7/10: Darwin - AMPS=74, +1=128, +4=308, +8=326, PMPS=338

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tasha & Darwin

Member Since 2017
Last entry: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-9-darwin-amps-304.180413/

Hmm...well, could that drop be from 2 days on low carb food?

Obviously, no insulin this morning. Naturally, I get this number before I leave for work on Monday morning. I suppose this will be the day that my GF will have to toughen up, and be the one to check him in a little bit...:confused:

I added a small amount of his old (high carb) kibble to the canned I fed him this morning, and he readily ate.
 
+1 = 128, +4 = 308.

Huh. Spoke to my boss, and he said to drop down to 1 unit, but I'll probably drop to 1.25 if his BG stays high. Wondering if it spiked high because I gave the high carb food? Wonder if, at that 74, I should have just fed a meal of low carb and watched the numbers to see if they came up with just that since it wasn't HYPO, just low. Idk.
 
On SLGS the 74 earns a reduction to 1.25. The kibble could definitely have caused some increase in BG, but I'd guess he's bouncing. Just curious: by any chance did you retest when you got that 74? It's just so out of place with the rest of the numbers. I learned the hard way to always retest immediately when I got a number that surprised me (high or low).

I am wondering if there are some lower numbers hiding in the blank spaces on the SS. One of the drawbacks of doing SLGS is that if kitty is in a bounce cycle when you do your curve, you think that he isn't dropping at all, when in reality he may be. I see you have gotten some random mid-cycle tests in on occasion, and I would encourage you to continue to do so, whenever possible. Night tests are especially helpful, since many kittie run lower at night.

Spoke to my boss, and he said to drop down to 1 unit
Sorry, I'm not familiar with your story. Do you work for a vet?
 
On SLGS the 74 earns a reduction to 1.25. The kibble could definitely have caused some increase in BG, but I'd guess he's bouncing. Just curious: by any chance did you retest when you got that 74? It's just so out of place with the rest of the numbers. I learned the hard way to always retest immediately when I got a number that surprised me (high or low).


I did retest actually - got 72, and saw again 20 min later. He was on high carb kibble until Saturday when he suddenly started eating canned food (finally) - that could be what dropped him, right?

I am wondering if there are some lower numbers hiding in the blank spaces on the SS. One of the drawbacks of doing SLGS is that if kitty is in a bounce cycle when you do your curve, you think that he isn't dropping at all, when in reality he may be. I see you have gotten some random mid-cycle tests in on occasion, and I would encourage you to continue to do so, whenever possible. Night tests are especially helpful, since many kittie run lower at night.

I could try and get some further spot checks. During most weekdays, I work 11 hour days, but I do come home at lunch to feed him. Could be better about checking then as well...

I suppose I could try and get some night readings when I don't work the next day.

Sorry, I'm not familiar with your story. Do you work for a vet?
I do - I'm a vet tech, but we hadn't recommended much home testing so this part is pretty new for me! On the plus side, I'm teaching my vets to be better!!
 
Rico may start a OTJ trial tonight depending on his PS-he dipped to a 47/AT and I think lower but that is when I caught it.
I didn't know that Rico had FD. When did that happen?

I did retest actually - got 72, and saw again 20 min later. He was on high carb kibble until Saturday when he suddenly started eating canned food (finally) - that could be what dropped him, right?
Yes, changing to LC can do it. We had one cat go completely OTJ (Off the Juice) in one very long night after all kibble was removed.

I suppose I could try and get some night readings when I don't work the next day.
That would be awesome. There is no such thing as too much data. Full disclosure: I am a testaholic (just look at my spreadsheets! :p).

I do - I'm a vet tech, but we hadn't recommended much home testing so this part is pretty new for me! On the plus side, I'm teaching my vets to be better!!
That's great! Most of the vets I've dealt with don't encourage a lot of tests, either. One vet student even told me it was better to go by how the cat was behaving, clinical signs. I responded that my cats have tested in the 20s with NO clinical signs! :rolleyes:
 
I didn't know that Rico had FD. When did that happen?


Yes, changing to LC can do it. We had one cat go completely OTJ (Off the Juice) in one very long night after all kibble was removed.


That would be awesome. There is no such thing as too much data. Full disclosure: I am a testaholic (just look at my spreadsheets! :p).


That's great! Most of the vets I've dealt with don't encourage a lot of tests, either. One vet student even told me it was better to go by how the cat was behaving, clinical signs. I responded that my cats have tested in the 20s with NO clinical signs! :rolleyes:
Hi hunny,
Yes after about a year on budesonide he developed FD.... I am weaning him off the budesonide and have started the "poo pills" that are part of a trial.
I also have recently started Dre on them as biomes do have to do with diabetes and he has had 3 reductions in less than a week. Coincidence?
This is the company... https://www.animalbiome.com
Ricos poo is so much better and he is happier. Weaning off budesonide VERY slowly.
 

Attachments

  • Rico after dental poo.JPG
    Rico after dental poo.JPG
    49.6 KB · Views: 55
  • Rico after 2nd dose poo pill.JPG
    Rico after 2nd dose poo pill.JPG
    87.6 KB · Views: 53
  • Rico 3rd day poo pill.JPG
    Rico 3rd day poo pill.JPG
    70.3 KB · Views: 49
  • Rico poo day 6.JPG
    Rico poo day 6.JPG
    51.8 KB · Views: 54
Yes, changing to LC can do it. We had one cat go completely OTJ (Off the Juice) in one very long night after all kibble was removed.

That would be AMAZING lol!

That would be awesome. There is no such thing as too much data. Full disclosure: I am a testaholic (just look at my spreadsheets! :p).


Haha, I wouldn't mind it during the week, but I have such a stressful job as it is, and cannot be without TOO much sleep when I work. But I'd like to see what he does overnight.

That's great! Most of the vets I've dealt with don't encourage a lot of tests, either. One vet student even told me it was better to go by how the cat was behaving, clinical signs. I responded that my cats have tested in the 20s with NO clinical signs! :rolleyes:

Most of the vets I've worked with haven't done much home testing. It's kind of crazy really! I get to be the tech that deals with all the diabetic kitties at work now - which is fine! Haha! Cats are always great at hiding things!!
 
Haha, I wouldn't mind it during the week, but I have such a stressful job as it is, and cannot be without TOO much sleep when I work. But I'd like to see what he does overnight.
Some people set an alarm and get up to test. Some people just drink a lot of water before bed so they have to get up at some point. ;)

I get to be the tech that deals with all the diabetic kitties at work now - which is fine! Haha! Cats are always great at hiding things!!
That's wonderful. I like that your boss(es) are open to learning and allow you to share what you are finding out. We are all about sharing and educating here!!
 
I used to set the alarm to get up to test Sheba at night. In the beginning I used to stay up but found it made me too tired. I found going to bed, then getting up with the alarm was much more manageable, even when I had to get up multiple times for a pyjama party. The more tests you are able to get, the better you will understand how Darwin is responding to the insulin. Great you are sharing with the vets. As Tricia said we are all about sharing and educating here!!
 
Some people set an alarm and get up to test. Some people just drink a lot of water before bed so they have to get up at some point. ;)
I SO thought about doing this! I think it would work well. If you're gonna get up...might as well test :D

I used to set the alarm to get up to test Sheba at night. In the beginning I used to stay up but found it made me too tired. I found going to bed, then getting up with the alarm was much more manageable, even when I had to get up multiple times for a pyjama party. The more tests you are able to get, the better you will understand how Darwin is responding to the insulin. Great you are sharing with the vets. As Tricia said we are all about sharing and educating here!!

It's so hard for me to stay up too! I am going to try and set some alarms Wednesday night since I am off Thursday, and see how tired I feel Thursday. I can't afford to be TOO tired at work so I can take care of everyone else's fur-babies, LOL.

Thanks for all the info!! :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top