+6 BG 33 right ear 270 left ear??

Status
Not open for further replies.

taffysmom

Member Since 2013
I am pretty sure the first 33 reading was a fluke because she has yet to get below 200 and is acting ok...normal everything across the board.
Will the Reli-on meter do this sometimes?
 
OK I just tested her right ear again 30 mins later and it was 274...had to have been a fluke..but sortof freaked me out
 
The meters/test strips can get confused if you get blood on both edges of the strip or if first attempt is too little blood and more than a few seconds pass before additional blood is added to the same side of the strip.
 
I've had flakey low readings once in a while if there is not enough blood. Re-test as you did -- if you get another low number - that confirms it - if you get a high number (as you did) then you know you can ignore the first one.
 
Any time a number is flakey, re-test.

Always make sure your hands are clean before testing, so you don't contaminate the test.

Check batch numbers of test strips for expiration dates and be sure to store them in a low humidity location.
 
Time for another increase? Reminder of protocol here and summary below... http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.[/quote]

However I am thinking you might want to post on the lantus board.That board has lots of very experienced dosing members on it and is a great sense of community.Since you are now up to speed with testing etc I think they will really be able to advise you better on dosing etc. I post there myself every day or two to get their eyes on my cats.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9

Here’s how to post:
Every day ( or as often as you can) you open a new thread/post. We call them "condos" (short for condition report, or the home you live in and the cat trees some people have)

Subject line: The subject has the date/cats name and BG readings ie 09/11 Taffy AMPS 306 +2 270. You add a ? icon if you have a question. You should update your subject line in the very first post for the day as you get a reading, or whenever you have a question. For your first post put "newbie" also in your subject so everyone can welcome you!

Contents: The contents of your post have a quick update on how your cat is feeling as regards the 5Ps ( peeing. pooing, preening, playing and purring) and any questions and a link to your previous post ie : Today taffy was in a good mood, playing and eating well. But he is peeing a lot and his BG is really high. Should I increase the dose?

There is no rush to post there. I like to suggest that people go over to their insulin specific support group and check it out. Read the Stickies at the top of the Topics section. Read a few condos posted by other members. Get a feel for how the forum works. See if you think it would be a good fit for you.

But you are always welcome to post here in the Feline Health forum for as long as you want
 
Thank you wendy. I will take a look. our a/c is out tonight and I skipped her before bed test bc she is hot. I have fed her cold wet food and sheis in a cool spot so don't want to mess her. she is extra grumpy hopefully it gets fixed tmrw
 
Thank you again for the info. Our ac was out building wide for 2 days. We had company staying with us the whole weekend so I had to move all the cat stuff to the bedroom. I am switching jobs and have been w/o a computer since Friday (I am on my kindle) and couldn't figure out out to update ss quickly over the kindle. And with all the commotion going on didn't want to raise dosage yet although she probably would have been ok. At least no panic attacks this time with strangers in the house
I did get in contact with vet (who I really like and has been supportive with feeding FF and home testing) and she didn't think I should raise dosage based on the 221 reading I got a few days ago on a amps. But she has been low mid 300s ever since so I am comfortable bumping up. 25
I have learned that taffy doesn't care where she is when she is getting tested as long as she is eating. Downside is if I want to test her I need at least 1/4 can of food to get her thru it or I get a bite or scratched. She has to have the distraction. So I will give 5.75 units in the morning and see what we get. Her 5 Ps are all good and normal with the exception of peeing. She is down to going 3 times a day (and has been for a few weeks now) but some days the clumps are grapefruit size vs orange size. Not sure if amount should be considered or just the frequency.
Hoping to get everything updated tmrw night after work and will switch boards. May start off on relaxed board first
(I will still be working from home. New company shipping laptop which should be here in the morning)
Thanks!
 
Whatever you have to do to in order to test her! Maybe food time becomes test time.

Will be good to see an increase. Her numbers are still way higher than I would like to see them (50-130 or at least anything below 200!!).

Wendy
 
Her 5 Ps are all good and normal with the exception of peeing. She is down to going 3 times a day (and has been for a few weeks now) but some days the clumps are grapefruit size vs orange size. Not sure if amount should be considered or just the frequency.
The size of the pee patches should be taken into consideration also. Bigger pee patches = not yet regulated.

Wow, you sure do have a lot going on right now!
1. no A/C
2. weekend guests
3. new job!
4. moved all the cat stuff
5. no computer since Friday ohmygod_smile

Hope things calm down for you soon Scarlett.

Glad to hear that Taffy was more cooperative with having guests in the house. Cats hate any changes to their routine and don't always accept house guests. Sending calming vines, good luck with the new job vines and will be waiting on updates for the first day at your new job!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top