7/1, Frodo, amps 116, +10 104 after dose reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruth Ann and Frodo

Member Since 2015
previous thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...21-am-2-46-yet-another-dose-reduction.140263/

I cut the dose by .5 instead of .25, to 1.5U as of last night. And he stayed pretty low all day. I'll leave it at 1.5 and see what happens overnight. He certainly seems to be in a hurry to have dose reductions. I wouldn't be surprised if he skates close to 50 again tonight even with the depot partially emptied- last night was pretty close to 50.
Not getting much sleep some of these nights!!
 
Nice cycle today! Just keep in mind that this is only the 6th cycle after the 2.25u, so it's very, very possible that the 2.25u and the 2.0u doses are still at work keeping his blood sugar down today. If he begins to trend upwards, I wouldn't wait to see if he'll settle into it. There's no "settling in" after a dose decrease. I'd increase his dose back up again asap.

Fingers crossed that he holds it, though. I'm just mentioning all of that for you to be aware of it and watching, just in case! Sometimes kitties coming down the dosing scale do come down fast, but sometimes it can be too fast. The numbers will tell you!
 
He just got a 90 at shot time (lower than am+10) - not eating terribly well today, but he's eating Trader Joe's tuna cat food with gusto right now. I'm delaying 1/2 hour on the shot to see if his BG comes up a little. We'll also give him some fluids tonight - being dehydrated may make him less likely to eat.
 
aw, sending "feel better" and "eat your food" vines to little Frodo. I hope he perks up! It's always worrisome when one of our sugar kitties is a little off and not feeling 100%. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top