7/03 Cali AMPS 129, +4 94, +9 100, PMPS 90

carlascalico

Member Since 2020
7/03. Cali AMPS 129, +4 94, +9 100, PMPS 90. Smooth sailing today. Start with 1/4 Friskees pate total for post test and insulin shot; +2 another tsp watered; +4 another tsp with test, tsp at lunch tsp @9 test, then <1/2 can PM for test and shot. Will give 1tsp @ +2 and 1/8 can at 1 or 2am.

Timing and amount of food matters!


7/01 Cali AMPS 183, +3.25 50, +5.25 51, PMPS 265 NO overnight snack meal
7/02 AMPS 267. Feels like I am going in wrong direction with just 1unit and smaller more frequent meals. Lesson learned that Cali needs 1/2 can Friskees pate so she doesn’t drop big when insulin hits, then I rush feed to bring BG back up. Also more tests equals more stress for Cali, her dad and I. We have to scruff to restrain for the test. Does that interfere with the depot under the skin? Should I go back up to 1.25 units?
 
Last edited:
Hi! Here's yesterday's post - just linking for continuity - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2812462/

For today's post, can you edit your title (at the top of your thread, click on thread tools > edit title). Replace the text you have there now (which is yesterday's data..kind of "old news" in the FD world :p) and put in today's numbers - so your title would be "7/02 Cali - AMPS 267".

We have to scruff to restrain for the test. Does that interfere with the depot under the skin?
I don't think so. I wouldn't worry about it. Hopefully she'll get more used to testing with time - Jax was feisty but I'd test while he ate a small snack (freeze dried chicken) - eventually, he didn't care about testing and didn't move a muscle lol - I'd test while he was napping :joyful:

Should I go back up to 1.25 units?
No, please don't increase. With a nadir of 50 yesterday, you don't have any room at all for an increase. We also aren't sure if she went lower or not - when Cali is in the 50s, more tests are needed - I used to test Jax every 30 to make sure he stayed above 50 (or if he dropped below 50 then I could help bring him up quickly with food). Next time you get a value in the 50s, I'd encourage you to post here for help/guidance :bighug: Remember, lantus is dosed on how low the cat goes, not on how high the cat goes (which is often the pre-shot values as the insulin is wearing off then).

And, on TR, at least one test per cycle (in additional to AMPS and PMPS) is required - this is all to keep kitty safe. If you can get a test in the PM cycle, that would great - as I mentioned yesterday, a +2 or +3 is good indicator of the cycle to follow.
 
I agree with Susanne. Hold this dose. You need to get a second test at night, +2 or before bed. We need to see how low the bg gets at night.
 
I just looked at the ss and I think she bounced a bit last night. I would start getting a +2 and feed a little then if lower than the amps.
 
Hi! Here's yesterday's post - just linking for continuity - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2812462/

For today's post, can you edit your title (at the top of your thread, click on thread tools > edit title). Replace the text you have there now (which is yesterday's data..kind of "old news" in the FD world :p) and put in today's numbers - so your title would be "7/02 Cali - AMPS 267".


I don't think so. I wouldn't worry about it. Hopefully she'll get more used to testing with time - Jax was feisty but I'd test while he ate a small snack (freeze dried chicken) - eventually, he didn't care about testing and didn't move a muscle lol - I'd test while he was napping :joyful:


No, please don't increase. With a nadir of 50 yesterday, you don't have any room at all for an increase. We also aren't sure if she went lower or not - when Cali is in the 50s, more tests are needed - I used to test Jax every 30 to make sure he stayed above 50 (or if he dropped below 50 then I could help bring him up quickly with food). Next time you get a value in the 50s, I'd encourage you to post here for help/guidance :bighug: Remember, lantus is dosed on how low the cat goes, not on how high the cat goes (which is often the pre-shot values as the insulin is wearing off then).

And, on TR, at least one test per cycle (in additional to AMPS and PMPS) is required - this is all to keep kitty safe. If you can get a test in the PM cycle, that would great - as I mentioned yesterday, a +2 or +3 is good indicator of the cycle to follow.
 
Hi! Here's yesterday's post - just linking for continuity - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2812462/

For today's post, can you edit your title (at the top of your thread, click on thread tools > edit title). Replace the text you have there now (which is yesterday's data..kind of "old news" in the FD world :p) and put in today's numbers - so your title would be "7/02 Cali - AMPS 267".


I don't think so. I wouldn't worry about it. Hopefully she'll get more used to testing with time - Jax was feisty but I'd test while he ate a small snack (freeze dried chicken) - eventually, he didn't care about testing and didn't move a muscle lol - I'd test while he was napping :joyful:


No, please don't increase. With a nadir of 50 yesterday, you don't have any room at all for an increase. We also aren't sure if she went lower or not - when Cali is in the 50s, more tests are needed - I used to test Jax every 30 to make sure he stayed above 50 (or if he dropped below 50 then I could help bring him up quickly with food). Next time you get a value in the 50s, I'd encourage you to post here for help/guidance :bighug: Remember, lantus is dosed on how low the cat goes, not on how high the cat goes (which is often the pre-shot values as the insulin is wearing off then).

And, on TR, at least one test per cycle (in additional to AMPS and PMPS) is required - this is all to keep kitty safe. If you can get a test in the PM cycle, that would great - as I mentioned yesterday, a +2 or +3 is good indicator of the cycle to follow.
Ok will hold and try to keep testing. Thanks and Happy 4th of July weekend. Thanks for watching. Makes me more viligent
 
OK. I will hold dosage to 1 unit this weekend and try to keep testing. Aside: one good thing about her testing attacks, I test my personal BG [88-104 randomly] to make sure I don’t have to share her insulin LOL. Thanks to all and Happy 4th of July weekend. Stay safe
 
Sounds good. Try safe and enjoy the holiday. BTW are you in Northern or southern Cal? M in SoCal.
 
Cali +3 254. Took 45 minutes to test [including the test she provided me, 115]. I still fed 1/8 can of frisk pate as she was still very hungry.
I am in the Bay Area, California
 
Cali wore a yellow ribbon all day.
Started AMPS 267, +3 254, +7 256, PMPS 258
4 months ago I would have been ecstatic with this flat surf. Cali seems pretty pleased with herself today so I rejoice that I am not looking back at 400s or hypo!
I need to update my picture of her highness as this picture portrays the very ill 7.4 pound kitty at diagnosis in late October, 2020. Today she is back to a robust 13 pound goddess who rules this household. We are animal lovers but do NOT have any other cats nor dogs because Cali says definitely not! She does allow horses because they were here before her. As a young cat she loved the deer and wanted to greet them but knew to stay from the very young fawns.
Thanks again for the compassionate members who love and support our sugar kitties. Cali would definitely not be alive today if not for this group.
 
Back
Top