7/01 Roxy AMPS 326, +2 279, +4 218, +7 238, - Beginning TR

Thanks Diane. So +4 was down again so I guess I'm testing again +6.
Yes I would :cat: just try to get some more tests in day and night, especially at night
Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
 
Last edited:
Does anyone from Australia know why this could of happened to Deb , she was looking to buy Half Unit Syringes


? 6/21 AMPS 284. Syringes declined by Australian customs :(

Discussion in 'Lantus / Basaglar (glargine) and Levemir (detemir)' started by debplowman, Jun 21, 2021.

Watch Thread

  1. debplowman
    Joined:
    May 19, 2021
    Hi everyone. Has anyone else had this happen? I finally got a reply from Hyperdrug.co.uk who say my package was declined by customs and is on the way back to the UK. :( Please can someone advise what to do now - I guess I have to get calipers but no idea where from or what kind (if you Google there are SO many!) and also what is best syringe now I can't get the 1/2 unit ones. So frustrated. :(
 
Thanks Diane. Just confirming that I do have syringes now and the best I can find without the 1/2 or 1/4 unit measurements. I tried ordering them the US also and that order was cancelled by the supplier saying they were not permitted to send to Australia. :(
 
Good luck with TR, Deb! I hope you get Roxy to a good dose soon.

Btw, I saw a note in your SS saying you wanted to wait 2 hours after the snack to test. You don't have to. When a kitty is running low, we ask CGs to test 20-30 mins after food because it takes that long for the food to bring the number up. But in normal cycles, you needn't wait a certain amount of time to test after food. All of us feed snacks through the cycle.
 
Thanks Diane. Just confirming that I do have syringes now and the best I can find without the 1/2 or 1/4 unit measurements. I tried ordering them the US also and that order was cancelled by the supplier saying they were not permitted to send to Australia. :(
OK we will just have to work with the whole unit syringes unless someone can suggest some where else
They only come in half unit markings anyway, no 1/4 unit markings
 
Good luck with TR, Deb! I hope you get Roxy to a good dose soon.

Btw, I saw a note in your SS saying you wanted to wait 2 hours after the snack to test. You don't have to. When a kitty is running low, we ask CGs to test 20-30 mins after food because it takes that long for the food to bring the number up. But in normal cycles, you needn't wait a certain amount of time to test after food. All of us feed snacks through the cycle.

Thanks, someone else says I had to: not to test within 2 hours of a feed. Oh well, so many things to understand!
 
The only 2 hour rule I can think of, is not feeding two hours before the shot because you don't want a food-influenced PS.

Right so I am confused now. I think it's what we classify as a "snack" that is confusing here. I don't worry about little treat rewards for testing, I am not counting those as snacks. I feed Roxy a proper (1 can FF) at 7am then I give her 2 decent sized snacks at 11am and 3pm (about 1-2 tablespoons) before dinner at 7pm (1 can Ultimate Indulge) as I've read that's good for diabetic cats to help keep blood sugar stable. I don't then test at 12 or 4 as figured that is enough to influence the readings. Is that correct?
 
Snacks are great but try and feed most mini meals before nadir as that increases duration. You would test after mini meals if you see the bg is still on a downward trend or if you are feeding because the bg is getting low. The reason to worry about food influencing applies to preshot because they will go lower from the next shot.
 
To add to what Elise said, you don't have to worry about when you fed to test in a normal cycle. It's only when you're feeding to get numbers up from below 50 (2.8) that you need to give some time after feeding for the food to reflect in the numbers.
 
Hi what we are trying to say is do not feed Roxy anything prior to her AMPS when you test
So if you test and feed at 8:00 AM don't feed her anything 2 hours before that

Same goes for PMPS
 
So confused. I never feed 2 hours before either proper meal at 7 and 7. Then she gets the 2 mini meals at 11 and 3.
I am going to start another post now seeing as its Friday evening now! She has had no drops today which is really weird beginning to wonder if the AMPS shot even worked at all.
 
Snacks are great but try and feed most mini meals before nadir as that increases duration. You would test after mini meals if you see the bg is still on a downward trend or if you are feeding because the bg is getting low. The reason to worry about food influencing applies to preshot because they will go lower from the next shot.

I don't know when her nadir is yet...
 
So confused. I never feed 2 hours before either proper meal at 7 and 7. Then she gets the 2 mini meals at 11 and 3.
I am going to start another post now seeing as its Friday evening now! She has had no drops today which is really weird beginning to wonder if the AMPS shot even worked at all.
You're doing it correctly not feeding 2 hours prior to testing :cat:
 
Back
Top