7/1, Henry C, AMPS=161, +4=82 Nice active cycle drill today lol

Definitely consider it a learning experience and not a screwup. Pretty soon you will think nothing of seeing blue. Then you will get scared of green but soon find that addictive. I doubt you will ever get used to lime (under 50) but will learn how to keep Henry safe.

Thank you Elise. I cannot wait for that to happen. This child needs to get on board soon with more blue and greens. I am desperately needing a real vacation not staycation but too afraid to go anywhere when he is so unregulated. Paws crossed!
 
@5.5 FSL=143 and AT 208 definitely big jump up. It sounds like I can take a break from testing. Do you recommend getting another test before PMPS?
 
Not surprised Henry got revenge on his sensor. Pretty sure Dimi recognizes the bag where I keep the extra sensors. It's been a month since he last had one on, and when I pulled the bag out the other day, thinking I'd try again for his OTJ trial, he disappeared to a secret hiding place for hours.
 
A couple recaps/notes from today. First, congrats on shooting that safe blue.
Good to know for next time - how long should I have stalled?
No, you don't need to stall. He was at a perfectly safe number to shoot. There's a post about this: Protocols: Myths Debunked see post #6 for details on the myth of never shooting a falling number. If I had stalled a cycle going from pink to blue, I never would have shot on time. It was Neko's favourite type of cycle.
I will stall longer next time and post for advice. Today was not my brightest decision let's say
You did perfectly, your gut instincts were correct. Look what a beautiful cycle you had as a result. 6/22 AM you also shot a dropping blue AMPS. And 6/25 PMPS. Looks like Henry likes doing that to you.:cat:
AM +3.5 FSL =85 and AT =137. More dropping despite syrup and gravy.
Remember, the Lantus cycle is a curve down, he's supposed to drop down at that point. For next time, try not to panic and give syrup/gravy until he gets a lot closer to 50.

Since the cycle is no longer active in the right direction, and hopefully you are no longer terrified, do you mind updating the subject line?
 
Great job taking care of him! It's so hard when you're tired, trying to work a full-time job, and dealing with low numbers. Hope you are able to get some rest and Henry will give you some easy cycles soon!

Where on his body has the vet been putting the Libre?
The vet has been rotating The Libre a lot. The last one was on the Back left side but i think a bit too Close to the spine. He was able to reach it easily. I normally use the onesie but seeing him so upset I took it off and the rest is history lol.
 
A couple recaps/notes from today. First, congrats on shooting that safe blue.

No, you don't need to stall. He was at a perfectly safe number to shoot. There's a post about this: Protocols: Myths Debunked see post #6 for details on the myth of never shooting a falling number. If I had stalled a cycle going from pink to blue, I never would have shot on time. It was Neko's favourite type of cycle.

You did perfectly, your gut instincts were correct. Look what a beautiful cycle you had as a result. 6/22 AM you also shot a dropping blue AMPS. And 6/25 PMPS. Looks like Henry likes doing that to you.:cat:

Remember, the Lantus cycle is a curve down, he's supposed to drop down at that point. For next time, try not to panic and give syrup/gravy until he gets a lot closer to 50.

Since the cycle is no longer active in the right direction, and hopefully you are no longer terrified, do you mind updating the subject line?

Thank you @Wendy&Neko. That makes sense. Yes he does like doing that to me :rolleyes:. I updated the thread. Despite the coffee somehow I took an unexpected nap, well, more like I passed out watching TV lol. Don't feel really fresh and need another 5 hrs nap, but it was a very unexpected and pleasant surprise. Thank you Nap Gods lol
 
If he bounces :rolleyes:, you'll get better sleep tonight.
I know right? He typically likes to bounce so will see. I won’t say no to a nice break. I will have to see how the cycle goes. Without the Libre though I tend to be too stressed out to go to sleep earlier than -+5 or later which is after 12 am. Why can’t he just have a nice +4 nadir lol
 
The last one was on the Back left side but i think a bit too Close to the spine. He was able to reach it easily. I normally use the onesie but seeing him so upset I took it off and the rest is history lol.

Yeah, you want to keep it away from the spine I think. Do you think maybe it's irritating his skin and that is why he's so determined to get it off? Is the vet using any other adhesive product that might be causing that (like vet glue/bond)?
 
If he bounces :rolleyes:, you'll get better sleep tonight.
So Henry otherwise known as "Sir Bounce A Lot" bounced to 371 at pmps and 350 at +2. Sounds like I am getting sleep tonight. When should I do the next reading and the last reading to be safe? If this is a repeat of last night would a +4 be enough? That is 11 at night. I probably won't need a +6 which is 1 am. I don't know. Thoughts?
 
Yeah, you want to keep it away from the spine I think. Do you think maybe it's irritating his skin and that is why he's so determined to get it off? Is the vet using any other adhesive product that might be causing that (like vet glue/bond)?
I told the vet to not use vet glue and she said she only used 3 drops and that is to keep in place and she does not seem to want to do it another way. Of course it is irritating him. I have to keep telling them what to do. The last visit they screwed up big time. The people doing the appointment booked me for next month. I called ahead when I did not get the confirmation call. They said I don't have an appt until next month. They managed to get me in on a quick vet tech appt and never saw the doctor and could not provide my instructions. Sometimes vets think they know better but they don't always. My hope was for Henry to get to better and safer numbers and stop using the Libre because it is hard on him. He loves to get in a fight with the sensors, then I have to use onesies, then he gives me those sad looks and is miserable, then I cave in, and then he manages to remove them. Cannot blame him. Did they last for you without any glue? I saw that in facebook that no glue just the skintac and I did provide the vet with that as well.
 
I think a +4 will tell you if he's going to dive.

I've seen pictures of people using a "scarf" or old sock tied around the neck to keep on the Libre, if it's placed in the right position. Might be slightly more acceptable than a full body onsie.
 
I think a +4 will tell you if he's going to dive.

I've seen pictures of people using a "scarf" or old sock tied around the neck to keep on the Libre, if it's placed in the right position. Might be slightly more acceptable than a full body onsie.

Would not that prevent the cat from grooming themselves? If that is used like a collar. Maybe I am misunderstanding. I would love to see the pics if you find them. Henry is a big boy I tried a couple of things. I do not use a full body onesie I tailor it and cut it so it covers only the minimum. his belly is still uncovered so mostly it covers the back. he can groom a big part of the body but still hates it. I am open to any suggestions.
 
325 (FSL) 498 (AT) at +4. Fed little LC as he usually gets some now. Very high numbers and sounds like I am safe to go to sleep and stop testing. Thoughts?
 
I am open to any suggestions.

It's a bit humiliating for them, but this is what worked best for Minnie - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01C2LU7XE/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Our vet suggested them and I bought a few different ones to try sizes and styles. This was soft so she could rest on it but grooming was hard. She didn't wear it 'up' like the picture but 'down' like her head was sticking out of a ballgown. She was pretty miserable but it's the only thing that stopped her removing the Libre. She was ok with the first few devices then I think it irritated her skin, it looked awful. I even joined a facebook group of human diabetics who have issues with the devices! She got them off through onesies and some pet pyjamas which had sleeves for all 4 legs.

In the end, much as I was addicted to availability of the Libre data, I ended up with ear pokes. It was so difficult the first few months but now I (mostly) have no issues.
 
I saw that in facebook that no glue just the skintac and I did provide the vet with that as well.
Yes; the one I applied myself I used skintac, it stayed on and working the full 14 days. Cinna didn't seem bothered by it, he'd occasionally groom it but he wasn't trying to pull it off.

I suspect even skintac isn't really needed for some cats.

For Henry I'd wonder if the reason he's pulling it off is because it's put in a location that bothers him, and/or, the vet glue is uncomfortable. If they are putting it where the skin can fold or move around a lot, it might be pulling on him. Either that or he's just not going to allow something to be stuck to him.

Maybe you could try desensitizing him to wearing them by clipping the filaments off the dead ones and sticking them back on him with skintac or something. Kind-of hard though if you don't have anyone that can help you hold him :/
 
Back
Top