7/1 Lucy PMPS=214;+2=167;+5=146

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Hello!! Happy Canada Day!!

Yesteday's

Recap

6/30 AMPS=137; +2=194; +7=124
6/30 PMPS=112; +2=81; +4=67; +5=77; +6.75=76

7/1 AMPS=112, +2=122, +5=113; +8=113
7/1 PMPS=214; +2=167; +4=146

Lucy is just flat blue today.
She is doing OK, appetite not bad, but she doesn't like the hot.

I got a reply from the vet about the prednisolone.

She thinks it would be fine to try 2.5mg every day instead of 5mg every other day (so the dose is the same), but she said to watch for any signs that her bowels are getting worse- more vomiting, or diarrhea, or not eating. Or coughing but she thinks Lucy may have grown out of asthma.
She also said that there is a possibility that we can reduce her dose in future, but it is entirely unlikely that we can stop prednisolone.
I'm OK about her reply.
At least, Lucy will not be high for 2 cycles, and low for the next 2 cycles.
Same dose of pred. every day may make it easier for me to find the perfect insulin dose for her.
And there is a hope that we can even reduce pred to 1/4 tablet every day in future if she does well with the new med schedule...... hope is good.
So... I'm going to try giving her 2.5mg (half tablet) every day from today.
Hope she'll be OK with the change.

I have to do some work now, but I'll try to visit condo later :-D :-D
 
Re: 7/1 Lucy AMPS=112 // VET REPLY RE: PREDNISOLONE

I gave Lucy this month's V-B12 shot, and after about an hour, she wasn't looking so good.
Sure enough I found a vomit..... :sad:
We just had a terrible time trying to give her a Pepcid piece.
I think she got it, after like 10th try.
I don't know if this is related to the V-B12 injection.....
I think her appetite was a little off when I gave her the injection last month too......
I really hope she'll feel better before the PM shot, which will be in 1.5 hr from now....
 
Re: 7/1 Lucy AMPS=112 // VET REPLY RE: PREDNISOLONE

Hi Mariko,

I hope the Pred change helps even out Lucy's numbers, and hoping even more for a decrease!

I don't know anything about B12 side effects, but others will probably have more to contribute. Hope Lucy feels better for her PM shot.
 
Re: 7/1 Lucy AMPS=112 // EXPIRED V-B12 HOW BAD?

OH MY GOD
I just found out that I have been shooting Lucy expired V-B12.
The vet put a sticker right on top of the expiration date, I didn't even know it expires.
I just peeled the sticker, and found the expiration date October 2012.
I have bee shooting her expired vial for 6 months.
I am so mad I can't think straight.
What kind of stupid put a label on the expiration info.
This is probably why Lucy isn't feeling well after the injection today.
Does anyone have any idea how bad it is????
I'm going to call the vet too.
 
Re: 7/1 Lucy AMPS=112 // EXPIRED V-B12 HOW BAD?

Hey Mariko....

Ummmm....Oct 2013 hasn't happened yet....did you mean Oct 2012??

I sure hope Lucy is feeling better ASAP. I can't believe the vet put a sticker over an expiration date...that's just wrong.

Sending many, many vines your way - keep us posted.

ETA....I see you caught your typo! Still sending vines!!!
 
Re: 7/1 Lucy AMPS=112 // EXPIRED V-B12 HOW BAD?

Amy -- the expiration is Oct. 2012 (not 2013).

I'd try to get more water in to Lucy. B-vitamins are water soluble. I'd also call your local pharmacy. The pharmacist is probably more knowledgeable about these issues. However, I completely agree that you should give your vet hell for doing something so stupid.
 
Re: 7/1 Lucy AMPS=112 // EXPIRED V-B12 HOW BAD?

Thank you, Sienne!
I'm going to give her some sub-Q fluid after this post.
I called the vet.
She said expired vial doesn't mean it's harmful, but it may not be as effective.
She thinks it's more likely that she has developed an allergy to one of the ingredients in it.
I told her I'd buy a new bottle, and try one more time and see how she does with UN-expired vial.
If it's helping her, I don't want her to miss out on the opportunity to feel better by assuming she is allergic to it.
If she gets sick again after injecting UN-expired vial next month, then I'll stop.

Amy, yes, it was my typo!
Sorry for confusing you!
Thank you for the vines.
 
Re: 7/1 Lucy AMPS=112 // EXPIRED V-B12 HOW BAD?

Oh, I forgot to mention....
I'll call the pharmacist who's been compounding Lucy's ursodiol over 7 years.
His store is closed today, so I'll call him tomorrow.
What's done is done, so I think I can wait till tomorrow.
Since I know him well, he'll likely take more time to explain it to me than just some neighborhood drug store.

I'm just so mad mad mad mad mad mad mad mad mad mad mad mad mad mad.
 
Re: 7/1 Lucy AMPS=112 // EXPIRED V-B12 HOW BAD?

If I had to guess, my hunch would be that the oil base for the B-12 can go rancid. I think calling the pharmacist that you know at the compounding pharmacy is a great idea!

The other option that I've used is to call a vet school and ask to speak with someone at the veterinary pharmacy. They were very helpful.
 
Re: 7/1 Lucy PMPS=214

Phew, I was able to feed her the 1st dinner, so I gave her the shot.
She didn't really want to eat, but she licked the food off my finger little by little.
Her PMPS is 214, much higher than her normal number, but I'm not surprised considering she's not feeling well.
Hopefully she'll improve a little by her 2nd dinner time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top