You wrote: "unless her nadir is over 300 than shoot .5u." Did you mean "increase by .5u"? Again, I would not be increasing be .5u unless it is from a much higher starting dose (like 2u). And her nadir is already near or below 200 -according to her SS - and you just increased her dose by 50% (from .4u), I would not do another increase until Monday night.eeraby said:From the protocol, we increase her dose 0.25 every 2 -3 days unless her nadir's over 300 and then shoot 0.50. Once the nadir's less than 200, we keep increasing it 0.25 every 2-3 days until she's in 'normal' range.
Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.
Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.