7/08 Meepers AMPS 393 (Surgery Done)

4catsinashoe

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-07-meepers-amps-392.231978/

Meepers had is surgery yesterday, they called and said they wanted to squeeze him in.
Its a much bigger wound than i was expecting, we've gone from a half inch hole, to a 4 inch cut, but its stitched and not an open wound, and i hope that makes all the difference for him now. He ate some over night and he ate about a 1/4 can of wet before i gave him his shot this morning, and is using the box just fine.

i've got some pH Balance wipes from Burt's Bee's to clean it with and Mupirocin Ointment, to apply to the wound; i think i'm also going to dump out all the litter, and put in a fresh batch in all the boxes when i get home from work, just in case.

I still think i might hold off on increasing his dose this weekend, while i wait to see what happens with the wound healing, i'm not sure if that's right or not
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-07-meepers-amps-392.231978/

Meepers had is surgery yesterday, they called and said they wanted to squeeze him in.
Its a much bigger wound than i was expecting, we've gone from a half inch hole, to a 4 inch cut, but its stitched and not an open wound, and i hope that makes all the difference for him now. He ate some over night and he ate about a 1/4 can of wet before i gave him his shot this morning, and is using the box just fine.

i've got some pH Balance wipes from Burt's Bee's to clean it with and Mupirocin Ointment, to apply to the wound; i think i'm also going to dump out all the litter, and put in a fresh batch in all the boxes when i get home from work, just in case.

I still think i might hold off on increasing his dose this weekend, while i wait to see what happens with the wound healing, i'm not sure if that's right or not
I don't know enough to give advice. I just wanted to send support to you & Meepers. I hope the healing goes quickly & smoothly.
 
Hi. I just wanted to wish Meepers a speedy recovery as well :bighug:! BTW- LOVE the name! We actually call one of my cats “Meepers” as a nickname because he will meep instead of meowing. Curious how Meepers got the name :)
 
Thank you so much @J.J. and Phoebe Squeak @carfurby @SingsToCats , Meepers is chugging along, and seemed really perky this morning; i was super surprised; he jumped on the counter, and followed me into the bathroom to hurry me along for food, which he has not done in a long time, so i'm feeling very positive about how he is recovering, even though his suture area, is super red still, and still seeping a little blood. (i'm going to call the vet to confirm that is normal and ok, i'm assuming it is, but i'm a helicopter mom LOL)
@Tomlin that's exactly how he got his name hehe, that's the only sound he used to make; its so cool to hear of another kitty who makes the same sound!
 
It's so nice to hear you're feeling better, Meepers!! Sending you a whole ton of healing vines and wishing you a quick recovery!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Outstanding news :bighug:! Hoping jumping isn’t an issue. That is SO awesome to know there is another Meeping cat out there :p! I guess the EEE—OWW just takes too much energy :cat:
 
It sounds like he's feeling so much better! It's actually really good that he had that thing excised and there's a nice clean surgical closure of healthy tissue. As you know diabetics heal slowly so just be patient with that...and keep doing what you're doing. I haven't been on the forum much lately, but I think this is a step in the right direction - getting that open wound taken care of! Yeah!

Take care and enjoy your evening!
 
Back
Top