69 BG - Please advise.

Status
Not open for further replies.

steph_frances

Member Since 2021
Hi! So we did only 1 unit last night & 1 unit this morning. He's still quite low. 69 at +3 today.

Any advice for how to proceed from here? This is the cat who was originally prescribed 4 units twice a day, & after his glucose curve the vet wanted to up him to 5.5 units (he was high - over 400- all day long on his glucose curve on August 31.) Up till yesterday evening, I was giving him 3.5 U.

His poops seem a bit messy from time to time right now. He's eating well. Not drinking a whole lot. Going to the bathroom (both urine & pooping). Seems alert ish. Any feedback or recommendations appreciated! Thanks!
 
I will tag @JanetNJ for you to see what she thinks, but per the Prozinc dosing sticky, if you are following SLGS and not the modified method:

Reducing the Dose:
  • Anytime the BG drops below 90 mg/dL, reduce the dose by 0.25u at the next shot.
 
I will tag @JanetNJ for you to see what she thinks, but per the Prozinc dosing sticky, if you are following SLGS and not the modified method:

Reducing the Dose:
  • Anytime the BG drops below 90 mg/dL, reduce the dose by 0.25u at the next shot.

Thank you! I'm going to try to keep testing today to see where his numbers are going.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top