? - 7/1 Chloe - AMPS 111 | +3 116 | +6 111 | +10 141 - Blue days, green nights? | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 7/1 Chloe - AMPS 111 | +3 116 | +6 111 | +10 141 - Blue days, green nights?

Librarianista

Member since 2021
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-30-chloe-amps-114-pmps-94.249231/

My question:
I have some family coming into town in a couple of weeks. For the most part Chloe's normal dose time (7:30) works better for our planned activities than moving the time back earlier for their entire visit. However, one evening, I'll either need to shoot 2 hours early, 5 hours late, or skip entirely. Assuming her BG levels don't change much over the next couple of weeks, what would be the best course of action here?

Thank you!
 
Hard to say so far into the future, but I like the skipped shot option because you still have the depot working for you. If she was in pinks I would be worried about skipping, but Chloe seems to be very stable and flat these days <anti-jinx>.
 
Thank you both for weighing in. I will definitely post closer to the time if things with her BG change.

Katherine’s depot comment is a little illuminating, but could either of you give a bit more explanation as to why skipping is safer than messing with the dose time?
 
Thank you both for weighing in. I will definitely post closer to the time if things with her BG change.

Katherine’s depot comment is a little illuminating, but could either of you give a bit more explanation as to why skipping is safer than messing with the dose time?
Messing with dose time makes for an unpredictable cycle. Too early and it acts like an increase, too late it acts like a decrease. Plus it throws your whole shooting schedule off. If you skip, you can resume your normal time at the next shot. I've found that when Ruby was in greens most of the time, she never reacted to a skipped dose because there's still enough insulin residing in the kitty's body that keeps working. Chloe's pancreas is doing some work right now, so given that and the depot, she should remain stable. If Chloe was in yellows and pinks and ketones was a concern, a skipped shot would not be recommended.
 
Messing with dose time makes for an unpredictable cycle. Too early and it acts like an increase, too late it acts like a decrease. Plus it throws your whole shooting schedule off. If you skip, you can resume your normal time at the next shot. I've found that when Ruby was in greens most of the time, she never reacted to a skipped dose because there's still enough insulin residing in the kitty's body that keeps working. Chloe's pancreas is doing some work right now, so given that and the depot, she should remain stable. If Chloe was in yellows and pinks and ketones was a concern, a skipped shot would not be recommended.
Thank you so much!
 
That +10 is definitely food induced. She ate some after her +8 hairball.

Question about increasing doses on TR:

I know cats run lower BGs at night. I should be able to get more +5-+7 readings for both cycles in the next couple of days to confirm, but what should I do about dosing when daytime nadirs are blue and evening nadirs are (likely) green?
 
For dosing, ask yourself the question "how low does this dose take my kitty?". Those are the numbers we look at, not any bounce numbers.
 
Back
Top