6/9 Topper AMPS 286 +3 201 +6 112 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think Topper is doing great! There's some bounciness but not a lot.

I'm curious, though. You test a fair amount. I don't think I remember your rationale for using SLGS. The major difference SLGS and TR at this point would be when you make dose adjustments. With SLGS, you would be reducing Topper's dose when numbers fall below 90 and you're not doing that. Rather than wait a week to adjust the dose like you would with SLGS, with TR, you'd adjust after 3 days if an increase is needed.
 
Thanks Sienne, I decided to do SLGS because I'm really old and not well and I fall asleep and don't trust myself to be awake to test (although it appears that I usually am!), it is also very very hard on me to lose sleep so I can't stay up with very low numbers, and also when I have to go out I rely on "transportation" and so I can be gone for several hours, I just don't want that to happen if the numbers are low. I just feel like SLGS is safer for Topper and less stressful for me..

I did decrease the dose on 6/4 when he dropped below 90 for the second time on that dose, I did not decrease on 6/6 when he dropped to 80 because 80 is so close to 90 and I knew I'd be able to keep an eye on his bg the next few cycles...maybe I should have decreased? I don't know!!
 
He might look a bit better, if that is what you would like, with just a tad more insulin but then you have to deal with possible lower green numbers like you were seeing on 4u.

I don't know how difficult it is for you to dose it consistently, but if you think you can do it, you could just fatten this dose up a bit.....less than 4u but more than 3.75.

Having said that, I also think he looks pretty decent. So it's whatever your goal for a nadir is, Jan.

Hope you are well!
 
Marje, I have to be gone a lot again the next couple days, after that, I'll try fattening the dose and see what happens.
I've got the calipers but the neighbor who helps me with filling the syringes etc and I are having some problems seeing and handling the calipers/syringes - we are working on it.
Also we are having an awful time with the rubber tips on the syringe plungers being really crooked.
So in other words, dosing consistently is a challenge.
 
We use a magnifying lamp and magnifying optivisor that we wear and turn on a couple of lights. We also put a piece of white paper behind the syringe to see the plunger better. It's a challenge! Topper is doing great and so are you, Jan! :-D
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top