7/1 Rocky--I don't understand these numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

totallybeachin

Member Since 2011
I just can't seem to figure this out.
Rocky goes from yellow ps, to blue about 2 hours in, up to pink by +6, then starts coming back down to yellow again by shot time.

He is getting .5 because .6 was to much I think. Could the .5 be to much also?
It's like he is going backwards or something through the cycle.
This can't be normal.
 
Someone very wise said.....normal is a setting on your washing machine!!!

Right Robin?!
 
He showed the same spike yesterday on your SS-- is he eating mid cycle?
 
I wonder if it would be safe to stop giving him insulin for a day or so, let it all get out of his system and start over with a "clean slate"?
What could all this mean?
Is he getting to much?
 
It could be one of two things I think. He could have a very late nadir - like around +14 so the preshot number is a still dropping number. Or he could have a very early nadir, and the rise mid cycle is in response to the insulin wearing of, then his system levels off. From his curve on the 1u dose, I am inclined to lean toward the early nadir camp, which would mean the dose is too low. Have you thought about trying 0.75u or 0.8u and holding it there for a few cycles?

Now that I think of it - there is a third option. You could have Mr. P helping out right after eating (since at preshots he hasn't eaten for several hours). Lori and Tomtom are a similar case - but Tom would drop like over 100 points after eating just due to the food intake and not insulin. (I am kinda thinking this might be some of it due to your double dip curve on 6/24)
 
Well, his pmps was 262 and I went ahead and shot .5.
I was kinda thinking it might be related to his meals also.
Which is why I wanted to take him off the juice for a day to see what his body does naturally.

Do you think that would be safe? OR should I just keep trying different doses?
 
You don't have to quit for a day -- Prozinc is a 12 hour insulin-- in and out! Okay, maybe there is some residual for a couple more hours -- but, as a norm it is gone in 12 hours. Don't quit for a day.
 
I'd agree you can't stop insulin for a day, because his numbers are still diabetic and he needs it.

It looks to me like his P is working some, just not enough yet, because if you are giving a snack at +7 and he dips his P is helping out.

I've heard alot here that an early steep drop means not enough insulin but I always saw it the other way around. A fast steep drop was the insulin kicking in hard and fast, being too much, causing the early drop which triggered a bounce.

Instead of skipping the insulin I might back down on the dose and see if that evens things out a bit.
 
I agree with the food, with Shakes that had a lot to do with it
I started tracking what he ate every moring and night and realized he does better on
different foods, low carb...so track the food if you can, it might help.

Aldo Shakes had an early drop for the first 2 months then his +6 was higher....
until I upped him to where he is now...now his lowest number is at +8
so it very well could be a combnation of both
 
Rob & Harley said:
I've heard alot here that an early steep drop means not enough insulin but I always saw it the other way around. A fast steep drop was the insulin kicking in hard and fast, being too much, causing the early drop which triggered a bounce.

I've been a little puzzled on that too, b/c several have said that an early nadir means too little insulin, but also I think we have all seen the early drop to low numbers that is from the dose too high, and then sometimes after that they rise some.

My ultimate conclusion has been that the steep drop/lower #s is too much insulin, the early nadir that is not dramatic is too little insulin. I don't know if it's that clear-cut, but I do think the early nadir can be either of those, just depends on the numbers and the finer points. Just my take on it.

Leaving all that aside, his dose looks to low to me. The only time you got good numbers, barring that one pesky 71, was when you shot 1u.

0.4 looked promising, but only on that one cycle really back on 6/25. Sometimes you get good results like that but it just doesn't stick, and that is usually from too little insulin. Once they spend some time in higher numbers they lose ground pretty fast, and if they can spend some time in better numbers they often gain ground pretty fast.

And then there are a couple other oddball good numbers, which I agree is likely some pancreas action. I'd be inclinded to try 0.8 for a couple cycles, and if that doesn't do the trick and you don't get more wonky stuff, then I'd go up to 1u. We probably just should have had you stay at 1u from the get-go, but 20/20 hindsight I guess. Now that there's that wonky 71 in the picture, that's why I'd take the intermediate step of 0.8 just to check and see what the curve looks like.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top