7/1 Esca AMPS 361 + 4 151 +6 76 PMPS 95/105 +1 99 +2 94 +4 80

Kirsta & Esca

Member Since 2022
Me again. :confused:
prev post https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-30-esca-pmps-415-319.265258/#post-2970574

With Esca at PMPS 95, I would have given a partial dose of Vetsulin.
Lantus? I’m petrified to give a full dose - he’s also never been this low pre shot. Guide has me questioning what to do here based on this number and extra nervous since it’s a new higher dose.

Can monitor tonight and testing again in a few mins (15 mins after first)
 
Last edited:
Going up at least - 15 mins later 105. Suppose that means its okay to shoot but I guess what’s holding me up is how quick 1u dropped him this morning, if would it do that again overnight
 
Shot 1u.
I've read over the stickies 1000 times, I know them, Shoot low Stay low, I KNOW.
I'm just so full of anxiety and second guess everything. ANd got held up at this part of the one sticky "If the low preshot is not part of that cat’s normal pattern or there is reason to think something might be wrong, we will be more conservative." Mostly because he's been high for the past week.

But it's done. Pray for me tonight ya'll my nerves are wrecked LOL :nailbiting:
 
Sorry nobody was around. Good job shooting. Your pmps is 105 since that’s what it was when you shot. He came up without food which is good. Get a +1 and +2. Post the results. Congrats on shooting your first green.
 
You earned this award.

upload_2022-7-1_19-52-13.png
upload_2022-7-1_19-52-13.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-7-1_19-52-13.png
    upload_2022-7-1_19-52-13.png
    31.4 KB · Views: 135
Quote ANd got held up at this part of the one sticky "If the low preshot is not part of that cat’s normal pattern or there is reason to think something might be wrong, we will be more conservative." Mostly because he's been high for the past week.

But it's done. Pray for me tonight ya'll my nerves are wrecked LOL :nailbiting:[/QUOTE

That means if you think he’s sick or not going to eat.
 
I guess what’s holding me up is how quick 1u dropped him this morning, if would it do that again overnight
He was clearing a bounce this morning and hence the additional downward momentum. This might seem counterintuitive, but just because the numbers drop steeply from higher BGs, it does not mean that they will drop as much when shooting lower numbers. Lantus is, in fact, very good at keeping lower numbers flats. Typical examples of Lantus cycles are what you saw from 6/17 to 6/23. We like to say "Shoot low to stay low".

Congrats on shooting your first green! :D
 
Sorry nobody was around. Good job shooting. Your pmps is 105 since that’s what it was when you shot. He came up without food which is good. Get a +1 and +2. Post the results. Congrats on shooting your first green.
Oh my goodness - I didn't even realize it was our first green! Although technically blue I guess since he was at 105, but I'll take it either way!

That makes more sense, thank you for the clarification! Hoped not sick, but scary seeing all those high numbers suddenly. Hoping we are back on the right track!

+1 - 99
 
He was clearing a bounce this morning and hence the additional downward momentum. This might seem counterintuitive, but just because the numbers drop steeply from higher BGs, it does not mean that they will drop as much when shooting lower numbers. Lantus is, in fact, very good at keeping lower numbers flats. Typical examples of Lantus cycles are what you saw from 6/17 to 6/23. We like to say "Shoot low to stay low".

Congrats on shooting your first green! :D

That makes sense! I have to get the knowledge of Vetsulin to leave my brain - I have to remind myself often that Lantus does not work as quickly as Vetsulin does and I think that's part of where I get hung up! So much rattling around in my brain that I tend to overwhelm myself.

So very thankful for all the help and keeping me level headed during all this!!
 
On it! :)
He's definitely feeling better, he's just tracked down a mouse that snuck into the house at some point today! *eek*
Eek factor aside, it's great seeing him acting like his lil ol self so quickly!
 
Tonight you have seen how Lantus can give flat cycles when shooting low :-)
So next time you get a lower preshot and you can monitor, shoot!
 
Back
Top