7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102; +8 134; PMPS 151 Oops!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good Morning. This is very strange. Magggie got me up very early, so at +7 I tested and she was 141, which seemed too high. I gave her a snack and she was good to go. I just tested, and her PMPS is 96. At +7 should she not have peaked? Then another strange thing happened last night at the +2. When I tested two hours after her .01 shot, she tested 147. It may have been a big blood drop. I retested and got 111 bg which seems more accurate. The strips are from Amazon and come in the regular mail, so I wonder if the strips could be off or maybe the meter. It couldn't be me :shock: that's off!!!

Here's a recap:
Friday
AMPS 94
+6 110
+10 109
PMPS 116
+2 147
+2 111 (2nd test, same Alpha Trak meter)
+8 141
Saturday
AMPS 96

Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=19318
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie AMPS 96

lol, Ann...you're gonna make yourself crazzzeee!
But I love the AMPS!

Have a good day with Maggie. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie AMPS 96

Nice AMPS Maggie!!! Really nice!
You did know that I would probably stop in as usual today, right?
And you DO know me. right?
Well....here goes Ann.....
As far as all that stuff you mentioned, I was wondering if the second test last night was from a smaller drop. That would explain it. Maybe it's the meter. Do you have another one around that you could try? LOLOLOLOL :lol:
Seriously though, was the blood drop from the right ear or the left ear?
And were you standing or sitting? Was the new moon over your left shoulder or your right?
What did she eat for dinner?
You know how Maggie likes to mess with your head on Friday nights! She is such a character! Manipulating her BGs like that....now Maggie...cut it out!!! :lol:
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie AMPS 96

Oh no! Yes, I do know you, Pat, :lol: and had a feeling you might be stopping by. It does sound funny now that I went back and read it. It's only understandable by me. Well, it was the same ear, but I had a difficult time getting a drop. You won't believe this, but I hid the second meter last night but then did get it out again this morning, as I'm getting things ready for the ps this week. No wonder I'm tired.
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie AMPS 96

Someone recently asked about too big a drop of blood causing a wonky number. Jill indicated that it could. As for the +7, in theory that should be around the nadir. However, the nadir is a moving target. If you look at Gabby's SS for the last 10 days, her nadirs are all over the place.

Nice AMPS.
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie AMPS 96; +3 72 - Dosecrease?

I hope my meter isn't off, seriously. I just did a +3 and seriously had a hard time getting a drop. I tested twice as the first time it was 59, and I could not believe this number; second time is 73! She's waiting patiently for food!
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie AMPS 96; +3 72 - Dosecrease?

Sounds like a dosecrease to me! Can you practice less than 0.1? (fat 0) I want to check with some of the others on the dose, though.
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie AMPS 96; +3 72 - Dosecrease?

Yes, I can practice on a fat 0 - does any Lantus actually get into a kitty with this dose? I'll look at the charts.
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie AMPS 96; +3 72 - Dosecrease?

Ann...you hid the other meter? :roll:
Did you hide it from yourself? :roll: But you found it anyway? :roll: LOLOLOL
I found the post from Jill a couple of days ago. It was to you so here it goes again....
Jill & Alex said:
Ann and Maggie11 said:
Hi,
The first time I took Maggie's bg, I had a large drop of blood but thought I just got a small amount on the strip. It read 67, which scared me with using the Alpha Trak Meter. I did the other ear the second prick, and it read 109. Poor Maggie's ears; I wanted to make sure this bg was correct, so I took a third bg, and it was 104. So the question is does a large blood drop give an incorrect reading? I vaguely remember reading this or maybe it was me asking this question some time ago??
from time to time, i've had goofy readings when the blood drop has been too big or when it's been too small.
I hope you have a good day today Ann....I mean, a REALLY good day because you are a sweetie and you deserve it. And do tell Maggie to quit messing around! :YMHUG:

And with the smaller doses, when you insert the syringe and press, do not release the plunger. As you keep the plunger depressed, you pull the syringe out and the little drop if insulin will be wiped into the kitty. Know what I mean? If you were to release the plunger inside the kitty, you can inhale that little drop back into the needle, so keep it depressed and withdraw it.
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie AMPS 96; +3 72 - Dosecrease?

And with the smaller doses, when you insert the syringe and press, do not release the plunger. As you keep the plunger depressed, you pull the syringe out and the little drop if insulin will be wiped into the kitty. Know what I mean? If you were to release the plunger inside the kitty, you can inhale that little drop back into the needle, so keep it depressed and withdraw it.

He, he, good thing i didn't hide that meter and forget where I placed it, as i may need it if I run out of AT strips, but I think I'm okay. I mut say the Relion grabs the blood a lot easier than the Alpha Trak. Yes, I wish Mags would quit messing with my head. She must know I'm getting ready to go out of town, shhhhhhh!!

Yes, now i understand how I would do the smaller doses. So that little drop can make a difference?
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie AMPS 96; +3 72 - Dosecrease?

Ann, what do you think about....


starting an OTJ Trial???!!! :mrgreen:


Let's see if Maggie can do this on her own as well as she can do it with insulin.

Here's the plan:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If she is <130 (AlphaTrak) at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If she is higher, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then her pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give hier the support she needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72 - Dosecrease? +5 102

Hi Libby,
Yes, I just did a +5, and she is 102. This is with food two hours earlier. I'm ready to try a OTJ trial. Oh darn, I will be on a trip this coming Thursday, July 15 and returning late evening Tuesday, July 20. Of all times...it's a trip to visit my Mom back on the east coast. I do have a ps who is experienced with giving shots. I was lgoing to have her do the drop anyway, so she would probably love no shots.
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72 - Dosecrease? +5 102

Looks like you will be coming home just in time for the big day Ann (antijinx!)

Congrats! And best of luck to you both!! Soooo happy here. :razz:
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72 - Dosecrease? +5 102

Oh I so wish I wasn't going on this trip just yet, but...I made all my plans. The ps is experienced though and will be here twice a day and even on her lunch hour as she works.

Should I start the OTJ trial tonight when I normally shoot at 7 pm! Or shoot a drop tonight and start fresh Sunday morning!
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72 - Dosecrease? +5 102

she's probably ready to start tonight, but if you get a higher than usual number, I wouldn't blame you for shooting tonight and waiting til morning. It's totally up to you. Congratulations!
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72 - Dosecrease? +5 102

I think when you start is entirely up to you!!

(I didn't want to say anything earlier but I thought this was in the works!!) Congrats!!
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102 Dosecrease

oops, I forgot to add the other thing I was supposed to add to my OTJ trial instructions - please PM D and Noisy and CD & BicMac. One of them will send you their email address so you can send them photos for the party. You'll definitely want to get the pictures in before you leave.
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72 - Dosecrease? +5 102

Libby and Lucy said:
she's probably ready to start tonight, but if you get a higher than usual number, I wouldn't blame you for shooting tonight and waiting til morning. It's totally up to you. Congratulations!

Okay thanks so much for all your help. I will wait and see what her PMPS is and go from there as to whether or not I give her a drop. If she's under 130 or close to it, no shot. I think the food definitely makes a difference, too, and I've got her on just these two flavors Sophisticat. Hopefully this will all go okay, and the ps will not need to shoot, just test. I wonder if the stress of me being gone will raise her bg. I would delay this trip if I could, but my Mom is 91 and recently has been having health problems, etc. If it were just a regular trip, you can bet I'd reschedule.
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102 Dosecrease

Libby and Lucy said:
oops, I forgot to add the other thing I was supposed to add to my OTJ trial instructions - please PM D and Noisy and CD & BicMac. One of them will send you their email address so you can send them photos for the party. You'll definitely want to get the pictures in before you leave.

Oh gosh, somewhere in my computer is a picture I believe of Maggie! I have one of my GA kitty. I don't think my petsitter will be posting the results though, only leaving me handwritten bg readings. If I start tonight, I will have four days coverage.
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102 Dosecrease

Libby is right to remind you about the photos...super important!!! Do that as soon as you can~
Can you take more of her now, before you leave????? You will have more time if you aren't shooting...hurry, take some pictures!!!

And Ann, don't worry about being away. This is perfect!
You go and enjoy your time with your Mom....Maggie will be fine.
Wishing you both a wonderful OTJ trial!! Yay!!!

This means of course that she is so very close to being OTJ completely....so the trial is a good way to see what she does on her own. Very wonderful! And very exciting! I am SO happy for you both!!! :mrgreen:

Shadow is jealous. Raja is so happy! She is scouting out a perfect condo for Maggie...on the floor that her place is. She is SO happy to have another girlfriend close to her...neighbors at the Falls!!! She will bring swatches next week. LOLOLOL
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102 Dosecrease

Okay, so I will have my ps do no shots pending on how does Maggie does the next three days. I have a one time use camera that I can get a cd made, as I have no digital yet...behind the times. I had a Kodak from Target, but it malfunctioned and was returned.

P.S. Maggie will be so happy to have Raja to hang out together at her condo.
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102 Dosecrease

Ann and Maggie11 said:
Libby and Lucy said:
oops, I forgot to add the other thing I was supposed to add to my OTJ trial instructions - please PM D and Noisy and CD & BicMac. One of them will send you their email address so you can send them photos for the party. You'll definitely want to get the pictures in before you leave.

Oh gosh, somewhere in my computer is a picture I believe of Maggie! I have one of my GA kitty. I don't think my petsitter will be posting the results though, only leaving me handwritten bg readings. If I start tonight, I will have four days coverage.

FIRST CONGRATULATIONS!!
Do you have a camera? Can you take about 5-7 pics? I hope so.

I'll PM you my email addy.

ETA: phone camera? kid on the street with one? take Maggie to a photographer? We gotta have a Maggie goes OTJ party video.
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102 Dosecrease

FIRST CONGRATULATIONS!!
Do you have a camera? Can you take about 5-7 pics? I hope so.

I'll PM you my email addy.

ETA: phone camera? kid on the street with one? take Maggie to a photographer? We gotta have a Maggie goes OTJ party video.

Thanks. I have some pics on this one-time use camera but I'm not sure how good...I can pick up a one time use digital and take some quick pictures. I have hard copy pictures, but can I get a cd made from them. When do you need them? I unfortunately will be gone July 15 thru July 20; I know, bad timing. I have a ps who will be checking her glucose.
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102; +8 134 Dosecrease

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!
I AM SO EXCITED FOR YOU & MAGGIE party_cat :RAHCAT party_cat :RAHCAT party_cat

THIS IS SO SO WONDERFUL!!! YOU CAN DO IT MAGGIE!! WHOOO HOOOO!!!
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102; +8 134 Dosecrease

Well, she is 134 at +8 which I think is still okay, right! She was hungry, so I tested and got this bg. I fed her a snack, so she's got a ways to go yet before the PMPS. I'll test again in a few hours and hopefully she will be lower which means her pancreas is working, re-reading Libby's instructions, Keep our fingers and paws crossed,
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102; +8 134 Dosecrease

you got it! That's exactly what I was popping in here to suggest, you're ahead of me. ;-)
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102; +8 134 Dosecrease

OMG - I can't believe I missed all this excitement today! Congrats, congrats, congrats on the - er - "dosecrease"!!! I'll just call it that for now...

yay! Way to go Maggie!
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102; +8 134 Dosecrease

Well Well Well, if this isn't wonderful news today!! Congratulations on the you know what (don't want to jinx it...you haven't had your pmbg yet!)

Good luck on the pmbg...oh, and btw....Spot is having a Luau pool party tomorrow and would love it if Maggie could come! That would be a wonderful start to her you know what!!!
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102; +8 134 Dosecrease

Good luck on the pmbg...oh, and btw....Spot is having a Luau pool party tomorrow and would love it if Maggie could come! That would be a wonderful start to her you know what!!!

Aww, thanks everyone. I am overwhelmed with all the good wishes and support. We could have never done it without all the help of this wonderful board.

Yes, Maggie would love to come to Spot's Luau pool party, you betcha!
 
Re: 7/10 Ann & Maggie +3 72; +5 102; +8 134 Dosecrease

Libby and Lucy said:
you got it! That's exactly what I was popping in here to suggest, you're ahead of me. ;-)

Thanks Libby. I didn't realize why Maggie would go high and then low w/out any insulin, but now I know what she was doing.
 
Well, Maggie is really messing with us! I tested twice just to make sure, and her bg was 151. I'm trying to think if there is anything different, and the only thing I can think of is I bought these Pure Bites Freeze Dried Chicken Breast cat treats and sprinkle over food as a treat (or chicken dust). I have a call in to the Mfg to see if there's any coating, as they are super crunchy compared to Petco freeze dried chicken. No more chicken treats to see if this is spiking it! So I'm thinking I should give the dose drop. Or what's your advice?
 
ok, how about a fresh start in the morning with the trial?

just reading back to our notes, but according to Libby, shooting the drop tonight is ok. Number is a little higher than she'd like, a +3 tonight would help to see whats happening.

Can you test at +3 tonight?
 
I'm tempted to not shoot and see where she goes tomorrow morning or next spot check, but not sure if this is the right thing to do! Very strange to see this spike.
 
I think I would shoot. I would rather see her start from a better place, to give her the best chance at holding the number down. She seems to run lower in the mornings, so maybe that's a better time to start the trial.
 
Why not shoot tonight and have a long talk with Maggie about where her numbers need to be? Every little bit of help for her pancreas is good.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I think I would shoot. I would rather see her start from a better place, to give her the best chance at holding the number down. She seems to run lower in the mornings, so maybe that's a better time to start the trial.

Okay, thanks. I'll shoot tonight and see where she is in the morning. No more chicken treats either just to check.


ohh threats always work. Tell her to read her condo!

Little squirt. I'll have a talkin with her Ronnie.

Why not shoot tonight and have a long talk with Maggie about where her numbers need to be? Every little bit of help for her pancreas is good

Will do! Going to shoot now. Thanks so much everyone. I really do appreciate all the help. We will get her there sooner or later!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top