+6 BG 7.1

Crystal&Hendrix

Member Since 2020
Hi there, I’m still semi new to fdmb and I’m slowly getting used to it. I hope I’m posting in the right spot.

I am need of some advice, I tested my kitty at his +6 and his BG is 7.1 (128) and before his PMPS at 11:26pm it was at 21.9 (389)
I hope I can bring it up a bit before his AMPS shot.....
I fed him at 5:55am

Do I wait 1-2 hours after feeding and test again? I always forget this part somehow as I’m get used to seeing lower numbers. Also, if it is lower I will feed him more and retest.

If it is higher, I won’t be so worried as I am right now. I know 7.1 isn’t low low but I just don’t want it to lower anymore before his AMPS shot at 11:30am. That’s all. Thank you!!!
 
Hi, I am sorry no one responded to you earlier. This is a busy forum, but there are some things you can do to get eyes on your posts. First add a ? prefix to your subject title. To do that, you select a prefix type when first starting a post. Or if you want to add it later, select the "thread tools" drop down from the top right of your first post, and select edit title. It also helps to have something on the title like "new - need dose advice". Also include kitty's name so we get to know you.

Me response is late, I am on the west coast of Canada. However, I can comment on what you did do. First, the dosing methods we use here determine how to change the dose of Lantus based on how low it takes the cat, and not the preshot values, which tend to be the high points. We find it better to keep giving a consistent dose of insulin, unless the cat either earns a reduction by going "too low" or needs more insulin. Last night you gave 0.75 units, probably in response to the 389 you saw. That gave you a long run of blue and that blue preshot this morning and resulted in a 0.25 unit dose. I would go back to 0.5 units tonight.

If you haven't done so already, I would read over the yellow starred Sticky Notes on the top of this forum, including the one called Dosing Methods. People here use one of two dosing methods, and we'll be able to help you help Hendrix better if we know which dosing method you'd like to follow.

Here is the link to your previous post here, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-kitties-amps-is-8-2.225121/
 
Hi, I am sorry no one responded to you earlier. This is a busy forum, but there are some things you can do to get eyes on your posts. First add a ? prefix to your subject title. To do that, you select a prefix type when first starting a post. Or if you want to add it later, select the "thread tools" drop down from the top right of your first post, and select edit title. It also helps to have something on the title like "new - need dose advice". Also include kitty's name so we get to know you.

Me response is late, I am on the west coast of Canada. However, I can comment on what you did do. First, the dosing methods we use here determine how to change the dose of Lantus based on how low it takes the cat, and not the preshot values, which tend to be the high points. We find it better to keep giving a consistent dose of insulin, unless the cat either earns a reduction by going "too low" or needs more insulin. Last night you gave 0.75 units, probably in response to the 389 you saw. That gave you a long run of blue and that blue preshot this morning and resulted in a 0.25 unit dose. I would go back to 0.5 units tonight.

If you haven't done so already, I would read over the yellow starred Sticky Notes on the top of this forum, including the one called Dosing Methods. People here use one of two dosing methods, and we'll be able to help you help Hendrix better if we know which dosing method you'd like to follow.

Here is the link to your previous post here, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-kitties-amps-is-8-2.225121/
Hi, that’s okay that’s why I just go by my notes I’ve kept and go from there if no one answers.

Also, I went by the dosing methods that someone gave advice too, they didn’t want his BG dropping more or getting higher. He is on .50 dose and has been for awhile. I had given him .25 as someones advice asked me to because we didn’t want his numbers to drop really low. It would scare the life out of me.

I have read over the sticky notes and did countless hours of research until my brain gets overloaded I’ve even wrote a few out to keep on hand with me.

Thank you for your reply. I will keep everyone updated as much as I can.
 
Back
Top