7/1 Guinness PM+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59|+6 87|+6.5 94|+7 110

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good evening Lantus Land, I'm posting my condo this evening because I just received a call from my vet with Guinness Acro test results. Yes, he has acro. Of course I get this call about 10 minutes after I shoot his lowest pre-shot to date, 128. I tested him an hour later and he's going up right now, 147, but will keep on top of it this evening. My vet admitted that I have officially left her realm of expertise and she is referring me to a specialist here in San Diego who supposedly knows a lot about acro and there is a facility here who can do the radiation therapy if that is what we decide to do. My vet did mention that the specialist said that the pancreatitis could be a result of the acro. I will get more information when I speak with them next week.

In the meantime, I'm going to start searching the boards for posts and acro info and find out what the best BG level is for him. I've gotten pretty good at keeping him in a nice 200-upper 100 range (until tonight of course). I need to find out what will be safe for him.

I guess I will be spending my weekend researching. No results yet on his IAA insulin resistance test, but at this point, who cares?
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147 Test Results

((((Linda)))) wow, I have to admit I'm surprised by the acro diagnosis. I didn't expect it because his first time on Lantus he was on a low dose and had a very quick trip OTJ, then stayed OTJ for quite a while. I was sure there must be some other health issue causing Guinness to need a higher dose of insulin. Obviously I was wrong and I have definitely learned something new tonight.

Did the vet say what his IGF-1 number was? If you can get the paperwork, usually MSU writes an interpretation of the results too.

There is a lot of good information on this board and others. Start here and here.

About numbers, my opinion is that you should aim for whatever range Guinness feels best in, as long as he is able to stay there safely (no huge drops, etc.). He is doing well right now with his yellow and blue and is mostly staying under renal threshhold - does he seem to feel good? Jazzy is a whole different cat since I got her into all blue with some green, so that is where I'm trying to keep her, but yellow/blue are good too if Guinness likes it.

I have more bookmarks that I'll share as soon as I manage to find them (somehow my Favorites folder became extremely disorganized!).
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147 Test Results

wow...sending hugs and support for both you and Guinness...

and so very glad there are folks here with experience in this area!

celi & binks
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147 Test Results

Well, you can pick my jaw up off of the floor. I was pretty well convinced that since Guinness had been OTJ, you were going to find out that he was insulin resistant. I think this is a completely new wrinkle for LL.

I'm not sure whether you've been around enough lately to know that there are several newly diagnosed acro kitties here. Squirrel/Lauren (Tommy), Bev (Gus), julie (Punkin), Andrea (Coco) and I'm pretty sure I'm forgetting someone all have acro cats. Libby's Jazzy is also acro. Susan took Lanky to Colorado State (Dr. Lund) for the sterotactic treatment so she is a good person to talk to about Lanky's experience.

Libby had a very informative post along with links about acro treatment. I didn't think to bookmark the discussion. (It may have been in Jazzy's condo.) I'm sure Libby may be able to find the info.

There is a FB acro group. They have opted to keep themselves very separate from LL and have deleted several of us from that group. Their approach is slightly different than what the beans here are doing. They are a resource as is the High Dose ISG on FDMB -- I just don't know how active that ISG is.

Knowing why you've been struggling with getting Guinness' numbers to come down now makes much more sense. Knowing the diagnosis will give you the option to be more aggressive with dosing. There are absolutely resources here. Let us know how we can help.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147 Test Results

Hi all! Thank you for the hugs and thoughts. Guinness's IGF-1 was 209. I didn't get the actual interpretation of the results, but I am sure my vet will send them to me if I ask. She's the one who called the specialist and spoke with her at length about the diagnosis. The specialist said that studies now show 1 in 4 cats on large units of insulin are Acro. I had a feeling with his "enlarged heart" issue a few months back and his snoring constantly that this was probably our problem. It's why I didn't stop at the "slightly inflamed pancreas" diagnosis from the ultra sound.

I'm going to have a consult with the specialist and then make my decision from there. I've been doing a lot lately based on intuition and gut feeling, so I'm going to continue in that fashion in this regard.

Libby, as far as how Guinness is feeling. He really doesn't do anything but eat and sleep and has been that way for 3 months since he came out of remission. He doesn't jump up on things any more doesn't play around with his brother. Seriously, just eats and sleeps. His numbers are fairly good right now, but even with the bupe and fluids, his personality hasn't changed. it doesn't help that it's warm here which make him sleep more.

Sienne, I know that the Acro board here is very inactive and I've been wondering where all these diagnosed cat's beans are going for help. Could you possibly elaborate on the difference in protocol that the estranged group uses versus ideas here? Only if you have and time, and feel comfortable doing it. Please PM me if you feel you can share. I've seen some dust ups recently and want to see where my intuition takes me. Thanks!
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75 Advice???

ok, so normally, I would be overjoyed with this 75 number, but now with the Acro dx I'm not sure what to do about it. We are at +3 and he still has a way to go. Advice? Give HC? I really don't want to, I really like that number, but being such a newby with the Acro, maybe I should really fear that number. Please advise LL!!
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147 Test Results

I think the differences were outlined in one of Jazzy's condos. Basically, many of the acro moms treat the blue numbers like green. Because an acro cat has a functioning pancreas, if the cat gets into low numbers, food stimulates the pancreas to produce endogenous insulin and numbers can drop. Keeping the cat in blue numbers gives you a buffer. The SSs that Libby linked in her discussion were from the times that Jojo was active on the Board. Those cats more closely followed the Tight Regulation approach.

I found the condo with Libby's comments on acro.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75 Advice???

I Linda - I just wanted to say that I am sorry for the diagnosis. I have no experience with acro at all, will leave the help to those that do know. I see you already have people on board. Good luck to you both.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75 Advice???

I'd give it 30 min. You know the routine -- lather, rinse and repeat. You want to keep Guinness surfing at around this number.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75 Advice???

Is this a safe number for an Acro cat? I was under the impression it's not, but reading Libby's post ECID I guess. I wish Guinness had another setting than lethargic.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75 Advice???

Some of the lethargy may be due to the pancreatitis. I presume you've been checking for ketones?
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68

Still dropping...yes on the Ketones, but since his numbers have been so low lately, I've let the testing slide a little. I used to do it about every few days. How long does the HC usually take to kick in? Does it work with Acro cats? I'm so confused! Should I give more? Should I give some syrup mixed in?
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68

HC works on an acro cat. You may need to be a bit more generous but this is an ECID issue. Even a non-FD or non-acro cat differs in terms of carb sensitivity as do acro and FD cats differ. You know how Guinness has responded to carbs in the past. What went on before Guinness was OTJ may mean that the tumor wasn't active but you probably have more info than most newly FD/acro beans do about how their cat responds. It's not like that knowledge no longer applies. At least as I understand it, it's not all that different than with any cat that's earning decreases (and Guinness will get decreases) -- you don't want to let the numbers get away from you. YOU want to be in control.

So, that's my long winded way of saying for now, work at keeping Guinness in safe numbers so you can get your legs underneath you. Feed either some HC or add add a drop or two of Karo to it.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68

I guess if I didn't have this diagnosis right now, I wouldn't be feeding him HC. When he dropped to 45 the first time around, that's when he got some HC, but now, without having done enough research and just seeing random posts regarding Acro cats and keeping their BG's high, it's freaking me out a little. Will test again in a few.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81

Fed more HC at +3.75 and added 1 drop of syrup to gravy. Up to 81 at +4. Will test again at +4.5. So, I know the night is still young, but should I decrease his dose tomorrow am? Keep in mind I was planning on holding this 11u dose for the next week since I am going out of town. Now I don't know what to dose him at while I am gone.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81

When are you leaving?

I do think you're going to need to reduce his dose. Did you get the cat sitter dilemma figured out? Are your sitters going to be able to test?
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81

Pet sitter will come at 12 hour time slots, except for one day where his shot will be 2 hours late, but his next shot will be 12 hours from that late shot. She cannot test. I have no other options at this point, so I'm going to have to reduce his dose to heck knows what and keep my fingers crossed. I can't believe he decides to respond now of all times. Ugh.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81

FWIW, Gabby will not allow my DPS to test. She growls if she even thinks the DPS is going to test. I'm glad Gabby will allow her to get close enough to shoot! I HATE that she has to shoot blind but there's no other option. I reduce Gabby's dose when I'm not here.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81

Any thoughts at this point as to what I should reduce his shot to in the am (I will assume he will be bouncing then) and what I should reduce it to while we are away next weekend. I thought my stay at 11 plan was a good one, but now, I just don't know.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81

Linda:

No answers on the dose but I told Sienne I'd be around if you need any support on the numbers tonight. Looks like you have him up nicely and I think this is a really good place to keep him.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73

Feeding a small amount of HC gravy and will test again at +5...might be up late tonight.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73

hi linda!

we need to talk!

i felt the same uncertainty that you are feeling now - but someone said basically just keep following the protocol, just bump up your minimum number a little higher. that's because when you give high carb food, just like a non-diabetic cat, his pancreas puts out insulin. so it takes a little more to counter the insulin you've injected along with the insulin his pancreas has put out.

don't worry, he didn't just suddenly grow 2 heads today and he isn't going to dramatically respond differently today than he did yesterday before you knew that he had acro. i suspect the change happens more slowly than that.

i'm going to post this and then continue. hang in there! you're doing fine.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PMPS 128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73

It's way too soon to think about dose for next weekend. A lot can happen in a week. I'd really like Libby's input, as well. I'd suggest sending her a PM and putting a note in your condo about 48 hours before you're leaving town.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5

Great job, Linda. I also meant to tell you that I"m sorry about the diagnosis how fortunate to be able to get him the treatment...or have the opportunity.

You are doing really nice work with him tonight. And we are all here to support you.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5

Julie, when you say "bump up your minimum number" what number are you referring to? His nadir? I'm still unclear as to how this is affecting his pancreas and the secreting of insulin part, etc. I've read a lot of stuff, but can't seem to get the concept straight in my head yet, it usually takes 3 or 4 readings and someone explaining it another way for me to "get it."

Holding off on food right now, will test again at +5.5 and feed regular meal + maybe some gravy.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5

I think what Julie means is that instead of thinking about having Guinness drop below 40 for a decrease, you can use a higher number as your cut off so you're not at risk of running his numbers too low.

Physiology: The part of digestion that's important here is that for all of us with a healthy pancreas, when food is in the digestive process, a signal is sent to the functioning pancreas to release insulin. Food is raising BG levels. The pancreas' job is to use the insulin it manufactures to keep BG in a narrow but healthy range. The pancreas produces what is referred to as "endogenous" insulin. When the pancreas is injured or not working properly like in FD, food causes BG levels to rise but we need to rely on an external source of insulin (exogenous insulin) to keep BG levels in a normal range.

In the case of acro, it's not the pancreas being out of whack that causes high BG levels. Instead, it's the pituitary producing growth hormone (a steroid) that is raising BG levels. FD is a side effect of the influence of growth hormone. As a result, if you are steering low numbers and, for example, give LC food when numbers are in the 50s, instead of causing Guinness to surf or for numbers to rise, because his pancreas is working the result of feeding LC is that his pancreas will produce insulin to offset the effect of the food. This drives the numbers down further. So, in the 50s or 60s, you would feed HC to overcome the effect of the pancreas churning out insulin.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5

i mean instead of waiting til the cat has BG under 50 to treat, i would now give high carb under about 80. honestly, he hasn't gotten that low since he was diagnosed. it was like punkin read his condo! he's been on the speed rise plan since that point.

my goal now is to only try to keep him under 225. that's the magic number that the vet said becomes hard on their organs. I have continued to follow the protocol - increase his dose by .5, wait 3 days and depending on the nadir - which have been mostly in the 200's, i would increase again. at some point if we keep going up i assume we will change to increasing by whole units.

i'll look and see if the links you were given include the one that i included a bunch about acro.

basically what i understand is that the process is this: imagine the cell as though it has a keyhole in it. insulin is key-shaped and has to enter the cell in order to break down the sugar. the tumor in an acro cat puts out a hormone that distorts the shape of the keyhole, preventing the insulin from easily entering the cell.

our tactic is basically to keep putting insulin into the kitty's body until enough manages to get through the keyhole and past the distortion. that tactic is considered the first line of defense in medical management. i forget exactly the phrase, but it is an acceptable plan to manage the illness.

the other treatments include the radiation treatment that you're talking about - that's what Susan took Lanky in for. It is pretty effective. i'm not going to have punkin do it, however - it costs about $5,000 i think not including traveling costs. punkin is 13 now - and being a skittish cat i can't even imagine him enduring the traveling trauma. i didn't know it was done other than in Colorado.

another treatment that is being explored is a 6 month trial using Octreotide - not sure if i have the spelling right. it's a once a month injection. i also considered that but have opted not to do it. apparently in people that drug is very hard on the gut - and it costs several hundred dollars each month. if you participate in the trial they will provide it for 6 months - you pay for your vet to draw the blood, i believe, but the shipping and the drug are covered, but at the end of 6 months you're on your own. the vet said that class of drugs doesn't have a lingering effect, so if there's a benefit, it's only for those 6 months.

after reading the zillion articles we decided to go with the "keep giving them more insulin" plan.

as far as staying here on the Lantus forum, we talked it over and it's entirely reasonable to do that. i am on the facebook group - basically it's one or two people who post their cat's daily numbers and others confirm their dose adjustments. it's valuable and interesting, but i see no reason to stop posting here.

in all of the things i read, i realized that diabetic cats have many side issues - this is simply one of them. you've no doubt seen how many times people have mentioned hyperthyroid & pancreatitis - same thing. acro is just one more.

i feel as competent as anybody about how to address this. just like when you're beginning with the insulin and you basically know what you should be doing, but you just need someone to confirm that you're doing ok. i feel the same way about the acro. it's not a death sentence. guinness may change how he responds to insulin - BUT - didn't he already do that? you've already had him go OTJ once. and btw, i saw someone else who had an acro cat go OTJ because the tumor has the potential to vary its hormone output. again, that is not different than what we've already dealt with. i give punkin the same dose for 6 shots and i get different numbers at +3 each time. every other cat does that too.

the main difference i can see is that my goal is now to keep him in the 100's. i'm having a hard time getting him there, but that's the goal. instead of trying for 50-100, i'm trying for 100-200. if he goes low, the amount of high carb food you give may (likely) need to be more. instead of a teaspoon, you're going to give a tablespoon.

anyway, i think don't worry about trying to absorb it all tonight. there is time. guinness isn't going anywhere! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM128|+1 147|+3 75|+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5

sorry for taking so long to get back & answer - my friend's husband is in the hospital and she called and needed to process - and my daughter's cat is sick and she's called too! argh.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59

PM128
+1 - 147
+3 - 75
+3.5 - 68
+4 - 81
+4.5 - 73
+5 - 75
+5.5 - 59

This is fun! (read with sarcasm) At least I have plenty to do to keep me awake. Fed small meal (it's his normal meal time now) with HC gravy and a drop of syrup.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59

Linda: did you give him some HC to bump him back up into the 70s? If not, I would definitely do it now. You are dealing with alot right now but you'll learn it quickly just like you did when you first started dealing with FD.

Julie and I will keep checking on you to make sure you get him up and keep him up. Hang in there!
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59

I dozed off earlier tonight and am about to fall asleep again, but it looks like you have gotten good answers to your questions.

Glad you gave some HC. I would get a +6.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59

Thank you Sienne and Julie for your great explanations. In all this time having a diabetic cat, I still am murky on how that frickin' pancreas works. I'm going to print out both your posts and re-read them many times.

Do you think it's possible Guinness doesn't necessarily have a normal, functioning pancreas. When he was diagnosed the first time around. It seemed like he had classic high carb dry food, too much weight induced diabetes. He responded quickly to a change to LC food and a small amount of insulin and then he went OTJ.

Is it possible this tumor has shown up since then? If so, is it possible that his pancreas doesn't work normally because he was already a classic diabetic cat. I'm not really sure what I am trying to get at. I just read "Acro cats have a normal functioning pancreas" but I don't think he does. I think he is still a classic diabetic. I don't think the tumor caused his first diabetic episode.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59

linda, i don't think you have any way to know, and i doubt it affects how you treat him.

here's the link with all the articles that i thought were "best" - most helpful to me, at least. the ones that were posted earlier are also good. i don't think the catacromegaly site is very active - i checked there and it seemed dead. same with the site on FDMB - definitely the lantus forum is the most active support group with lots of people.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=45324

if you're giving him just a bit of high carb food or lc with karo, i'd go ahead and give him a chunk of high carb food so you can go to sleep. last time i gave punkin some i think i gave him about 1/4 can of FF high carb.

eta: it is possible the tumor started after he was OTJ. it's also possible it was already there and stopped producing hormones. apparently the switch can go off and on with the hormone production.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59|+6 87

PM128
+1 - 147
+3 - 75
+3.5 - 68
+4 - 81
+4.5 - 73
+5 - 75
+5.5 - 59
+6 - 87

Lost my hubby to the sandman...I plan to stay up a little while longer to be sure he's going up sans HC. No need to stay up with me, I think we've got it under control.

Julie, thank you so much for the link and information. I am sure I will be picking your brain in the days and weeks to come if you don't mind. Not sure about treatment yet. My vet wants me to at least talk to the specialist to get treatment ideas.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59|+6 87

Glad you got him up, Linda. Nice number here in the 80s. Will keep checking in...Miss Gracie is at 43 so no sleep here yet :lol:
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+3.5 68|+4 81|+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59|+6 87

you're so welcome, linda. i know i had a million questions too. i guess while i'm not thrilled with the diagnosis, in a way i'm ok with it. it tells me how best to help punkin. i know The Goal. i have A Plan. those things empower me and give me a Job To Do.

you can tell i'm a Give Me A Problem And Let's Solve It kind of person.

i adore my kitter - no one ever knows how long they've got, so at least while i have him, i know how best to help him. it's not so bad.

if i were you, i'd want him to be over 100 to leave him, or at least past +7. wanna set an alarm and snooze for a few minutes? i can stay on with you if you want. it's only 10:50pm here. i see marjorie is up for a pokecarbpokecarb night too.

wahoo, a pj party!
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+4 81|+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59|+6 87|+6.5 94

PM128
+1 - 147
+3 - 75
+3.5 - 68
+4 - 81
+4.5 - 73
+5 - 75
+5.5 - 59
+6 - 87
+6.5 -94

I'm not planning to feed this 94, so I will test in 1/2 hour and see if he's moving up down or sideways. No need for a nap..I've got plenty to read about Acro to keep me awake. Guinness on the other hand is sleeping like a baby. He wakes up to get a poke, some chicken and then zonks out on the cool wood floor. It's flat-cat weather here.

Thanks for staying up with me Julie. I'm the same way. I'm ok with the diagnosis, at least I know, now I just have to develop my plan.

Do you have any thoughts to his dose tomorrow morning? I'm not sure what number I'm going to wake up to at 4:30am and I don't think there will be many people around to offer dosing advice. Would you drop the dose .25 or .5u after a night like tonight? I'm going to be gone most of the day tomorrow, so I can't frantically check like I am doing tonight.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+4 81|+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59|+6 87|+6.5 94

Linda: good job getting him up and keeping him there. I'm going to let Julie answer your question on dose tomorrow. I have no experience with acro kitties or at what point you take a reduction.

I am up a little while. At least until your +7 test. Then I'll head to bed. Mike is in charge tonight of our pcpcpc :lol: :lol: although it's been mostly poke and only one carb.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59|+6 87|+6.5 94|+7 11

PM128
+1 - 147
+3 - 75
+3.5 - 68
+4 - 81
+4.5 - 73
+5 - 75
+5.5 - 59
+6 - 87
+6.5 - 94
+7 - 110

I'm going to bed! THANK YOU all (especially Julie and Margie for staying up with me and checking in on us).

If anyone who might be reading this early in the am tomorrow has any thoughts on what his dose should be tomorrow morning...I would greatly appreciate it. I'm guessing without the HC tonight he would have fallen below 50. My gut is telling me to reduce to 10.5 from the 11u, but some confirmation or other thoughts would be appreciated!
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+4 81|+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59|+6 87|+6.5 94

hmmmm - well i can make some guesses. i'm gonna guess that he's going to be higher at amps than the past few days, just because of the carbs you gave him tonight.

i hesitate to just tell you what to do, linda. i feel experienced with punkin, but not with guinness, so i'll just think out loud here and you think as you read, then you see what your gut tells you. you know him. i don't think he's going to be suddenly different in his responses just because the lab got the results back in. he's had the acro for some time. you have seen his responses - the difference is that he may change faster than before.looking at his spreadsheet, you've been going up by .25 units, so my inclination would be to go down by the same. he's had 13 doses at the 11u.

if you were going to be home, i'd probably hold the same or drop the .25. since you're going to be gone, i'd probably drop the .5. probably what would determine for me which dose i went to was what happens at preshot in the morning. i haven't dropped punkin's dose a single time since he was diagnosed . . . but if i had guinness' situation, i think i would say 250 would be my dividing line. if he's over 250, knowing i wasn't going to be home, think i'd go with the .5 drop. under 250, i'd drop it more, perhaps to 9u. if it's 150ish, i think i'd shoot 5u or skip it. with the acro, i wouldn't have shot the 128 you shot tonight.

i guess that's one more change to add - when they are getting big doses like our guys, they have a correspondingly big shed. last time punkin missed a dose you couldn't even tell in his numbers - because of that shed. that's the reason you don't want them to get too low - that shed keeps adding insulin into his system even when you don't shoot. could take a lot of high carbs to counteract.

any of that make sense? hard to say more without knowing the preshot number. i really don't think it's a problem to skip the shot if you're nervous one single bit. it might, in fact, be interesting to see how guinness does with a missed shot, just for your data-collection purposes.

btw, Gayle (shadoe) says that with one of her acro kitties she just gives them a whole can of high carb to pull them up.

this is just one more way in which ECID and you'll have to keep testing things to how guinness responds.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59|+6 87|+6.5 94|+7 11

too funny - i started that last post to you 1/2 hr ago - it took me awhile to look at his ss and think it through.

sleep well. guinness is safe! well done!
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59|+6 87|+6.5 94|+7 11

Good night,Linda. Good job. I hope you get some dosing help tomorrow.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59|+6 87|+6.5 94|+7 11

btw, Gayle (shadoe) says that with one of her acro kitties she just gives them a whole can of high carb to pull them up.

Very true. I know first hand all about going low, below 100 and HC not bringing up the numbers.... Early on, I had to give Oliver 3 FULL 5OZ CANS OF HC and his numbers would not budge - That is one time I was packing up his things just in case I needed to take him to ER.

Be very careful when you hit that 100 mark; you do NOT want to mess with the shed and a functioning pancreas on a rev down. You just don't. If you get a 2-digit BG, FEED it. A 99 earns HC in my house.

Know your acro and give MASS respect to that shed. Once you have skipped TWO shots, and the numbers stay low blues, you will understand the shed better.
 
Re: 7/1 Guinness PM+4.5 73|+5 75|+5.5 59|+6 87|+6.5 94|+7 11

I agree with Julie -- there's no way to know if Guinness was a diabetic before the pituitary tumor developed. It could have been that what you saw the first time was a brief rev up of the tumor and it stopped secreting for a while. It may have been as you outlined -- Guinness developed FD as the tumor was developing and now there may be just the acro or there may be both acro and FD. I think this is a really good question and if it's your plan to talk to the vet in San Diego, it's a really good question to ask.

BTW, the info that Julie provided is about a surgical intervention to remove the tumor. It's a relatively new procedure but has been done in humans for some time. Lanky and other kitties have had a radiation treatment (SRT - sterotactic radiation treatment).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top