7/1 | Marley, fairly new dx | AMPS 452

Status
Not open for further replies.

marleyboy

Member Since 2021
Good morning everyone and happy July!

I discovered this community yesterday and I have graciously been given a lot of great starting advice. I have begun a spreadsheet, and am transitioning into the switch to wet food. I plan on ordering a human meter.

The vet rx 3u of Lantus BID when he was dx near the end of 3/2021. I did not see a significant change in his blood sugar, however admittedly I was not able to strictly adhere to a monitoring or feeding schedule due to having a very hectic school schedule. I am committed the month of July to getting him on track before classes are in full swing again. I bumped him up to 4u about a month ago and he has seemed less symptomatic, however his blood sugar is consistently around 400-500+ and he has been very polyuric/dipsic essentially since the dx. Part of me worries that the needles I am using are too short and the insulin isn't properly administered subcu, but this morning I was very careful and ensured it properly was given.

6/28 AMPS ?, was 500+, gave 4u | PMPS 78, skipped insulin - but also freaked out and gave him a lot of treats, the low number was very alarming to us.. in hindsight probably not a great idea
6/29 AMPS 593, 3 units given | PMPS 450, 3 units given, +2 429
7/1 AMPS 452, decided to give 3 units this morning again because we are fully on protein rich food, not the previous combo of that + the corn meal crap that he is completely obsessed with
- I am somewhat comforted by the seemingly downward trend, though slight.

As of about 2 days ago he is eating ITAMS high protein ~.5 cup/BID. I am currently in the process of figuring out a wet food that will work for us. Will be periodically researching throughout the day.
 
Last edited:
When cats drop like that at shot time, a little low carb food will bring them up. With SLGS you would never shoot under 90 and a reduction was earned by dropping under 90. After a low like that cats often bounce high which is what happens. A bounce can take up to 6 cycles to clear.

I don’t know if anyone told you to pick up food 2 hours before shot time so the preshot are not food influenced.

If the preshot is low for him, stall, don’t feed, and check again in 30 minutes to see if on the way up and at a safe number to shoot.
 
@marleyboy
Hi Brittany
Since Marley you may want to start posting on the Lantus Forum you will get more eyes on it .
There are a lot of Lantus users
I will give you the link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/

You do a new post every day
Date , Marley, His/AMPS and any test after that such as @+3 then his BG, PMPS if you want to

Example
7-1 Marley AMPS 452/ @+6 434 and so on
Always link the previous post which would be all the way at the top by the pic of the cat
You can start tomorrow on the Lantus forum and link this thread to it so members can go back to it if needed
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top