7/1 - Alphyne AMPS @ 375 / +3 @ 316 - will drop by PMPS

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
(previous) 6/3 - Alphyne - AMPS @ 304 / +2 @ 296 / PMPS @ 324 - no active cycles since 5/25 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Hi All! It's been a while!

Alphyne is back on a roll! She finally hit her fill point, I guess, and decided she needed 2 reductions in 3 days!

But, I'm stuck as to how to handle her PM shots, so could use a little advice!!

Her nadir was usually at about +5 or +5.5. But in the last few days, it looks like her nadir is at +12, or right at shot time. After her two low days, I expected a bounce, which I am seeing in the AM, but I didn't expect her numbers to be too low to shoot at PM shot time. I've had to skip two PM shots because her numbers were too low. (I know they don't look too low, but she will drop into the 50s if I shoot anything >= 1U below 150).

So, trying to be proactive here, since it looks like she'll follow the same pattern...should I give a reduced/token dose if her numbers are low at PMPS? Maybe .5 or .25? I know she needs something because her AM numbers are high (though that could be her trying to bounce)? Keep in mind these numbers are on the AT2, and I've been tracking those all along, even when using the RP meter, so I know how she reacts at this BG level; which is why I'm nervous to shoot at all since she usually goes so low when shooting at that BG number.

I'm not really sure what's happening with her right now; this is nothing like I've seen with her before. Thanks in advance!
 
Personally, I would shoot 1.75 units tonight. I looked at the spreadsheet for when you've shot full dose below 150, and sometimes she stayed flat, sometimes she bounced and a couple times she dropped. I would also point out that she dropped like a rock at times when you've shot over 250. I would encourage you to try to get a +2 test as many cycles as you can. And if you see a big drop at +2, start giving her some food to slow her down. It could be LC, or MC, depending on how carb sensitive Alphyne is. The two skips have also probably drained the depot quite a bit.

As for the nadirs, they can and do move around. Neko's Lantus nadir was reliably between +3.5 and +13. :rolleyes: Bounce breaking cycles tend to have later nadirs. Sometimes they'll nadir earlier when asking for reductions.
 
Thank you for the response! I think the numbers are misleading since I've switched meters a few times. I've only shot reduced doses under 150 on the AT2; full doses under 150 on a human meter (since that's typically 40 points or so lower than the AT2). I know it gets confusing...for me, too!!

I'll start back in on the +2 or +3 tests again; I was pretty good about that for a long time, but she was so high and flat for so long, and her +2 is quite often higher, and then she drops fast. It can never be easy with this girl. :banghead:

Thanks again for responding...much appreciated!! :bighug:
 
Back
Top