7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50 +8 1/2 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole and Napoleon

Member Since 2010
He is clearing bounces faster and faster these days, down from a week to maybe a day or two now. Hopefully he will get used to these greens and blues for good!

I see a good numbers in our future for today though. Going to try to get home at lunch to get his +5 or +6.
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274

The faster the bounces clear the sooner he'll be in the GREEN!!! Have a good day! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274

I wonder what happens when you paste a thread into another one?
Here goes.


Napoleon 42 at +5!

Postby Nimcewan » Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:00 am
Yikes - ran home for lunch and he was 42!!!! Fed him lots of lc food and my awesome mom will be there to keep and eye on him all day.

I guess this calls for a decrease in dose? How much? He is getting 3u fat BID.

AMPS - 317
+2 - 274
+5 - 42


Thanks!

Nicole
Dx:12/09 - Previously on PZI, started Lantus 5/30/10
Napoleon SS :
http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... utput=html

Profile - http://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0Ab0Ry ... aGQ2&hl=en

User avatar
Nimcewan



Re: Napoleon 42 at +5!

Postby Barbara and tuffy » Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:04 am
It's best not to feed to much food. Do you have any HC food? Give him some gravy. and retest in 15-20 minutes.
Tuffy's SS

OTJ 6/26/1
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18229Tuffy's OTJ Party

User avatar
Barbara and tuffy

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 8:45 pm
Location: Orlando, Fl
Member since: 31 Dec 2008



Re: Napoleon 42 at +5!

Postby Nimcewan » Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:18 am
My mom has some, she is right across the street. Should he have the gravy in addition to all of the food he ate? I had to come back to work and my mom is not comfortable testing. I hate this, I am very worried but our vet is luckily 5 minutes away if she needs to take him. She knows what warning signs to look for, I made her a list. This is a new job, if not I would have just stayed with him for the rest of the day myself to test .

I gave him about a can and a half of Fancy Feast. One can more than he usually gets for lunch. He usually gets a half. He was definitely hungry. He has been leaving a little food lately and walking away to get it later with his usual one can in the morning, but he ate most of what I just gave him.
Dx:12/09 - Previously on PZI, started Lantus 5/30/10
Napoleon SS :
http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... utput=html

Profile - http://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0Ab0Ry ... aGQ2&hl=en

User avatar
Nimcewan


D and Noisy


Re: Napoleon 42 at +5!
Postby D and Noisy » Thu Jul 01, 2010 11:22 am

What percentage carb was the recent feeding, do you know?

numbers: http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... mWJMIq09Gw

DX FD 10/25/07, OTJ 4/16/08
DX Lymphoma 8/7/09, GA 8/25/09
I love you Noisy
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42

Thanks for moving those over D :smile:

I gave him some Fancy Feast classics - tender beef and liver mixed with classic chicken, so I think the carb count was 6-7% with those. Can't access the food chart to check.
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42

FF Beef & Liver Feast is 2%
Chicken is 4%

You probably need to be giving something that's higher in carbs to bring numbers up. HC is over 16% -- grilled and marinated varieties. If you don't have any at home, you can mix Karo or some other syrup or honey into LC food.
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42

Thanks Sienne. I talked mom into checking his BG, she is calling me as soon as she gets the number so I guess we'll know what to do in terms of the food from there. She is out of HC, but I have Karo at home she can mix in if need be.
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42

Wow...didn't realize bouncs could last a whole week! Meadow seems to bounce for a day or two. Hope Napolean has some blue sailing today. :smile:

Nimcewan said:
He is clearing bounces faster and faster these days, down from a week to maybe a day or two now. Hopefully he will get used to these greens and blues for good!

I see a good numbers in our future for today though. Going to try to get home at lunch to get his +5 or +6.
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

Mom took his BG at +6 1/2 - go Mom! He was 50. She gave him some temptations treats - 4 to be exact -that I had in the cabinet in case of just this. So she is going to test in 30 minutes and if he is no higher she is going to put a little Karo in some food.
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

To bad no HC on hand. I'd feel more comfortable if I new he had some HC on board.
GREAT for mom getting a BG.
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

Hi Meadow,

He has bounced for a week before. But my little man is a riddle, wrapped in a puzzle with this stuff. I heard though that they can last over 72 hours.
We are in the middle of green city today- dipping too low, so we can decrease his dose - that is definitely a good thing :smile:
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

I first read "my little man is a riddle, wrapped in a puzzle with this stuff."
as
my little man is a riddle, wrapped in a puzzle with fluff stuff. :lol:
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

I'm going to go out and get a few cans to have personally. Always depended on Mom probably having them. I've learned my lesson with this one!
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

Good idea.

Any chance Mom can test again in an hour or so? Tell her we all love her here in LL for testing today.
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

Of course! she is testing every 30 minutes to hour for me to make sure. I will tell her, that will make her smile. I am very proud of her!
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

Tell her she has people from all over the world waiting for the next BG and cheering her on, the good mom that she is.
It's getting pretty late in the cycle so once he's in the upper half of the DDs (double digits) she doesn't have to test as often.
HC would have probably reduced the need to test so much too.
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

I will do that ((((hugs)))).

I agree. Any suggestions for what to have on hand. I would just think maybe the FF sliced with gravy? Or Friskies flaked?
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

I like a variety from 0% to 18%.
Mark on the cat with a sharpy what percent they are and separate the HC so somebody doesn't accidentally feed it during regular times.

LOL, I'm going to leave that typo.
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

I've used varieties of FF elegant medleys and Pro plan gravy meals as my MC/HC foods (depending on the variety). Kasha loves them. I also have some Science Diet mature Turkey something around with a carb content of 29%, but I don't think I would use that anymore unless I was really panicking!

Today, Kasha went down to 48 and 1 tsp of [supposedly] 9% FF elegant medleys bumped her up to 89 in an hour!!! She didn't really need the MC food - but I promised her if she earned another dosecrease, she could have some. And there are other varieties of the elegant medleys that have higher carb contents on the charts.
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

Mark on the cat with a sharpy :lol:

We are silly on here today!!! It's good stuff - never hurts to laugh!
 
Re: 7/1 Napoleon AMPS 317 +2 274 +5 42 +6 1/2 50

I was hoping I could catch another BG but have to run.
Hope to see some nice numbers when I get back. It is late in the cycle so all should be well.
Lots of great people here looking in on you so they'll help if you need it.
 
What great team work in here today! Yay for Mom!
Yay for D!!
Yay for Napoleon!
Oh...and Yay for YOU too! :mrgreen:
Nice going folks, take a a bow! ~~Applause from the crowd~~ :thumbup
 
Question of the day...... Should I decrease his dose? My gut it telling me yes after these numbers. Just back to 3u from 3fat? Any ideas?
 
You earned a dosecrease.
You have a few choices.
Mr. N is pretty bouncy, meaning he'll probably go high the next cycle. You can shoot regular dose through the bounce and then drop the dose in the morning. We do that sometimes so we can head those bounce/high numbers off at the pass.

or, reduce to reg 3u tonight and hold the dose as his new (slightly) reduced dose.

or, reduce by 0.25u, you earned that by going 42 (42 is 40 to me). New dose would be a fat 2.75u.

What are your thoughts?
 
I think those are definitely good options. I guess it will depend on his PMPS number for me. He is 159 at +11. My fear is that if he is on the lower end and I shoot the 3u he will drop too much, then my fear on the flip side is that if I shoot the 2.75f and he bounces it won't be enough. Do you think I will be taking a big chance shooting the 3u if he is 200 or below for his PMPS? I have to be somewhere at 7 and probably won't be back until around 9 or 10 so I won't be able to test until +3 most likely. Should I have Mom test before +3 if I shoot 3u? I'm very indecisive today @-)
 
"I" wouldn't do the 2.75u tonight. Look at your SS, see those blues you shot? They turned pink. That doesn't mean we have a guaranteed pink coming our way but it does suggest one. I am fairly confident a BG 42 is going to have Napoleon on the bus to RBC.
 
I'm with you D - 3u reg it is tonight.
He is looking like he will be close to yellow when I shoot - plus he'll have food, so with his history of RBC, it would be best to stick with the 3u.

I have to leave right after his shot unfortunately.

You have been an amazing help to me today D, I cannot thank you enough!
 
It's always best to have a couple plans so that you can shoot no matter what.
I have alot of trouble knowing even an hour ahead of ps because sometimes it seems like they just run right outta gas at the last minute and start to soar high.

Whatever you do, there is still a wee bit of shed to be drained when you decrease.

Good luck on the decrease.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top