7/10/13 Scamper +11 78 AMPS 103 OTJ trial +3 126 +6 62

Status
Not open for further replies.

GatorsRBst

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Does last night's drop to 38 at +3 mean a dose reduction? He's already at 0.1 units, so should I start skipping shots and try an OTJ trial, or keep going with the 0.1 unit shots?
 
Re: 7/10/13 Scamper +11 78 AMPS 103 OTJ trial based on PM dr

I think it's trial time. However, can you get a few additional tests beyond testing at your usual AM/PMBG test? Scamper has come down the dose scale very quickly. I want to make sure we're not moving too quickly. That 38, though, means business!

Here are the instructions:

  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
  • If your cat is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
  • After 2 weeks, if everything is looking good, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
 
Re: 7/10/13 Scamper +11 78 AMPS 103 OTJ trial based on PM dr

:mrgreen: YAY!!! I will follow your instructions, to the "T!" Since his AMPS was in blue, I will do another test at +3 today. I have been feeding small meals all along - it seems to be what both of my cats prefer! Thanks so much for the input & ongoing advice!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/10/13 Scamper +11 78 AMPS 103 OTJ trial based on PM dr

OTJ trial day one, we've only just begun.

Go Scamper!!!
 

Attachments

  • OTJ day 1 recycle.jpg
    OTJ day 1 recycle.jpg
    5.5 KB · Views: 294
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top