7/1 Scully AMPS 450 - Failed Reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
I think I may have reduced too much too quickly as Scully's numbers are trending up big time. I increased her dose back up to 1 unit this morning. I'll hold this for several cycles before determining if another increase may be warranted. I think the depot is what continued to hold her numbers down as we were decreasing this weekend, but it's clearly been drained. It's sooo frustrating trying to find that dose that's going to bring her numbers down but not send her through the floor. We have yet to achieve a low flat cycle. Scully's cycles tend to look more like a giant "U" ... or a giant smiley face!

Got a vet appointment this afternoon for a geriatric blood panel. Paws crossed everything will come back negative and/or normal.

Healing vines to our sugar kitties who need them! Congrats to all who are OTJ or headed there shortly! Hope everyone has a great day!

Tara and Scully
 
Hi Tara

I might have waited a bit on the increase because you shot early one cycle and late in a subsequent one....both at the 0.75u dose. Early and late shots affect the depot.

Here's some very good information about Counting Cycles.

I'm not a big fan of dose hopping so I'd hold this dose, now that you've increased, until she earns a reduction. I'd be extra vigilant, though. :-D
 
Thanks Marje, I agree with you about dose-hopping. If I had it to do over, I think I would have held at 1 unit to begin with instead of quickly decreasing again to .75. I reread the dosing protocol on failed reductions, and it says to go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

I will hold this dose and give Scully time to adjust to it. Hopefully we'll be seeing a lot more green.
 
Yes, I understand about failed reductions. :-D been there, done that way too many times :lol:

My point was it is possible that it wasn't a failed reduction because you had early and late shots that affect the depot. When you are affecting the depot, then you can't always apply the guidelines specifically as they are written.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top