? 6/9 TiTi's numbers PMPS +3 159, AMPS 114, +4 100, +5 93 , +6 111, + 10 89., PMPS 105, +1 93

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not sure what you mean by that.

The depot has built up in her body that corresponds to a 13u shot.
When the dose is decreased, it can take 2-3 days for the depot to "shrink" to fit the new, smaller dose.

In other words, if you give a 5u shot, she still has a depot that fits the size of the 13u, so there will still be some leftover "depot action" from that larger depot. In other words, each shot isn't independent from the previous doses. They still have some impact - how much? I can't say.
 
It's up to you - if you'd worked up to this dose I'd be yelling SHOOOOOT. But I feel some uncertainty because of all the issues in the past few days and don't feel completely confident this dose is good. If this were a morning shot, I'd also be yelling SHOOOOOT, but you haven't dealt with low numbers before and it's late at night.

That's the reason for my uncertainty about shooting the regular dose. Her numbers are fantastic today. If you shot the 13u she might just continue on just like she did this morning. There's just no way to know for certain.

Did you see my post here?

If you want to go for it, do. We just have a tradition here that if we encourage someone to shoot, we stay with them. I can't stay with you tonight.
 
Did you see my post here?

If you want to go for it, do. We just have a tradition here that if we encourage someone to shoot, we stay with them. I can't stay with you tonight.

That's a good rule, but I don't undrestand why it is dangerous now. If I give the shot now, it will be late from this morning.
This morning I was lat, and gave her 13 units. Now it is 11:144. The dose would be 24 mintues late now.
Why was the dose safe this morning, but not safe tonight. I am realy confused here.

There must be somethijng I am not getting.
 
One difference is the dose is rebuilding. Each shot builds upon the previous one.

We aren't saying it's dangerous. It's just as her depot has rebuilt, she could go lower again tonight. Or maybe not. But we don't know and neither of us can stay up and help you with any low numbers.

And the fact that you only have 20 strips is a concern. If she drops low, you could go through that quickly.
 
One difference is the dose is rebuilding. Each shot builds upon the previous one.

We aren't saying it's dangerous. It's just as her depot has rebuilt, she could go lower again tonight. Or maybe not. But we don't know and neither of us can stay up and help you with any low numbers.

And the fact that you only have 20 strips is a concern. If she drops low, you could go through that quickly.

Makes sense. Plus, I don't think I can do another night. I'm still recouping. That's why I over slept thru 2 alarms this morning, and gave her shot an hour and 10 minutes late.

Tomorrow I need to buy new strips, or get a meter that will take less blood. this" contour next usb" is not working well.
 
You might want to try a ReliOn Micro from Walmart. They require the same sample size as the AT and the strips are cheap.

Hope you get some rest.
 
Makes sense. Plus, I don't think I can do another night. I'm still recouping. That's why I over slept thru 2 alarms this morning, and gave her shot an hour and 10 minutes late.

Tomorrow I need to buy new strips, or get a meter that will take less blood. this" contour next usb" is not working well.
PMPS 105, +1 93. These numbers, are without any insulin at all. I doubt I'm going to see much of a rise waiting 9 hours, and the numbers escpecially that last one just looks too low to play games with it.

Anyway, I have got to do shopping, pick up a relion meter at Wallgreens' and Then work from home.

Thanks for you patience in explaining everything so clearly. See you in the morning.

I've learned my lesson about shooting a low number.

PS: Does not look easy for Muffin. I hope her caretaker can make it, stay awake even. Not having enough money for these over-priced emergency rooms is a damned killer. I wouldn't be able to do it either. Where I live, they demand 500 bucks up front, before they will even look at your pet. I really don't think these places are about caring for animals. I think they are about money. A pox upon them.

G'nite
Kathy and TiTi
 
You might want to try a ReliOn Micro from Walmart. They require the same sample size as the AT and the strips are cheap.

Hope you get some rest.
For sure. This one was donated to someone and I don't think it works as advertised. The super woman, Tricia (?), who donated it to me, said it was a bonus gift from the manufacturer , and she never used it.

But when I scroll down the log of BG numbers I find several very high values-300 to 500, dated from 2013 and 2014.

I think the manufacturer had it as a return, and they refurbished it, and gave it out as a freebie - knowing it might not be perfect . The problems are that putting in the strip is tricky, often will not turn on the meter, and the blood uptake sometimes goes ahead and seems to be working, but then you get the message that "there was not enough blood. Get a new strip and try again". When you finally get numerical values, I think they are fine, but it's just too difficult to work with the problems.
 
Hi there :cool:

I'm scared to skip. Scared to shoot. Won't she start bouncing if I skip the shot tonight?
think of it as a fur shot ;)

FWIW I think a skip tonight is a good idea. I skipped plenty of shots during the weeks BK was in free fall.
I am pretty impressed by what's happening since she stopped eating dried food.
I think there is a lot of pajama party potential based on ditching the dry. The results of eliminating dry can be profound.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top