7/10 Jupiter PMBG/54 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99567

Low AMBG again this morning so we skipped.

I still think all the cats have a decreased appy recently, probably because it has been so hot in the house. It does seem like their appy is a little better at night. Jupiter seems okay today, but he did not eat as much as I would have liked. Will try to offer him food every hour or so.

Todays Numbers:
AMPS-66
Skipped shot
+6-47
PMBG (taken 1.5 hours later then normal shot time) - 54

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-62
Skipped shot
+6-57
PMPS-58
Skipped shot
+3-64
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

Jupiter jumped up onto his cat perch and let out a big yelp.... I tried to check him to make sure his paw was okay but he went under the couch and I cant get him to come out :sad:
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

With his fantastic lower numbers, his appetite will not be as strong. It took Wink no time at all to go from wanting 12-13 of food a day to his more normal 6-8 ounces.

You must be thrilled to see another morning with low numbers. ;-)

He may just have landed funny and hit that sore spot on his back foot just a bit when he jumped. He should be ok.
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

Sorry to hear about Jupiters yelp. I hope he is okay. Hears sending appy vines to all today. He has such wonderful numbers lately.

Have a good day Jamie. I know it is so hard to wait for surgery.
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

Be patient with Jupiter hiding under the couch. Wait for him to come out on his own. He's probably more scared than hurt.

Sweet talk him. Tell him what a good boy he is and reassure him he is ok. Keep that positive, upbeat tone in your voice and a smile on your face when you are talking to him. That will make Jupiter feel more confident and maybe come out from under the couch.

Do you think you can do that? Talk with a smile on your face, even though you are so worried inside?
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

I finally got him to come out from under the couch.. tried offering grass and he didnt want it (maybe it didnt have that fresh grass smell because it was in a sandwich bag from last night) so i went outside and got him a few fresh pieces and he came out (we keep some in a bag for when I am not feeling well and we need to coax him out)

so I am thinking you are right Deb - he must have landed funny. I am thinking he put pressure on the spot.... its bleeding just a little near the scab...like right beside the scab it almost looks as if the blood is coming from under the scab....

I put a little neosporin on it... and he did not like me touching it but I kept giving him grass to distract him... since he sat on the bed when I was done... I think all the neosporin is on the bed now...

I am really relieved he finally came out from under the couch cause I was so worried and wanted to check on him
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

Beautiful AMBG! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Sending vines to Jupiter and big hugs to you. Good idea to put neosporin on his leg. Too bad it got on the bed but at least the bed won't get an infection. :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

:lol: :lol: I dont care that it got on the bed.... He already has blood stained on this sheet from his paw. I just wanted it to stay on his paw to help him.... i put a dab more on but i think he purposely laid down on the carpet weird so it would rub it off onto the carpet


thank you all for the visits


yes i am loving these green numbers still!!!


well and now hes hiding in the couch again


and when i say in the couch.... i literally mean "in" not "under"
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

I am not liking the way it looks.... I dont know... I am going to try to take a pic later and post it....
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

Maybe he scraped it more when he jumped up? Hope he keeps some of the neosporin on it. Jupiter has some beautiful numbers!!!!

Calming vines for you Jamie, hoping the 18th comes fast!!!
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

he keeps hiding under the couch... he is worrying me today.... i am really trying to stay calm though...


thank you all for the visits
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

Hi Jamie,

I got the pics and will post them.

I'm going to combine today's with a couple from the other day, so you can compare them.
This is from a few days ago:

And these two are about the same angle, from today:




To me it looks "bigger"? It could be because of the coloring too, because there wasn't so much black the other day. (scab?)

More on the way.
 

Attachments

  • abcjupepaw2.jpg
    abcjupepaw2.jpg
    561.8 KB · Views: 990
  • jupalupa 016.jpg
    jupalupa 016.jpg
    459.3 KB · Views: 987
  • jupalupa 017.jpg
    jupalupa 017.jpg
    498.7 KB · Views: 998
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

These are more of a "side view".

A few days ago:

Today:
 

Attachments

  • abcjupepaw4.jpg
    abcjupepaw4.jpg
    751.8 KB · Views: 986
  • jupalupa 013.jpg
    jupalupa 013.jpg
    679.6 KB · Views: 1,008
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66

And here are the other 2 from today:





Question after reading yesterday's vet comments...
She said that if it is healed and closed that it should not get infected.

I don't think I agree with that. I had a kitty who had a bad abcess on her face years back. She was on ABs, and it seemed to heal up fine. It was open for a while. I think she was on ABs for a week, and at the end of the week, she looked perfectly fine. A couple weeks later, she was sick again, so we took her to the vet. It turned out that the infection was still "raging" inside even though it looked okay on the outside. Unfortunately, we couldn't get it under control, and she ended up with a lot of damage to her sinus cavities and ended up having to be put to sleep. I am NOT trying to scare you, but I don't believe that just because a wound appears to be healed on the outside, that doesn't mean any infection is gone for sure.

If you touch the area around the sore, does it feel "hot"? Is he super sensitive about being touched there?

Whatever it is that is "under the skin", whether it's an infection, or if it's a tumor, even a benign tumor, I'm thinking that it would get "bigger". And I know the vet wants to address it before it gets too big so that there's enough skin around it to close the wound up. I think I would ask the vet if you can bring Jupe in as soon as possible so she can take another look. She may decide it needs to be taken care of even sooner than the 18th. That's 8 days away.
 

Attachments

  • jupalupa 014.jpg
    jupalupa 014.jpg
    725.8 KB · Views: 976
  • jupalupa 015.jpg
    jupalupa 015.jpg
    742.4 KB · Views: 977
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw looking sore

I would feel the area around the scab, the pink area, to see if it feels warmer than the rest of his foot.

It looks like a few days ago, part of the scab had come off and hairs were stuck to the wound.

It's difficult to tell from the pictures if the pink coloring is from an infection, or from the blood that is inside the raised area.

It looks to be about the size of your fingernail. (Thanks for holding his paw like that so we have something to use as a scale from day to day.)

I'm not seeing much increase in the overall size of the growth/abscess/bump area. The scab portion of the wound certainly does look larger.

With all that fluid in the growth/abscess/bump, it may be very tender and painful to walk on or press on it, like he did jumping on the cat tree earlier today. I'm not seeing any pus in the bump, but it may be hidden under the scab.

Don't know what to tell you for sure. If it's hot and more inflamed then blood color, then another vet visit sooner than later me be in order. And back on an antibiotic perhaps.
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

Does it feel warm?
- infection often feels warm
- - can you take his temperature?

Does if feel squishy?
- an abcess may be squishy due to pus build up
- - abcesses may need to be drained to heal properly

Do you see any red streaks coming off it that extend up the leg?
- this can be a sign of an infection moving into the bloodstream

Any of these suggest checking with the vet.
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

I cant tell if it feels warmer then the rest of the foot because of his fur.... the bump feels about the same temp as his ears though... does that help at all?
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

it doesnt really feel squishy either and when the vet tried to aspirate it for cells all she got was blood no pus..


he does not like me touching his back legs at all
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

I don't have any advice, but whatever that thing is, it has to go! I don't know how you can stand waiting so long - that would drive me nutters! Stay strong and give Jupe an extra hug from us!
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

Hi Jamie--

Gosh I hope that heals up real soon; looks painful--poor Jupe!

I'm sending up some prayers for Jupe (and you!!!)

Kat
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

Lots of healing vines for Jupe tonight. I hope that you can get the vet to take another look at it and maybe schedule the surgery sooner.

Thinking of you and hoping that your weather becomes more comfortable for the kitties and for you.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

Hi Jamie,

Wonder if you can send the vet the pictures, or get an appt? Maybe she will want to move the surgery up, since Jupe isn't on the ABS anymore? I know you want this over, with good news!!

Healing vines to Jupe, calming vines to you!

Jane
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

Hmm, do you all think I should try getting him checked sooner then the surgery?

Its just frustrating because on the phone she acted as if Jupiter is perfectly fine - I am not sure that she would know if hes fine or not.... and she said she didnt want to do the surgery sooner when I talked to her yesterday
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

I do.
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

Question? The surgery was delayed until the 18th so Jupiter could get the full treatment of SBs. Now that you don't have to give the ABs, could the surgery get moved up?

Oops I missed your last post. Whay doesn't she want to do it earlier if he isn't taking the ABs anymore?
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

Ann, if I remember correctly, the 18th was the first day that they could fit Jupiter into the surgery schedule.
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

yeah they said the 18th was the soonest that they could schedule and yesterday on the phone she said she thinks he is fine and that she still wants to wait until 18th to do surgery.. she said she thinks it more important to get him eating right now but i think hes not eating still maybe from pain because after he hurt his paw ... he hid and wouldnt come out to eat i dont know... i also thinks its the weather though... i dont know...
 
Re: 7/10 Jupiter AMBG/66 pics of Jupes paw - opinions?

Sending tons of healing vines to Jupiter.
Sorry, Jamie, that he is hiding and you are so worried.
His foot must hurt especially when pressed, but he doesn't really understand what's going on, and maybe he thinks it hurts every time he comes out and walks about and hurts less when he stay still, and that's why he's hiding?
I hope he'll feel better soon.....
 
Sorry you are having to worry so much, Jamie.

I can speak from personal experience with my lump/spider bite where it swelled up and got infected.
The extra fluid is painful and I'm betting it's even more painful on a bony foot and he doesn't have the thought to keep his weight off of it.
I'm sure he's feeling a lot of pain.

I have to wonder if there are any other vets in your area who might be willing to see him ( 2nd opinions are always a plus) .
You might even get lucky and find one who's better.
It can't hurt to make phone calls. After all, the worst they can all say is no which is where you are now any way.

Hugs for you both.
The waiting is so very hard.
 
Hi Jamie
I'm coming in late on this issue of Jupiter's paw and I think I'm the one that's going to be the pushy one because I deal with kitty issues constantly with my own and the sanctuary. So here goes and please don't take offense. Any hostility you might feel is for your vet. Your vet needs a reality check. Your cat is suffering and it's not her call to say he's okay...you know your baby better than she does...period! First thing, what pain meds is he on? If the answer is none...that's not acceptable. Buprinex is a liquid and derivative of morphine that works beautifully on cats...no taste, easy to administer with syringe (no needle) just place in side of mouth. If he isn't eating much it's probably due to pain/infection. Take away the pain and you have a better chance of getting him to eat.

Sometimes you have to push your way through with some vets. If he needs surgery...sooner the better. And go with your gut. Someone mentioned a 2nd opinion which is a great idea.

Here's what I would do. I would call my vet and say I don't want to wait for surgery since my cat is suffering. I would like some pain meds immediately preferrably Buprinex . If she doesn't respond to your liking then I would ask her to recommend another vet in your area because you want the surgery as soon as possible. Yes I know many people won't do that but I would. It's my cat, my money, my decision. Told you I was pushy about these things.

I know this is something you may hesitate doing but believe me you have to take control on some level because on all levels you are paying the bill and you know your baby.

I hope I haven't overstepped. Just know that I care about the kids not the vet and I have dealt with some strange situations.

Sending you lots of hugs and support.
 
Okay I want everyone to please understand that I am honestly trying to do whatever I can to help Jupiter, and I want whatever is best for him. Please understand that unfortunately my financial situation is really bad. A 2nd opinion is another cost, and although LLEF is paying for the surgery (thanks to the generous donations from LL members) I dont want to pay for an extra appointment unless it is necessary because thats less money for any ongoing care Jupiter may need, less money for any medications, or follow up appointments.

Also please understand that I called around to all the local vets, and most of them could not see him for a week or two. This was the only vet that could see him within the next day or two.

I do really like the vet, but I do not completely understand things she has said. I am trying my best to trust her, but I also want to make sure my baby Jupe is okay.

For example : she said the antibiotics are important. we are stopping them not because they arent important but because they are doing more harm then good.

but if they are important i just feel like they would try a different one. but I have to trust that the vet knows best.



Like I cannot even tell you all how worried I am about him... I have literally worried myself sick.

Its just so hard to know what the right thing to do is.
 
Hi Jamie, You must be under so much stress I'm so sorry, It is hard to have the little ones sick and Jupe little paw looks like it would be so sore. Sending you out healing vines for you guys.
Linda
 
I would call the vet tomorrow and tell them it is getting worse and he is in pain and you would like Jupe to be seen on Thurs. if the staff answers and gives you grief about no appts available, talk to the vet. I think she needs to see it and might need to push the surgery up. I'll let the other LLEF ladies know.
 
Hi Jamie,
I'm getting in late on this, but wanted to add that you do have buprenex in the glass viles that were sent along with the syringes and needles to administer. I don't know dosage for Jupiter, but Mali at 8 lbs or so was getting .25ml between check and gum.
I am sorry for Jupe's and your pain and discomfort and hope you do get an earlier appt.
Hugs
Robert
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top