7/1 Maggie PMPS 128

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alicia & Maggie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Increased Maggie from 1.5 Lantus to 1.75 this morning. At +3 she was at 30, so I fed her immediately. No symptoms of hypo. Took reading at +3.5 and it was 38.

Keeping a close eye on her, but any advice or help would be great. Thanks!
 
Here's what happened, she cleared the bounce from June 26th PM cycle when you did an increase. Usually, kitties will clear a bounce in 6 but Maggie decided to do it in 7 :rolleyes: See how flat yellow she was last night? That can be a good indicator that they are ready to drop in the next cycle which she did.

Like Amanda said, take her back to 1.5 tonight. Be vigilant through her nadir today to make sure she doesn't drop again. Just a tsp or so of the gravy do boost her so she doesn't get too full as you might need to continue to steer her. Good catch on that low number! :cat:
 
Oooh, thanks for the explanation!

So I should keep her at 1.5 for at least another 6 cycles, or more than that?
I would watch for that flat yellow cycle around the 6th cycle and if you see another one like that, hold the dose to see if she will drop. Some kitties need 7-8 cycles to clear a bounce. She could be one of those.

She is going to need to get up over 50 and stay up by herself to know you are out of the woods today.

I need to get to an appointment but, if you need any more help or have trouble getting her to come up, change your ? to 911
 
Oooh, thanks for the explanation!

So I should keep her at 1.5 for at least another 6 cycles, or more than that?


I would hold 1.5 for at least 6 more cycles. (unless Maggie goes below 50 again and you should reduce to 1.25) Since you are new to this, you may end up holding longer than 6 cycles. I think that will depend on the numbers you are getting around the 6th cycle. Just post and ask for advice around the 6th cycle. :)
 
In case no one is immediately around, the instructions for what to do if your kitty is in low numbers is in the sticky, Shooting & Handling Low Numbers. Personally, I would go with either a HC (gravy-type) food or syrup. I generally haven't doubled up unless the numbers weren't coming up. However, figuring out what to do depends on your cat and how responsive your cat is to either gravy or syrup. Some cats are incredibly carb sensitive and others, not so much.

Since you're following TR, if Maggie's nadirs are mostly below 200, you hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycles unless the numbers drop below 50 (since you're using a human meter)


 
Have you done more testing?

From Sienne's link:

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.
 
Yes, I've tested every 30 minutes. Thanks for the testing info.

+5 was 96. I'll take the +6 shortly and will post it in the thread name.

I changed the thread name from "?" to "no prefix", but will change back if I need help. Thanks!!!
 
Now, you want to stop feeding to see if the numbers hold or drop. Remember that the +5 96 will be influenced by the high carbs. Once the carbs wear off, Maggie could drop again dramatically, or she could be past the nadir and rising on her own. That's why continued testing is essential.

I have to go back to bed (recovering from illness). Holler if Maggie drops or if you have questions or doubts.
 
And don't wait until the last minute to holler. The boards aren't all that populated today. I guess because of the Canadian and US birthday weekends.
 
+6 was 76, +7 was 58.

I normally feed Maggie multiple small meals throughout the day. After +6 and +7 I fed her like usual, LC canned, no Karo. Do I stay the course, but give Karo if she drops below 50?
 
I would have done what you did and fed the LC. If the last HC was at +4, it is probably out of her system now. The Lantus is also now coming to the part of the cycle where it is wearing off and Maggie will probably continue to rise. The LC should help keep her surfing, but I would get another test at +8.
 
Thanks for the encouraging words Bobbie & Bubba, but it's not over yet.

Didn't do a +9 because she's been a trooper today even though she still jumps with every ear poke. +10 was 43. I retested and got 42. Gave her HC canned with a little Karo.

If she's still below 50 at PMPS do I still give a 1.5 shot?

Thanks ALL
 
That is good that the HC gave a nice bump up in numbers. Don't give any more food for now.

I don't usually give dose advice, so I am not sure the right thing to do, but I will lay out some options if she is still going up.

First, how tired are you? Do you have enough supplies? Can you monitor tonight?

First option would be to skip and give you both a rest.

Second option would be to give an even more reduced dose....like, .75u. Keep in mind when you do this, the depot is still in play and it could still be a very active cycle in which you would still need to monitor. Reduced doses affect more of the next cycle instead of the current one.

Third option, to go ahead and shoot the 1.5u and monitor. We have a saying, shoot low to stay low. When we shoot lower numbers, they tend to have flatter cycles. It will depend on your comfort level as well.
 
hmmm...I guess that does put another twist on it. I keep looking for a veteran to be online to give advice. She didn't do anything drastic when you were on 1.5 and switched, but she is a cat and they play by their own rules.

You have 30 min till shot time correct?
 
Ok. So the best I can say right now is to post the +12 number. I will be watching.

I am a seasoned diabetic cat owner, but I am unfamiliar with adding the variable of switching to a LC diet. (My cat didn't change at all with the switch to LC)
 
Ok. So the best I can say right now is to post the +12 number. I will be watching.

I am a seasoned diabetic cat owner, but I am unfamiliar with adding the variable of switching to a LC diet. (My cat didn't change at all with the switch to LC)
No food after that reading, or OK to feed?
 
Ok, in my experience, this looks like a bounce. Her body is finally reacting from the low and she may end up going higher.

I don't think there is a wrong decision in this case.

I can't be around all night to stay with you, but I will be here for the next 3 hours.

I believe it is safe to give insulin. The dose is going to depend on your comfort level. If that is 1u or 1.5u, you know how to keep her safe. Of course you still have the option to skip the shot and rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top