6 Oct 2022 - Whiskey AMPS=146 +3=135 +8=135 PMPS=137 +2=110

Something is definitely driving her BG up, but I can't see what it is, teeth seem OK, ears seem OK, her appetite is fine.

Only thing that changed is that I am battling to get her usual Whiskas Jelly pouches (+7 years) so am having to give her the small variety of +1 years I have managed to find, and some Bon Appetit pate periodically when she will eat it.

I am 99.9% sure now she is not getting into the SureFeed with kibble, been watching since yesterday on the webcam, it is in a perspex shoe box cut out to fit, so she can't get to the back, and set on the very shortest setting to close after George eats. Pretty much all she MIGHT get her teeth into is the occasional crumb that he drops when he eats (we also put a lip of plastic over the front of the bowl so he can't pull the food out, which he did for the first few days), and I am reasonably sure that a crumb of kibble a few times a day won't drive her up this much.

Getting rid of the kibble in the SureFeed isn't an option, as I have been trying to transition George to wet for over a year, and just not succeeding very well because he is 16 and free feed kibble is all he's ever had. He got to the point that he was just so thin from me trying to get him to eat set meals of wet that I was frantic, hence the SureFeed and kibble. Since I got it and he's adapted to it, he's pretty regained all his lost condition in just under 2 weeks.
 
It might just be the kibble. She was dropping to the 50s and 60s a few days back on this dose. You might want to watch for kibble thievery and if it isn't that, then yes, she might need an increase.
 
It might just be the kibble. She was dropping to the 50s and 60s a few days back on this dose. You might want to watch for kibble thievery and if it isn't that, then yes, she might need an increase.
Thanks Bhooma, I am wondering too, but I have not seen her managing to get a nose into that dish (it is in front of the webcam, so I have also checked the footage).

Only thing is that I had to buy a small bag of supermarket brand of kibble while I wait for the new delivery of less carby kibble to arrive (apparently tomorrow), so I will hold the dose until I have been feeding that to George again for a few days, and see if it makes a difference...just in case it is the crumbs pushing her up.

Will make a decision either way on Monday unless I see a dramatic increase - in which case I will raise her to 0.5 just to keep her pancreas happy.
 
How are her ears?

They seem fine, slightly itchy and dirty a few days ago. I've cleaned them and am giving her a daily anti histamine. She's getting a bit grumpy with me shining a torch into ears and mouth, but each looks equally healthy in its own way.

Hopefully this will wear off, there were a few days where George was pulling the kibble out of Surefeed and she was scoring, but we put a stop to that with a lip of plastic over the front bit. Now he's eating inside it. She tries to get in, but obviously can't, and doesn't seem to get there fast enough when he leaves to get a nose in before it closes...
 
Back
Top