chin and ear skritches thru yesterday.

I tried to lay down next to her for some cat naps, setting my alarm every 45min- 1.5hrs. She insisted on having my hand lay touching her, or again she would meow excessively. Eventually after missing an alarm and sleeping maybe 2-3hrs, I saw she turned herself back to the 12 oclock position. I dont know how she did it. I think she was hoping she could get to the LB. *sigh*

Sadly, I see no improvement. She cannot sit up still, exept for an occassional few seconds. Obviously she cannot stand. It was really hard to get up this a.m. and not have my girl jump up all happy, if even for a few minutes. Its hard to say if its the bupe or if she looks depressed. Could be a bit of both. She did eat a little chicken and some treats, 1/3 jar babyfood, as well as drank some milk/water mixture off a tsp before her shot. I got a few purrs out of her, but also a number of meows...like she wants to go somewhere and is frustrated. I have not seen her try and stand up since some time early last night. Im wondering if she has given up on that. She has also peed a few more times, and Im trying to figure out the best way to change what she is laying on. Mainly she is hitting a pee pad that I can pick up...but some excess urine has gone onto her bedding. Sometimes after eating she is licking her paws to clean, and occassionaly cleaning her face.

I gave her full dose of insulin, for obvious reasons. I hope she is able to come down into the 200-300 range. I know at least something will feel a little better if she does.

I guess all we have in store today is continuing to try and keep her comfortable, offer food and water every hour or so. I was really hoping for some improvement overnight. As you can guess, Im looking for every little sign, Im also becoming quite scared and trying to find some peace in my heart while spending almost literally every moment by her side (she meows excessively if Im gone more than a few minutes...like while Im typing this...because she wanted food - 1/4 jar baby food YA!).

Her regular vet is in today, so I have left a message for him to call so we can touch base and talk about her situation.

Below is more on the Animal Communicator, for those interested:


How is Latte doing/feeling...in general, but most specifically today?
She is in pain. She is having a hard time breathing (in general), almost like in a paper bag. Its hard to get clean air and enough oxygen. She likes how Im trying to keep the air more clean and cool - that has been helping. Her left, top molar is in pain. And her spine - from head to tail hurts very bad. Pain rated in human understanding around a 6 or 7 (she was due for more bupe).

Was her pain better earlier today?
Yes, earlier it was closer to a 3.

Did the Pain medication help?
Yes, she thinks so. But not so much at the moment (she was due for a shot of bupe).

What can I do to help her right now/today - in her pain?
She did not know. She couldnt think about it. She was hurting to much. She had no energy to think of the answer, it was to hard. She did say it was minimized by just sitting with it, and not getting all wrapped up in the pain. She has no expectations from moment to moment about the pain. Her current pain is not sustainable and she does not know if this is a setback or the end.
(we went back to this later and she thought *maybe* being brought to the LB, but was not sure...eating off a spoon...and maybe drinking off a spoon, possibly flavored water was good. At this point the only thing I had been able to get her to drink WAS flavored water - with milk).

What does she LIKE about being here?
She likes having me nearby. Less is more. she likes to be peaceful. She likes how Im keeping the air cooler - its a better thing. No big complaints.

What does she NOT like?
She does not like to be handled - picked up or held. Less is more (again). She does not like loud noises or bright lights. Very sensory sensitive.

IS there something wrong with her food? WHy is it so hard to get her to eat?
Nothing is wrong with the food. She likes it all. But she gets an upset tummy after eating a lot of times - not specific to any food. She likes when I bring it to her, but also wants it removed when she is done because the smell makes her feel sick. Latte was asked about her initiating laying next to the food (kibble, Im guessing?) and what I was suppose to do about it. Latte said move the food. :lol: :roll:

Why will she not eat her regular food off a spoon? Why only baby food?
She doesnt know, but she would try eating regular food 'for me'. :YMSIGH: She would like food offered maybe every 3-6hrs.

Is there anything I can be doing differently to help her with any of her ailments?
She didnt know. All of the pain and discomfort just seems to be one, not related to any specific disease or condition.

Why does she like to lay in certain spots (I didnt mention bathroom or piano, LOL)?
Because she just does.

Why, if she likes the cooler/less humid air does she like to lay in a room far away from the air?
Sometimes its too intense where the a/c is. She likes to just have the cooler air 'around' her, and know its there.

Will she be able to give me a sign when she is ready to go?
Latte did not answer initially. Supposably she asked a follow up question, wondering how she was suppose to know that her body was shutting down and was not going to wake up? (that made me sad - so innocent). I clarified my question to specify letting me know if I needed to put her to sleep. She said she thought it would be clear to me when she was dying. She mentioned again that she did not know if right now was that time. She said today (yesterday) was not, but she did not know what the days ahead would bring. Apparently, in a cat type of way, she said she was spiritually ready to die.

I asked her to tell Latte how much I love her.
She said Latte appreciates all the love I give and feels a special bond with me. The AC noted numerous times in the conversation it was obvious Latte felt very close to me.

I told her to let Latte know that when she was gone I would miss her so much, think of her every day, and probably be very sad...but I would be okay. I had her tell her how grateful I am to have her in my life.
Latte responded in a similar fashion as the above question, but also said she had not really thought about that...about dying and how I would feel ( :lol: --that made me chuckle).

*I was sitting next to Latte during this time. For the first time all day she became very vocal (could have been that I was on the phone), and rarely took her eyes off me.

*it was said many times that Latte's answers were somewhat foggy and a bit incoherent. At the end of the conversation when I brought up the medicines she was taking (bupe), she thought it was possible that had something to do with it.

*Most of what I was told I kind of knew already (likes/dislikes). I think the next time Latte is seen by a vet I will have them look at her front, left molar. If anything seems wrong with it, then I may get a little wigged out. For now, Im taking what comforts me. And letting the rest just sit.

*would like to add a special thanks to Amy's Winston for the opportunity to do this. I dont know if the timing was good or bad. I think it was meant to be, tho ((((((((amy)))))))
 
Re: 7/10 Latte AMPS-536

carolyn, I am so glad that you were able to spend the evening with latte last night, just loving on her. It sounds like she got all her favorite treats which is something I'm sure she loved. I hope you see an improvement today in her physically and I hope you get those numbers that you are wanting to see.
 
Carolyn,
Hard to type thru the tears, my heart just breaks for you. Wish there was something to say/do to make this all better. I can't imagine what you are feeling. I guess just know that Latte knows how much you love her and want to make her feel as good as you can. You are such a good Mom to her. You are doing the BEST you can o:-) , and she knows that.
I hope with more rest today she will start to feel a little better.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon

Jan and Buddy
 
Hang in there ((((((((((Carolyn)))))))))) I know what a back spasm can feel like. for poor Latte who doesn't understand it it must be so hard. All you can do id keep her comfortable and let time heal. Take care of yourself too. she is such a sweety and your presence is so comforting for her.
 
this is heartbreaking but at least Latte is home with you and she got all her fave treats. I am praying so hard for improvement.
 
Thank you so much for posting this update Carolyn..... :YMHUG: I am glad she is accepting the food you give her. have you tried the yogurt again? My heart goes out to you both hearing he struggle with the LB issues and not being able to stand or sit. Oh...this is just so difficult.
How strange that the A/C was scheduled for last night....and the fears of what she would say to you that you shared earlier on in the week. Hmmmmm....interesting responses from your little girl, no? And the way she became very vocal and kept her eyes on you. It seems that she is not asking you to DO anything for her right now except to BE there for her, quietly offering her food and something to drink. Just what you have been doing. That is so good though, isn't it? So great that Amy came over with all those goodies too...what an angel ~~and the gift of the A/C was so sweet too....

I wonder if her vet will have something to add today when you speak to him/her.

It is interesting that she is moving around in the way that she can right now...somehow getting into a different position. And she is cleaning her paws and head and doing as much as she can. As I said before, the memory of her little face right before she hurt herself is unbearable to you....but, if she had done this while you were not home, you would never have know what had happened.....
The day was a nightmare for you both. Rest will help her now and healing will take time. I appreciate hearing from you as I am sure everyone is....we love you guys so much. I will continue praying for Latte's recovery....and for you too...

Shadow wanted to send Latte a little something....one for now cause she really needs to rest. But he knows how she loves these feathers.....we are all thinking of you both.... HUGS to you (((((Carolyn & Latte)))))
images
 
I don't even have words...

I'm just going to focus on the practical. The steroids that you have her on for other reasons may also help with her back. They have an anti-inflammatory property and with human back injuries, steroids are often a drug of choice along with pain killers or muscle relaxants. For any kind of pinched nerve/muscle spasm, it can take several days for the pain to begin to abate. It's not an on-off sort of thing. The muscle spasm may stop, but the tissues are still damaged/inflamed and moving will still hurt until the inflammation and/or swelling subside. It's why not moving feels better. (Think in terms of a sprained ankle.)
 
I too, have tears all over my face.
I hope and wish that you continue to find tiny improvements today.
:YMHUG: You're the best mom, Carolyn.
 
Carolyn, you are such a good mama and your love for your baby is so, so obvious. It's just heartbreaking to think of what a difficult time you are having right now. All I can offer are prayers and good thoughts for both of you. Love your baby every moment and spoil her rotten.
 
Tears, tears, tears from being touched by you and Latte.
Watching the love you have for each other ...

Don't forget to tell her funny Latte stories from the old days.
 
My heart is breaking for You and Latte!
It's so sad and I just hope and pray that You see some improvement soon!
Lots of people are pulling for You,Latte!
 
((((Carolyn and Latte))))

thank you so much for sharing that update and the conversation with the A/C.

You're in our thoughts and prayers... my heart is aching for you.

Sending peaceful healing vines to comfort your little girl. And a blizzard of snowflakes to make her feel cool and comfortable again...
 
((((Carolyn))))) Thank you so much for updating us. I just hate to think about you and Latte suffering, but I am so glad you are getting to spend this time with her. I am still hopeful she will turn the corner and her back will feel better. Sending healing energies and white healing light to Latte and comfort to you.
 
I have no words that could possible comfort you or Latte. Just know that we are all here for you. Sending as much positive white light and prayers can be a very powerful thing.
 
Dear Carolyn, Thank you for updating us. I can imagine how difficult all of this is for you and for Latte. It is wonderful that you were able to share so much with her last night. Focus on the good things and let them refresh your mind and spirit. Latte loves you so much and knows how much you are trying to help her. We are continuing to think good thoughts and are hoping for an improvement in Latte's condition. From what you write, there is some improvement (eating, cleaning her paws and face), so concentrate on the little successes and larger ones will happen when the time is right. Back things take time to heal.
So, Stu just picked a bouquet of healing vines and is sending them to Latte with lots of love. And we both are sending blizzards of snowflakes to keep her comfortable. Keep positive! A little rest will help you both and I hope you will be able to get some this afternoon.

Many Hugs,

Ella & Stu
 
(((Carolyn))) I have no healing words and no way to help you, but I just want you to know that you are both close in my thoughts and prayers. The bond that you and Latte share is awe inspiring. Your posts bring tears to my eyes. The love that is wrapped around the two of you is full of healing energy. You are not alone. You are surrounded by friends.
 
(((((Carolyn and Latte))))) I just got caught up on everything today and sit here with tears reading your posts. I will keep you both in my thoughts and prayers.
 
I was so happy to read the A/C report, because I hope it comforts you. You are doing all you can, and Latte feels surrounded by your love. Whatever happens, your presence helps keep fear from her. I am sending prayers for her quick recovery, and many hugs for you.
 
I am truly at a loss for words.....

I hope you will see improvements today with Latte. It seems to me that there are small ones - the paw cleaning, the purrs, the position changes. Focus on the small ones, the others will follow. A few wrote about back pain and the time it takes to heal. It is true - one takes baby steps. You are doing the best that you can do, your girl knows that. the bond between your both is incredible, and comforting. I wish you and Latte well - you are in our thoughts and prayers.
 
Just stopping in to see how Latte is doing today. Sorry there is no improvement, but please don't get discouraged, some things take longer than others. I hope you found comfort in the A/C's visit.
The love you have for Latte is just so strong and the pain in your heart you have right now is just as strong, if not stronger. All of us are here to help you through this and we are sending you strength vines and blankets of snowflakes and blizzards of snowflakes and tons and tons of hugs.
 
Hi Carolyn

took me a while to reply. Your post this morning had me all tied up, so I thought I would come back later in the day.

The AC conversation is incredible. I'm always amazed at these things and the way they unfold. I am thinking lots of you and Latte, as we all are, and praying for Latte to pull through this tough time.

I am wondering how your day went, how is she? How are you doing? Update when you are up for it ok?

Lots of soft snowflakes for Latte
snowflake.gif
 
Just stopping in tonight to see if you updated on your day. Golly Carolyn...I feel so bad for you two. I am praying that Latte was able to rest today and that you both took it easy and relaxed with each other.
It will take time....we would all love instant feels better results, but those just don't come sometimes.
Well, I am sending hugs to you both...Shadow and Raja do too (that's 6 hugs you know!!)
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
((Carolyn))
Stopping by to see how you and Latte are doing today.
I have not stopped thinking about you all day.

I have to say I did not know what you meant by AC at first.
I think that reposrt was incredible.
I used one when Max first got sick and had stopped eating. What I was told was
truly amazing. Wish I had that gift.

Big hugs and hoping for some news.
 
Hi All,
Sorry for the delayed evening update. The rotissare fairy stopped by with a TURKEY for Latte after her shot. Latte (and I) were extremely grateful. I have to say its difficult to post often because the computer is in a different room, and Latte is literally requiring 24/7 care. On top of the fact that if Im not in the room, she meows excessively -either wanting me there or needing something. I will see if I can work on moving the computer tomorrow, maybe!

Housekeeping stuff...I increased her insulin a drop to a f1.5. If she continues high in the next few cycles, I may even consider increasing it a bit more. She hit 300 @ +6, but thats all I know about today other than AMPS and PMPS. I cant believe Im not batting an eye at the increase(s), but I can deal with a low much better than the consequences of her sitting high (infection returning...not able to pill an a/b...the excessive urine issue...not enough fluids...etc).I WILL work on filling in my ss soon - maybe tomorrow. Its just not top priority right now. Sorry. I also increased her bupe ever so slightly, and may increase it more tomorrow.

So not a whole lot new. Latte spent the day on her right side, like yesterday. She had gotten herself into a position facing her LB early this a.m. and spent all morning watching imaginary friends. Her dialated eyes darted back and forth, ears moving a bit, along with some talking and reaching out with her front paws. I dont know what the heck she thinks she see's. Its kinda funny, but also kinda creepy. :? She ate well this a.m. (2/3 jar bf, 2-3 pieces of chicken the size of my thumb, and a dozen or so temptations). She also drank, what I would guess to be almost 1/2 c milk/water mixture. This evening she has had 1/4+ milk/water and a good amount of turkey, along with half dozen treats. I will continue working on the baby food. its just really hard (and messy) when she wont lift her head.

Around 11am Latte got very restless. She is fully alert (minus being so stoned), showing interest in eating, WANTS to use her LB, wants to drink, is very receptive to petting, etc. I think she finally decided she wanted to move. She spent an hour working on sitting up, only to fall back down. Eventually she did it and sat there for quite a few minutes. She managed to get her feet under her a little...enough to drag herself a few inches. This happened all so fast, I dont know how she did it, but she got her front paws on my bed (which is on the floor). At that point all I could do was lift her up. She turned and looked at me like, "ya...its under cover time!". Only problem, she was laying ON the covers. She immediately wanted to get down, which was the hard part. I treid to help and got hissed at a lot. We took breaks. She cried and looked at me for help. Evenutally I had to bite the bullet and just very quickly lift her and put her down on her spot. After that, she FINALLY (I think) slept for a few hours. And without her meowing for a few hours, I got to take a nap myself! :mrgreen:

We tried a litter box excursion, because I think she may need to poop. That didnt go over very well. I think that exhausted her, too. Im VERY concerned about the poop part. I have not been able to give lactulose because of her positioning. Even if she does not get constipated, I dont know how she is going to go. And if she gets compacted, I cant see how they could get it out without needing to put her under due to the pain it would cause. Did I mention how concerned I am about this????? So very worried. :YMSIGH:

She is doing a good job peeing the best she can on her pads. I cant get them under her, but lay them under her tail. She lifts her tail and usually gets most or all the urine on the pad. Unfortunately when she got on the bed today, I caught a first glimpse of her right side and it is soaked. Honestly, right now - there is nothing I can do about it. :sad: she cries a lot before and after she pee's. I think she does not like doing it that way. I tell her each time what a good girl she is, and that its ok.

I did speak to her vet this afternoon. Mr Optimistic was, well...fully aware that its up to her at this point and there is little left - if anything we could do. He didnt even know how to address the poop concern when I brought it up. He offered acupuncture on Monday as an option, and gave me a number of someone he thought was a healer (she is not after looking at the website). He also told me he would check his email regularly for us the rest of the weekend. He made sure I had everything I needed to get by until Monday.

So, here we sit. Waiting for Latte to either pull another miracle or not. I dont doubt she could eventually heal. What I am most concerned about are complications due to her other conditions because she is not self sufficient at all. She may not be able to make it as long as it would take to heal. The continued prayers, snowflakes, vines, reiki, whatever you have is most appreciated. I dont want this to sound icky, but in addition to wishing get well thoughts, I think it would be very helpful for her to receive some general "its okay whatever happens" thoughts. Know what I mean? :? Im not giving up hope. But I am becoming pretty realistic with this and QOL.

Im going to read some more posts to her tonight, and continue to spoil her with nummy treats. She is getting restless right now, so I should go sit by her - watch, pet , and talk about whatever she wants to talk about. :lol:

Thank you everyone, soooo soooo much!

OH - WBR :lol: :
I remembered to eat today! I got almost a 2hr nap when Latte decided to sleep a bit. I have not cried as much today, which is helping me see things a little more clearly and deal with the moment to moment stuff better. Honestly, Im scared. Im very guardedly optimistic. And Im very grateful I have the ability to spend every minute with her right now.
 
Thanks for the update Carolyn. Actually, I've been thinking about the poop issue too. I hope you can somehow help her to have a soft and easy to expel poop without tummy upsets. Doesn't milk make one more constipated? just thinking out loud.. ETA: Can she have just a tiny bit of Miralax?
It is a God send that you have this week off to be with her. I am wishing you and Latte all the best, and yes, a speedy recovery :YMHUG: It sounds like she is trying, and that is good. Little bits at a time. :YMHUG:

I can only offer you hugs and support, wishes and all my prayers and thoughts.. and you're getting a lot of them :-D
 
thank you for the updates, Carolyn. Keep doing what you are doing, Latte loves you and understands what you are doing to help her.
 
Hi Carolyn. I just wanted to stop by and say that you and Latte are so much in my thoughts and prayers. Your little lady is truly a warrior princess and my little warrior princess Tori and Iare so rooting for you. If any kitty in the world can overcome this its Latte. There is no doubt in my mind. Wishing you both a good restful sleep tonight.
 
Thank you for updating again Carolyn. I feel powerless, which is probably how you feel but even more so. Sometimes no matter what we do or how much we want it, it isn't in our hands to decide. But I can still pray that in the morning Latte will be her old self and feel good again. Sending you and Latte healing energies and white healing light.
 
Carolyn-Thanks for the update, just wanted to say that pain meds are constipating so a tiny bit of miralax someone suggested might help with the poop issue--Lactulose is very hard on the system, maybe ask the vet-
Right now I think you should take a wait & see position..Be the loving caring momma you have always been.
What to do will become clear in the days ahead--Just sending support, love, & billions of healing snowfllakes..and of course, HUGS~!
 
Hi Carolyn, I’m still new to LL.

I’ve been checking for your updates all day yesterday and today. I understand your pain. My Grip is recovering from a torn ligament in his back knee (7 weeks ago), it was heart breaking to ear him cry when he was trying to get up (he was on Metacam also and I hope he is OK, he’s been off it for 3 weeks now). It's so nice to see him walk around now without his bandages.

It may take some time for your Latte to heal but she is lucky to have you to care for her… A little at a time, she will get there... cat_pet_icon

Hope and praying for you and Latte. Take care…
 
Carolyn,
I have also had luck with Miralax for my constipated civie. It needs lots of water in the system to work, and my understanding is that it is not to be used if there is already a blockage. It is more of a preventative. You can give 1/4 to 1/8 tsp twice daily.

Is it possible to get Latte into sort of an upright position by allowing her to put weight on her front legs, and then making a sling from a towel, and positioning it under her abdomen, and then holding her upright without weight on her back legs? I have seen dogs with broken hind legs supported like this. Being in an upright position might stimulate her to poop.

And, as requested, I am sending "It's OK whatever happens" vines. You two have fought long and hard, and you will never doubt that everything that could be done was done. Your love for each other will go on, even if you decide together that her fight here on earth has gone on long enough. I am sending prayers for miracles, for strength, and for guidance in choosing the path you wish to follow.
 
I know I'm bumping this up to the top of the page but I'm sure no one will mind. Just got a chance to drop in this morning to get your update last night. It does seem like Latte is having a little bit of progress and I hope as each day goes by there is more. I know the poo problem has you worried. I think the sling under the belly is a good idea if Latte can tolerate that.

Not much more I can say that hasn't already been said. I am sorry, Carolyn. I know this is such an emotional toll on you. Sending healing vines, poo vines, hugs, blankets of snowflakes, and "it's ok what happens vines" to you and Latte.

I'm thinking that Latte may not be up to a Pool party today, but she will be thought of by all the kitties that come.
Love you two.
 
carolyn, i'm sending it's okay to let her go vibes to you, too. kitties are very practical and i don't think they'd have a problem letting go. they stay for us sometimes, despite needing it to be over.

i'm not quite at the same stage as you, but after fighting so hard for my own little girl i'm not sure how much more i can take of it. it is very very hard. the financial expense is horrible but it is not the worst thing. the worst thing is the emotional and spiritual toll it can have on us, wanting to do the right thing if they can possibly get better but not wanting to prolong suffering if they cannot. when one thing after the next happens, it can just break us.

i firmly believe kitties tell us when it's time. maybe not by meowing but just looking like it's the end. i saw it with piggy, where it was clear that he just couldn't go on like he was.


back to her spine and what's going on, is she on gabapentin? the area around my spinal cord is very compressed from a prior injury, and at times i can barely move. gabapentin has so far been the only thing to help, and i know some kitties take it, too. i've also heard good things about accupuncture, so i think it's great that the vet offered.

how bout mirtz for the depression? not sure if it would make her more anxious/meowy, but it really perks cleo up when she's depressed and not eating.

wishing you and latte quality time and better days...
 
Carolyn - sending you lots of good thoughts, including the "whatever happens, it's ok" ones. I also called my mom last night to have her add Latte to her prayers.

There's a huge force of positive energy here to support you and Latte... I'm picturing a soft cloud of white light to surround and comfort you both.

You're in my thoughts always.
 
Aww, I just read your update, and I think Latte is such a brave little girl. She feels your love and care, and you two have such a heart kitty connection. My prayers and positive thoughts go out to Latte and you. Enjoy every minute with her. Hugs from Maggie and me.
 
Carolyn, I just sat here with tears in my eyes after reading your updates. It breaks my heart that you and Latte are going through this. The love between you two is so obvious and so touching. You are both in my prayers and sending you Glow for whatever is to be with Latte and for this to have the best possible outcome for HER.....sending hugs your way too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top