6 Jul, Kozmo AMPS 527, PMPS 182 1 week post DKA waiting advice before shooting, NEW to Lantus

Annie & Kozmo

Member Since 2020
We started Lantus last night and his PM shoot is due now but it's too low to shoot. Kozzie's now had dinner and we're waiting for your advice before proceeding please.
 
Next time you get a number too low to shoot you need to stall, DON’T feed and test again in about 20 minutes. He likely would have been over 200 by then. Since he’s over 300 I do think it’s safe to shoot especially since he was DKA. Get a +1 and +2 and post. His next shoot will be 12 hours after you shoot.
 
Next time you get a number too low to shoot you need to stall, DON’T feed and test again in about 20 minutes. He likely would have been over 200 by then. Since he’s over 300 I do think it’s safe to shoot especially since he was DKA. Get a +1 and +2 and post. His next shoot will be 12 hours after you shoot.

I'm so sorry, we're so new to this. We'll shoot now.
 
No apology needed. I’m glad you posted and asked. Ask questions whenever you need. Ordinarily I would have been hesitant for you to shoot but not with the 311 bg.
When you have time please read the yellow stickies on dosing methods to see which you want to follow as the guidance you get will depend on that going forward. Also read the stickies on how we can help you and info for newbies. There’s a lot of info there and a lot to digest so you will still have lots of questions no doubt and usually there’s someone around to help.
 
No apology needed. I’m glad you posted and asked. Ask questions whenever you need. Ordinarily I would have been hesitant for you to shoot but not with the 311 bg.
When you have time please read the yellow stickies on dosing methods to see which you want to follow as the guidance you get will depend on that going forward. Also read the stickies on how we can help you and info for newbies. There’s a lot of info there and a lot to digest so you will still have lots of questions no doubt and usually there’s someone around to help.

Thank you for your help. I read the stickies yesterday and was overwhelmed with all of it. We're 3.5 weeks post diagnosis and trying hard to absorb everything (negotiating the forum is a bit daunting but am getting used to it by trial and error) x
 
Your PMPS will be when you actually did shoot. You will shoot 12 hours from then. If she’s real high still you could shoot a half hour early.
 
Thank you for your help. I read the stickies yesterday and was overwhelmed with all of it. We're 3.5 weeks post diagnosis and trying hard to absorb everything (negotiating the forum is a bit daunting but am getting used to it by trial and error) x
You are ahead of me when I started. I didn’t test for the first month at least. I went to my vet severe few days around nadir. There is a lot of info which is why I read them over and over again and printed out the dosing guidelines and how to handle low numbers.
 
You are ahead of me when I started. I didn’t test for the first month at least. I went to my vet severe few days around nadir. There is a lot of info which is why I read them over and over again and printed out the dosing guidelines and how to handle low numbers.
That's a brilliant idea! I'm going to print the advice and go to town with my highlighter. Kozmo's PM+1 is 326.
 
Here is your previous post from main healthhttps://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-kozmos-progress.231804/
Great to see you made it over here Annie. I’m glad @tiffmaxee was here to help you.
Kozmo is having a good response to the Lantus. Keep testing each hour until his BG rises. Did you offer some normal food after getting the 146?
How is Kozmo’s appetite today and his energy levels?

I forgot to post the link to my previous thread, doh! I’ll get the hang of it soon I hope.

Kozmo’s had more energy today and asked to go outside and chill in the garden with us, and we were delighted. More grooming too. He’s eating every time we put food in front of him - not an entire pouch at a time but maybe a third. A healthy appetite, not a ravenous one. I’ve lost count of how many pouches he’s had so that’s probable a good thing - perhaps 4.5. This was the best day he’s had since being diagnosed with FD.

However, the poor little guy thought he was way lower than 146 at +3 but a gentle shake from us and more food brought him up to 194 at +4. He had a nibble after +4 but it’s almost 1am here and not a usual time for him to eat. We’ll set the alarm and keep testing.
 
I really don’t think you need to set an alarm if you leave out food unless it makes you feel safer. He would have to drop under 50 on a human meter to need high carbs.
 
I really don’t think you need to set an alarm if you leave out food unless it makes you feel safer. He would have to drop under 50 on a human meter to need high carbs.
He’s just tested 97.2 at +5 and appears quite happy with himself. I’m going to leave food out but Neil wants to test again in another hour. Peace of mind, I think.
 
Surfing nicely!
You have the +6 BG in the +5 box and missed putting in the +5 .... I know it’s the middle of the night there:joyful:

won’t be long before he’s asking for a reduction!
 
+5 is there on my world SS... some of the US ones aren’t showing up for some reason.

About to run a +8 - skipped +7
 
I can’t see your world SS at all. I’ll ask @Chris & China (GA) if she wouldn’t mind having a look at it to tweak it.
You may need to manually change the US one.

To fix up the PMPS times you need to stack the numbers in the same box and redo it in the US SS as well. So put xx@+12; 313@+12.5; 592@+13.75.
 
I can’t see the world SS at all @Wendy&Neko
Nowhere to scroll over. This is what I can see.
Yes, big bounce! Time for you to sleep!
744FB1BA-01A7-4A42-AA41-451DCFDEB273.png


I
 

Attachments

  • 744FB1BA-01A7-4A42-AA41-451DCFDEB273.png
    744FB1BA-01A7-4A42-AA41-451DCFDEB273.png
    146.9 KB · Views: 122
Last edited:
Back
Top