? 7/10 GUS BG in red Bounce? med or still in pain

Status
Not open for further replies.

elizabeth and gus

Member Since 2015
BG levels are going up. This is very disappointing after 2.5 months blue/green with 0.1 insulin. Something is going wrong. We increased morning dose to 0.75 because BG is so high he must feel really bad after being used to good numbers. He seems more sleepy and is drinking lot of water. This morning he was eating not a lot. He had two BM yesterday and got fluids. I am on a patrol to catch him in LB to get his urine to test for ketons. OMG what is a problem?? Anybody seen such drastic change please share.


upload_2015-7-10_8-21-59.png
 
Hi Elizabeth! I see on 7/2 in your notes he had ear infection and got drops? Is he still getting the drops, and what is he getting. My Chi Chi was given drops that were steroids and raised her bg considerably. I stopped then after 5 days and her numbers dropped. I know its a long shot considering the other issues going on, but just wanted to throw that out there for you. Sending vines for dear Gus, and hope you get some answers soon.
 
Hi Elizabeth! I see on 7/2 in your notes he had ear infection and got drops? Is he still getting the drops, and what is he getting. My Chi Chi was given drops that were steroids and raised her bg considerably. I stopped then after 5 days and her numbers dropped. I know its a long shot considering the other issues going on, but just wanted to throw that out there for you. Sending vines for dear Gus, and hope you get some answers soon.
Laura thank you.

Drops are antibiotic Tresaderm. We stopped using them after two days.
 
Elizabeth, I am a newbie but I do know that tresaderm is a Corticosteroid !!! I do not know if this being a topical would affect a diabetic cat or not.
 
Elizabeth, again I am a newbie but I am one of those that looks at things to see whats different ...So When I went over your SS I found something interesting. Now remember I am newbie to all of this but I think its worth noting and maybe exploring yourself. I can't tell on SS what the actual times are you give your shots to be able to gauge time.....What I noticed is when your kitty also gets pumpkin I notice a rise in BG. the slight rise in blue numbers on the evening of july 3rd seem consistent with his other BG readings, then the next day at NOON he gets pumpkin and I see the rise in BG ..I went back on your SS and it appears to me , double check please, that when he gets pumpkin his numbers rise shortly after...Let me know what you think. Anything is worth a shot. For us humans pumpkin is high on the glycemic scale .
 
Max gets pumpkin at times and it might cause a small spike but this is more than pumpkin can cause. I bet it is due to the infection and the medication.
 
Elizabeth, again I am a newbie but I am one of those that looks at things to see whats different ...So When I went over your SS I found something interesting. Now remember I am newbie to all of this but I think its worth noting and maybe exploring yourself. I can't tell on SS what the actual times are you give your shots to be able to gauge time.....What I noticed is when your kitty also gets pumpkin I notice a rise in BG. the slight rise in blue numbers on the evening of july 3rd seem consistent with his other BG readings, then the next day at NOON he gets pumpkin and I see the rise in BG ..I went back on your SS and it appears to me , double check please, that when he gets pumpkin his numbers rise shortly after...Let me know what you think. Anything is worth a shot. For us humans pumpkin is high on the glycemic scale .
Cindy thank you so much for taking your time to analyze Gus's SS you have great observations and any clue gives me hope.
Gus is very finicky eater and we struggling to have him eat. By now I learned to distinguish inappetance due not feeling good (will not eat favorite treat) and when he is not eating because it is not the food he wants to eat to make matters more complicated his favorite food changes often. Due to his chronic pancreatitis we trying to stay with two different foods. It was Tiki Cat until he stop liking it and Mahi-Mahi was next. So I was mixing the two and it was succes. Both foods have 0 carbs so I believe we started problems with constipation (it may be something else contributing). We used pumpkin in the past but after while he refused it so it was miralax and SEB and one day I tried it and he liked it. He also started to relike chicken liver and gizzards so lately he would have it with pumpkin and every time he cleaned out his bowl. In the past He didn't really have noticeable BG increase after eating pumpkin with his food.

As far as ear infection? goes the vet clean his ear with Q-tip and said there is lot of debris and it looks like he was scratching it. We got home on the 7/2 and cleaned his ears and applied drops After cleaning his ears looked very good. I am not sure if missed next day and applied drops on the 7/4 once or twice and discontinued after that.

Gus gets insulin at 5:00 AM and 5:00 PM and BG check usually AM and PM PS and about +6 morning cycle and +3 evening cycle.

on 7/4 he got pumpkin @12:00, @5:00PM his BG spiked to 376 and +3 8:00 PM it was 462 and he also looked like he is in pain (very lethargic not eating treats, throw up) we give him bupre @8:00PM
Next day he was better and hungry and his BG was lower until about nine hours later and is higher and higher. He had three increases (and fresh vial). I am contemplating another dose of bupre????? or it is a bunce????

Right now he sleeps a lot, eats and asking for more chicken liver not eating Mahi-Mahi and still will devour treats (Wild boar).

Thank you for your input.

Cindy, Laura and Elise I really appreciate you helping me get this resolved
 
I would suspect some kind of infection - either the ear as Elise is suggesting, or something else. Bladder infections and teeth infections are both fairly common. Pancreatitis flare-ups can also raise blood sugar.

If I were you, I think I'd ask the vet for a blood test to see if his white blood cell count is raised, ask the vet to look at his teeth & ears, and maybe have a urinalysis done to check for a bladder infection.

This isn't just a regular bounce. He'd stopped bouncing and was accustomed to normal numbers. I also don't think it has anything to do with your new insulin because his blood sugar shot up before you started the new vial. I'd get to the vet as quickly as possible to see if you can find the source of whatever is bothering him.

By the way, it isn't necessary to feed zero carb. There's a good discussion on the topic here. Look for the "low carb vs lower carb" link. I'm just thinking you might have more options available to try to feed him if you aren't just looking at zero carb.
 
Before considering an increase in buprenorphine - I'd have that discussion with the vet. There is a weight based range used to determine the bupe dose.

If he's not eating a complete diet now you might want to consider making him the Liver Shake, especially since he seems to like the chicken livers.

Neko also gets twice daily pumpkin with no noticeably BG increase. Buprenorphine can be constipating, which is why she gets the pumpkin.

Paws crossed Gus comes down soon. The change in numbers does seem like something else is going on.
 
We are 45 minutes from his PMPS and shot I just not sure if we should dose 0.75 or 0.5. I typically don't like to increase at PM because Gus has history of dipping low yet I don't want him to continue have BG so high.
 
Your spreadsheet shows you shot .75U this morning, so wouldn't that mean the increase already happened?
 
Your spreadsheet shows you shot .75U this morning, so wouldn't that mean the increase already happened?
Yes Wendy we increased:
7/4 0.1 to 0.2 (it is really difficult to measure so just in case we went to 0.5 next day)
7/8 from 0.2 to 0.5 (PM dose was with fresh vial)
7/10 0.75 (increase)
I know we should wait little longer but the numbers are so high.
 
Just wondering cause it looked like you were asking if you should go up to .75 tonight. It's best to pick a dose and stick with it.
 
My guess, and that's all it is, some sort of infection: ear? teeth? bladder? But it's a guess. I, too, would opt for bloodwork, especially the white blood count.

Vines.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top