7/10 - GIDEON BLUE - AMPS = 370

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-9-gideon-blue-amps-307.232064/

Good Morning-
Thanks to all of you who have been helping us figure out our vacation strategy for Gideon. The vet tech came over last night for a trial run, and the pet sitter was here too. After the vet tech left, the pet sitter tried a glucose ear test on Gideon, and she got it the first time. She will now be doing a mid-day test, and I am thinking of asking her to test him before she goes to bed.

So, I am leaning towards leaving him at Lantus 2 units twice daily, since the pet sitter can do additional testing. She also knows how important it is to have Gideon eat, and she will put freeze dried treats on top of his food if necessary.

Does anyone think I should still have the vet tech lower the Lantus, even though the pet sitter seems to be able to do additional testing and can ensure that Gideon eats?
 
As long as your pet sitter will test extra if he has a big drop or in green I guess you could have the tech shoot 2. Just let the tech know to lower the dose if the sitter has any testing issues or a preshot number where you want her to shoot less is another option. With all that help a no shot number does not seem necessary.
 
Yes, I will make sure the tech knows to lower the dose if Gideon is low, or sitter has any issues with testing. They can also text me, or call with any immediate questions or issues.
I will also make sure the tech doesn't do a heavy 2 units, but makes it exact. I will leave a magnifying glass, but tech is young and probably won't need it. She had not drawn from a Lantus pen for her, so that was new for her. I think she had used the vials, but she was fine with it and understands not to shoot air into the pen.
 
I do have this caliper, but haven't used or set it. I know exact dosing is important, but this vac, we will just have to have 2 units given twice daily, and use the marking on the syringes. I agree, getting an exact dosage is ideal, so when we return, I will probably start using the calipers. Thanks!
 
I have given instructions to the vet tech not to give insulin if Gideon is below 150 in the AM or 200 in the PM. I usual give at these levels (and lower), but I do not want to take the chance Gideon could go hypo while we are away.
 
Back
Top